We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Hob Knob is one of our favorites anywhere and, in Edgartown, it doesn't get any better than this. Immaculate, beautifully decorated, lovely rooms, centrally located and within walking distance to shopping, sights, and the wonderful restaurants of Martha's Vineyard and Edgartown. Wonderful service, attention to setail, and exceptional breakfasts. We couldn't recommend an establishment any more than The Hobknob!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    59
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
65
320
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Hob Knob in July, 2011 before picking up our girls from their high school summer programs in New England. The room was cozy, romantic, one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The Hob Knob is centrally located - - walking distance from the best restaurants, shops and sights in Edgartown. We rented a car and explored the island - - all the Jaws sights, beaches, lighthouses, etc. We were there for 4th of July activities, and really enjoyed walking from the hotel to the pier to see the fireworks. The breakfast was excellent, and there was always coffee/tea available. It was one of the most incredibly relaxing vacations every! Highly recommended for couples wanting a romantic, low key mini-break. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Our room was in the top floor and was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank horsemompr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here in January. When we arrived on Martha's Vineyard we hadnt booked a place to stay so we stumbled across this place. The people were as warm and lovely as the inn itself. Beautifully decorated and newly renovated, this place was a gem! The sauna and steam rooms were a wonderful addition and the complimentary breakfast was the best (omelette, fruit, scones, tea, coffee). In a perfect location, i would recommend this place to anyone in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor for quaint views over the town. Otherwise, you really cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelersfromaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the Hobknob after Christmas for a quick getaway. Our stay was wonderful. Pristine, comfortable room, after dinner Port. A nice sitting room with fireplace and wonderful service. The full breakfast was exceptional, omelets, french toast, fruit and "to die" for scones.
Quiet and sumptuous, highly recommended.

Room Tip: #11 superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjfkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in early October and had a great time. The staff was helpful, and we liked the tea-time. Room had lots of space, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty - especially the locally sourced sausage! Lots of nice areas to just sit and relax in the hotel - read the paper, play checkers. They are just a 5-minute walk from the Edgartown harbor/lighthouse. They have a parking lot if you want to bring a car onto the island. Better fitness room than I expected in a B&B, although they asked us not to use it before 8am. The walls are not soundproof and we could hear muffled conversations through the wall. They had beach chairs we used to go to the public beaches. The only complaint I had was that the hotel is on Main St. and even though we weren't there in peak season, the traffic heading into Edgartown made it pretty loud outside, so we didn't spend much time sitting on very nicely decorated wrap-around porch and patio.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face Main Street because the traffic can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztravler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We had a few nights at the Hob Knob earlier this month. We thought it was great. It is very conveniently located for walking round Edgartown and we were pleased that we had not rented a car (the hotel has bikes for hire too). Excellent breakfast, free wifi, great afternoon tea. The only negative thing I would say is that in our room, the walls were very thin and we could even hear our neighbours talking next door. Otherwise, a great hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had a very nice time on Martha's Vineyard and the Hob Knob definitely contributed to that. The staff was helpful and friendly, the breakfast was tasty, and the beds were really comfortable.

Breakfast each day (included in room price) was a combo of buffet and coked to order. Buffet had juices, coffee and tea, scone, granola, yogurt and milk, and selection of fruit. Cooked to order included choice of omelette, eggs, french toast or pancakes. Tried each except the pancakes and all were good - omelette was particularly good. Choice of meat comes with it - the locally made breakfast sausage was a favorite of my husband's.

Location is just a couple of blocks away from town center, so very walkable. Only thing we were surprised by was the main road into town can be loud if you are sitting outside on the lovely porch or in the garden. It is not an issue for sleeping since rooms are tucked away in back, but we did not enjoy the outside area as much as we would have otherwise. (That being said, we did see a woman taking an afternoon nap on a porch sofa, so maybe it was just us)

There is a fitness room that is small, but the equipment was in good shape - an elliptical, treadmill and bike as well as some weights.

Free parking, which was very nice

One suggestion to the innkeepers would be to have the bikes owned by the hob knob available at no charge to guests. The rental fee is the same as the bikes in town, but we felt that considering the price of the room, this would be a nice perk for guests.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lookingforhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#2 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing