We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chappaquiddick

Chappaquiddick
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The infamous name marks a small, scenic island perfect for bike-riding.
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not really worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

There is not much of anything there. You drive for periods of time and pretty much see nothing. There was some sort of conservation land / park or bird sanctuary that we came upon but did not explore. For the cost and trouble to get on the ferry we did not find it to be something we would rush back to do. Glad we did see it once. Now we know.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    66
    30
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waitsfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Slip Away Farm is beautiful with stunning (and delicious) vegetables. The farmers are terrific, friendly and welcoming!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank maw42vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just because you aren't staying on Chappaquiddick, doesn't mean you can enjoy everything this gorgeous island has to offer. Rent a bike, pack a picnic, and get ready to make some memories.

The island is just a short ferry ride from Edgartown. The ferry takes cars, bikes, and single passengers. I would strongly suggest leaving your car behind-- you can easily bike around the island in a day. The roads are mostly flat and paved. There are some that are sandy, but they are pretty hard so you have decent traction.

While you're there, check out Mytoi Gardens. The japanese landscaping is beautiful and serene-- nice place to stop and enjoy nature. When you're done there, pop across the street to the marshes. There is a path there which takes you to a hidden view of some marshland. Great views, and easy trails.

Then head down to Wasque Point. There are no words to describe this place. I take it that there was a storm that swept away part of the beach. It's still beautiful, but you can see some of the affects-- a reminder of nature at its best and worst.

If you do go to Chappy, remember that there are no shops on the island. Bring what you need with you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank christinetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Haunting, but beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The only way to get to Chappaquiddick is via the "chappy ferry"; literally a two minute ride from Edgartown. There are many glorious homes on expansive pieces of land, many overlooking the bay or the ocean. It is definitely private. We asked if we could take pictures at the local beach club since it had a great view, but were informed we could not be admitted unless we were members! It is a peaceful way to see a piece of history and stroll the narrow beaches. Lots of folks took their bikes to see the terrain. biking is huge on the Vineyard.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JANNG1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's the chicken soup for the soul....but chicken pocks for the wallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent almost a week on "Chappy" as the locals call it and for the once that like it nice and quiet with being surrounded by either a forest or water....this is the place to be!
We needed a car with all wheel drive since we had to drive partially on the beach to reach our house. I went beach combing a couple of times and found 3 horseshoe crabs and lots of pebbles....I could not do much because of a health problem but other family members went boating, kayaking and bicycling on/or around the island. The bad parts were.... there is not really any store on the island nor a restaurant and my hubby and I stayed in the guest cottage (Called Outermost House) which was really outdated and dirty. One bunk room with 2 bunks squeezed in it and our room a queen bed in a corner and a window ac unit. The bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it.No TV no wifi only radio...all appliances were old and fridge had rost all over the door...the small appliances, dishes and silverware looked like bought from a thrift store ... The outdoor chairs were falling apart and the sunbrella was broken etc etc etc.....But beside all that....you will depend on the expensive ferry ($12 round trip plus passengers $4 each for a 1 1/2 min trip) all the time to go back to Martha's Vineyard....and once there you better bring the big wallet ;) I don't think I will return soon......

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chappaquiddick also viewed

Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Chappaquiddick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing