We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great service!”
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great service!”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

As New Englanders, we're a tough breed; we're not afraid of roughing it, but we like our creature comforts. The Hob Knob is a lovely little hotel / B&B in the heart of Edgartown, my top choice location to stay on island if you're looking for a romantic getaway, without being remote, by any stretch. You've got shopping and seashore vistas bikerides away for all adventures.

What we liked about the Hob Knob:

1. Quiet rooms, soundproofed floors and windows. Although small, they served their purpose and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were modern without being too cramped. They are a green-running operation, so unless you request it, your bedsheets will not be changed on a regular basis.

2. Terrifiic staff, eager to help. Friendly.

3. Full breakfasts and eggs/pancakes/french toast, or waffles to order daily. Outside seating (which we always selected) or interior.

4. Chairs (with back-pack style holders to take on your bike) and beachtowels available as well as onsite bikes are available if you don't have your own.

5. Friends visited us who live on island, and there is parking available for guests.

6. Lovely decor, and several sitting rooms if you wish to stay in during the off chance rainy day. (We were outside in all weather, however)

7. "Honor bar" for the welcome refreshment after a long ride (beer, wine) for $6-8.

8. A full workout facility in the basement, and an extra shower - so that when we checked out, we were able to have a full day and return to shower and pick up our bags!

9. Although we did not take advantage, The Hob Knob also boasts of a spa.

What we did not like so much:
1. Because it is Main Street, the buses run down here, and the sound of diesel engines were never far off. If you're enjoying your serene breakfast, the traffic sometimes dispelled that illusion. But I quibble.

We are active vacationers and took advantage of the extensive ferry system by biking over to Chappy several times to explore the more remote areas and beaches. Wonderful! If you're a bicyclist, MV is the place to go for relaxing long rides - we took a roundtrip out to Menemsha and enjoyed Lobsterville Beach (secluded) with a lovely lunch break roadside along the way back. A nice 45 mile r/t ride.

In summary, I highly recommend The Hob Knob if you're looking for the perfect getaway without being to 'far away' from any actitivies, restaurants, shopping, and you'd like a bit more elegance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlauftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    60
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
77
343
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Loved this inn from the minute I walked in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was decorated in a cute cottage style, but not over the top. The bathroom was small but this is an older home. I was amazed at the amount of indoor and outdoor common space for an inn of this size. There are 3 rooms inside (not counting dining area) where you can sit and relax. There is also a large wrap around porch where I chose to curl up with a book. There are about 8 parking spaces available in the back of the inn and we had no trouble finding a spot. The restaurant Atria is literally across the street. Would highly recommend as a nice place to relax and enjoy MV.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Okapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This inn is well managed with careful attention to all details. This is our second time here and it has improved over the years. There are wonderful communal areas to enjoy which set this BB apart from the others on either the Vineyard or Nantucket. The large wraparound porch with lovely gardens and several interior rooms, all warm and very clean while keeping the classic details without being formal or stuffy. We relaxed as soon as we entered and felt at home right away. For an inn this size you rarely see a gym with high quality equipment, several daily newspapers, great coffee and breakfasts,use of beach chairs umbrellas, and an honor bar. The beds were very comfortable and we loved the addition of a refrigerator
In the room. The staff seemed to enjoy working here and provided great service. We had left some things in the room, they called our cells right away and offered to mail it to us.

Would highly recommend this inn for those that enjoy comfort in a beautiful and welcoming setting. We can't wait to return. Yes it is expensive but worth every cent!

Only complaint was the A/C at night not being cool enough and not being able to control the temperature in the room. We do understand that this is an old building but you forget that since everything appears new.

Heard JFK stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great location, short walk to town. Tastefully decorated, not overly fancy. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and nice. Room was an okay size, definitely ask to be on 2nd floor or above, the downstairs hallways were loud. Breakfast was great with a made to order meal from a menu, although the service was lacking a bit with the young staff. The coffee was outstanding! Beach chairs and towels were provided for our beach outings. I would stay again if we headed back to the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvangelineMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoniSimoni
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Hob Knob is even more beautiful than in the web site pictures. It was comfortable and luxurious. The staff is very accommodating and the location is perfect. We loved it and would stay again in a minute. We hated to leave the fresh cooked breakfast with the scones that are the best I ever had. The afternoon tea is perfect. What a lovely place. You know other people are staying there but you rarely see or hear anyone or anything. We cannot find anything to dislike about the Hob Knob.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simoniSimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I have stayed at countless hotels for both business & pleasure across the US and europe and I always seek out the intimate spots for the shear attention to detail. The Hob Knob is stellar. The rooms are very well appointed with excellent bedding, gorgeous antique pieces and local artwork. No two rooms are alike. The staff is highly attentive, and seems to anticipate your every need.

Each morning an excellent cooked to order breakfast was prepared with farm fresh eggs and produce. All in all it just makes you feel like your staying at your wealthy Aunts summer estate on Martha's Vineyard. My group of friends and I all enjoyed spa treatments and massages which were a welcome treat after our jogs and bike tours around the island.

We even chartered their Boston Whaler for a twilight cruise and it was the hit of the weekend for us all.

This is one hotel that I highly recommend.
LT.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeg_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Once again we spent 4th of July in Edgartown at The Hob Knob, and it did not disappoint. The whole experience is everything that we have come to expect of a luxury hotel, with all the amenities and service. I loved the breakfast and feel that I have come home when I taste that first scone! Everyone on the team could not have made us feel more welcome and pampered. The spa has a very strong staff at the moment, ready to nurture and revive you! I so cherish our annual visits to The Hob Knob, and Martha's Vineyard. It means Summer...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing