We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed the Mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharky's Cantina

Sharky's Cantina
Ranked #18 of 68 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Quality ingredients, large portions, great prices and the freshest Margaritas in a 175 seat restaurant that is fun for families, singles, couples, young and young at heart...Open YEAR ROUND for lunch and dinner. This is where the Locals go.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Missed the Mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The place is a high volume Mexican Restaurant / Sports Bar / Family Dining venue with a shark themed gift shop attached. there are actually several of them on the island, we elected the one just outside Edgartown.
The food really missed the mark. I am not sure they ever saw a jalapeno.. serious no lie. (I really have to learn to spell though). The salsa was weak no other way to describe it ... thought maybe it was an off night or something. When we approached one of the many Sharky's Cantina people flying around our table to inquire about the strength of their food ... we were politely told that their place featured what is both best and worst of America ... which we took to mean yeah I know it pretends to be Mexican Food but you cannot have everything in this place.
The portions were huge but again no Mexican fire ... I was hoping to find some fresh fish served Mexican Style ... no such luck. It was the typical Mexican - American entrees burritos, chimichangas, fajita etc etc.
I did not care for the food and although quite a nice large space ... did not appreciate the pace of service coupled with the booming voice our service staff was forced to communicate to us in ... I do not want to misrepresent all the Sharkey's on the island but this one really was not within expectations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YearRoundRG, Owner at Sharky's Cantina, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
This review was placed over a year ago, apparently deleted and now placed again. Not sure why, but at this time we aren't going to respond to any specifics as we question it's validity regarding the experience. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    72
    36
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northof Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great cocktail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our second time to Sharky's. Truth be told, we were driving by, we were starving and thought " Hm, if it's Mexican, at least will will have instant gratification and chips and salsa as soon as we sit down". But no. You have to purchase the chips/ salsa ( which isn't salsa, it's Pico-de-gallo, and that is clear on the menu.. just not what I was looking for). Had 2 great cocktails though- a Mai Tai and a Painkiller.
I ordered a burrito, and it was not good. It was just the burrito, no sauce and cheese on top- just not what I am used to getting. I looked back at the menu and I guess you have to pay extra for sauce and cheese ( I am sensing a trend... everything is extra). My husband had a burger that was "fine".
Great friendly place to stop in for a drink or 2, but we'll eat elsewhere. Sorry, Sharky, we tried!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stepback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennisport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Decent place to eat. Decent menu, atmosphere is great and friendly staff. We had nachos and a couple of drinks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great escape for typical island faire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Great spot for an inexpensive (and kid friendly) night out on the Vineyard. Has a wide variety of food, pretty much something for everyone on the menu. Love the "spicy" salsa they hand out with chips, also can't go wrong with a frozen drink on a hot summer night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I am a frequent Sharkys flier, the quality of food is always excellent, the drinks are awesome, and the staff are always so accommodating!
I also love the fact that in the rare occasion that there is anything wrong with any part of your experience, JB, the owner, is so attentive to make it right any way he can. Much respect for such a great business man!
100% recommended to anyone who lives or visits MV!

Helpful?
Thank babsbunny9830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharky's Cantina also viewed

 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Sharky's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing