We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I visited this inn for the first time. The owners are very friendly and upon checking in showed us around the inn and brought us up to our room. Our room was very tastefully decorated and very clean. What was a nice touch was when we went down for breakfast our room was cleaned and we didn't have to be disturbed at other times when we simply chose to relax in our room. The breakfast was very good and if you didn't want to eat what the main dish was for the day you could chose granola served with fresh fruit. Another nice touch was that cordials are available in the evening. One day we relaxed in the adirondack chairs on the property. Next time I would like to take advantage of the indoor pool and or a massage which can be arranged for an additional fee. I might consider a different room on another visit as ours faced the street which is somewhat busy and a little noisy. AC could use a little improvement.

Room Tip: Might be best to chose a room towards the back of the property as the stairs to our room are very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen75Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Spent 2 nights in a suite room so had access to a small kitchen, living and dining room. The décor was beautifully done, the grounds perfectly landscaped and the staff extremely helpful. We enjoyed our daily breakfast al fresco surrounded by chirping birds. The location was just perfect for us as we visited both PTown and the National Seashore. Highly recommend this lovely well-run inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs barn suite....it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I are both artists and we come to Cape Cod each year for a show of our work at our Orleans gallery. I have to be brutally honest here, and say that lodging up until this year has been . . . horrible. In 2013 we tried a new location and hit the jackpot with the Whalewalk Inn. Everything each of the other locations didn't provide the Whalewalk Inn had in spades. Beautiful, clean, comfortable, accommodating, friendly, I could go on and on. The owner took us on an extensive tour of the facilities, educated us about the area, i.e. restaurants, beaches in the area, and had already created a vegan menu for our breakfast the next morning. I can't recommend this B&B more highly. It will be our home for all future visits to the cape.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Amazing experience overall. I can't find one thing that didn't exceed our expectations!! A true GEM. The surrounding we very tranquil and we felt as though we were the only ones there. We enjoyed the company of guests at breakfast that was absolutely delicious, fresh and new every day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinning2theam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilly1220, Owner at Whalewalk Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate your support. Looking forward to your next visit. Will work on some new breakfast dishes for next year to delight your palate. Always fun to find you recipes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Inn is very lovely and large, several buildings and we were in the carriage house. We felt as if we were in a friend's house however, and our helpful hosts did their best to orient you and help you find what you needed. Very good restaurants in the area, recommended by our hosts. We biked a lot - beautiful and easy rides to Rock Harbor, great for sunsets and for low tide wandering. Boat Meadow Beach is lovely and very close. Driving is a problem, you need to get beach parking permits, even for the pond swimming, and the traffic on Rt 6 is just awful. Get bikes and leave your car at the Inn. We rode over to the Nat Seashore, had a nice day watching the seals. Bay beach swimming and low tide exploring was a pleasure. Great breakfasts and a wonderful place to stay, nice rooms, nice beds.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cyntia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilly1220, Owner at Whalewalk Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Yes, 6 can be a headache in the summer. Just need to remember to "Never turn Left" onto any major street. And, you are correct that bikes are a great way to travel. I know the beach stickers can be a pain, but those dollars help to keep the beaches pristine and award winning. So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. Give us a try in the Fall -- still warm, can still swim and the traffic is hardly noticeable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Really have no suggestions on what could be done to improve the experience. Never felt busy or crowded. The rooms were each with their own feel. My family had nine rooms each beautifully decorated and well maintained. The size of the rooms were great.Easy to bring our group of thirteen to sixteen together in one of the larger rooms. The kitchens were adequate to make a meal for our large group. The breakfast on the terrace was delicious, very well served and a perfect way to start the day. There is a lot of driving on Cape Cod. The location was very convenient being in the middle of Cape Cod.

Room Tip: My family was in four different buildings. Each room has its own feel and was lovely. Plenty of firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilly1220, Owner at Whalewalk Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We certainly enjoyed meeting the whole family. Lee can be very proud of you all. Did enjoy making sure that her gluten free diet was followed and especially enjoyed my morning hugs. Maybe some day you will all be back for another Cape Cod adventure and stay at The Whalewalk Inn & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a very comfortable, cute and romantic place. The character, personality and personal touch of the family that owns the place is very evident. The family management team is very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast comprises excellent home made dishes that were delicious and well presented. The hosts also keep cakes, wine and small snacks available for guests starting 8PM through the night.

Negatives were that Wifi was a very weak in all rooms (therefore NOT a place to stay if you need to work remotely from here!!) and it's a bit far from beaches. There are nothing walking distances, which is sad given there are so many beaches and restaurants in the broader area. Also, our check out process was a bit shaky as their credit card machine wasn't working.

Overall, we were pleased with our experience and would recommend it to first timers who visit Eastham.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raina_shreyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
6.4 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
3.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalewalk Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalewalk Inn & Spa

Address: 220 Bridge Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-3261
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range: £147 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whalewalk Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reader’s Choice Silver Award Winner for the Outer Cape for 2011Readers of Cape Cod Life Magazine have voted, and we are the Silver 2011 winners of the Best of the Cape and Islands Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Outer Cape!The Boston Globe Magazine Travel Section, Sunday, May 15, 2011 highlighted different summer destinations for New England. Eastham was described as a “Cape Cod retreat, home of the National Seashore, where rolling dunes serve as a soft welcome mat for the steady surf.” Only two businesses were mentioned -- The Whalewalk Inn & Spa, as the lodging choice; and Arnold’s Lobster House on Route 6, as the restaurant of choice.Get away from the hustle and bustle of your every day life. Come and relax at Cape Cod’s most romantic and secluded country Inn – quietly tucked away on a country road, but centrally located to all the attractions that make Cape Cod so special. Walk the ‘Outer Cape’ beaches, listening to the soothing sound of the waves, lapping on Cape Cod Bay or crashing at the National Seashore. Partake in some of the finest dining that the Cape has to offer, beginning here each day with a gourmet breakfast served to you at your own private table.Become a part of the history that makes this Inn so special. The Inn was built in 1830 for Henry Harding, a renowned whaling captain. In the early nineteen hundreds it became a gentleman’s farm, known as Whalewalk Farm, then owned by the Kent family of PR Lorillard tobacco fame. With a cow and horse still living in what is now the Salt Box Cottage, the farm was purchased in 1953 and turned into an inn. Since that time it has been authentically restored and creatively redecorated. The common rooms are filled with the Innkeeper’s extensive Waterford Crystal collection, 19th century country antiques from England and France, fresh flowers, and oriental rugs for a warm welcome to start your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Whalewalk Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalewalk Hotel Eastham
Whalewalk Inn And Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing