We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Just back from a few nights stay in room 15 on the top floor of this boutique hotel.

Is probably the best hotel I've stayed in. Faultless.

Staff couldn't do any more to help. Room was fab. Small bath - but that seems the norm for American hotels.

Also lovely location. Could easily come back for a return visit

Room Tip: If you can get a top floor room - go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    60
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
80
347
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Hob Knob is the perfect inn for a relaxing, comfortable stay. The rooms are decorated in very good taste mixing antiques with comfortable beds and attractive furnishings. Our room on the third floor was quiet and large enough with three stuffed chairs to sit and read without feeling cramped. The full tub with shower and the abundant shelf space in the bathroom made it a very user-friendly space for a couple.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They tracked down our lost luggage, advised us on the best way to get to tourist destinations, etc. They introduce themselves and from then on we addressed each staff member by name.
The public areas are lovely. The porches with the wicker furniture and the beautifully landscaped and maintained garden provide great spaces for relaxing, visiting, and reading. The parlor and garden room with an honor bar provide additional areas for relaxing. A full breakfast with a wide variety of items that one orders from the menu and a tea time are held in the lovely two breakfast rooms decorated with blue Willow Ware and antiques. The food is tasty and beautifully displayed. The waiter V was extremely personable and made breakfast even more of a delight.
The other guests at the inn were friendly and shared information about attractions on the island. Many of them were annual visitors and provided great tips that were helpful.
The Hob Knob is located on the Main Street of Edgartown, and is ideally located for both touring Edgartown and the whole island. The inn rents bicycles and also has a cruise boat for rental.
I have only positive things to say about this inn and can't wait to go back. This week-long stay for my husband and me was one of the most relaxing trips we have ever taken, and I give all the credit to the Hob Knob Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor because I requested a quiet room. Room 15 was very quiet. Also, I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gigigood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Tucked in between two main traffic arteries nestled in a neighbourhood setting lies the precious Hob Knob Inn. Attentive but not intrusive staff, knowledgeable and the breakfast is starts your day off on the front foot.

Rooms are spacious and seem to attract a very amiable clientèle with whom you'd are happy to take an afternoon tea.

This Inn allows you to be 'in it not of it' and the location affords you great getaway avenue to the best beaches the Vineyard has to offer.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damisi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel during the weekend. Some of the pros and cons are the following:
Pros: excellent location, just a few blocks away from the main town and right by the side of the main street. The concierge recommended us two excellent dining places and we had some of the most fantastic meals up to date. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and the rooms are superb, equipped with excellent wifi connection among other commodities. The breakfast is excellent, with a varied fruit selection, freshly made scones, orange juice, coffee, and an assortment of teas both caffeinated and decaf. The order in breakfast includes one of the best blueberry pancakes that I have had, with true maple syrup. We were waitered by a rumanian server named V who was extremely attentive, and made our morning quite delightful, thank you.

Cons: We were greeted by a concierge, that although very nice he had a snobbish almost too proper attitude that made you feel that you were arriving at a five star city hotel and not a homey town getaway boutique hotel. The carpet at our hotel room was a bit wet, we are guessing that there is a humidity problem. The bathroom offered your typical toiletries, but failed to have a razor kit, and having stayed at great quality hotels, we did not travel with one. Upon request, however, they did provide us with only one; being a couple you could expect two. The complementary afternoon tea experience was a let down. They described freshly baked scones with homemade preserves, however we were only provided with nuts, brownies, and some sort of cake which I still have a hard time knowing what was in it due to it's  stale flavor. The wifi connection downstairs where you sit to enjoy your tea is inexistent. The hotel does not provide newspaper for all it's guests, and they must be returned. 

Overall our experience at the Hob Knob was quite pleasant and the highlight was the wonderful breakfast. However, for such a costly stay we do suggest that they up-scale their services and commodities to suit the requested price. 

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank NofSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Pines, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We popped in to the Hob Knob for a quick visit to Edgartown. We rarely stay at B&Bs, but as far as B&Bs go, this one was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful, always with a smile. Our room was quiet, a King room upstairs and in the back. Clean and nicely kept.
The breakfast here is excellent! They make it to order and everything was fresh and delicious. Even the orange juice was fresh-squeezed. They have an honor bar, complimentary Port, and they serve tea with fresh-baked goodies every afternoon. The location of the Hob Knob is great...we were able to walk everywhere. Great B&B.

Room Tip: In the back, away from street. Upstairs King rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esmepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We chose the Hob Knob since it was right in Edgartown and so a good central spot to explore the town and the Vineyard. We were first time visitors. The service was very good and the breakfasts excellent; a small menu but plenty of choice for a five night stay...we managed to try it all. The place is great for walking into town and there are good restaurants within a few minutes' walk, and it's about a ten minute walk to the water. The room and bathroom were small but well equipped and the bed very comfy. We stayed on the third floor and enjoyed being able to open the windows. The only minus was a clock bell down the road, which we could sometimes hear at night. A lovely boutique hotel. We would go back there again.

Room Tip: We chose the third floor for privacy and it worked well as this particular room seemed to be away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartford, ct
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This B&B is one of the best. The staff is always available, the location fabulous and the breakfast (especially the coffee) is outstanding. My girlfriend and I spent 5 days seeing Martha's Vineyard and the location was perfect. Hob Knob has bikes to rent, picnics made if you ask, massages arranged and suggestions for anything you ask about. There is a workout room, a computer (although slow - hey, we were on vacation) and walking distance to everything you need in Edgartown. We biked to the beach and Oak Bluffs which is 8 miles away, very doable. There are lots of comfy spots to rest, read or talk, both inside or out on the porch and patio. There is tea and wine every afternoon with delicious cakes, etc. The breakfasts are not to be missed; A buffet is set of fruit, breads, cereal and a table with teas and coffees but that is just the beginning as you are handed a menu. Linen covered tables but not stuffy. Pricey but worth it!

Room Tip: no elevator but the upstairs looked nice, we were on the first floor and it was quiet... will know m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
120 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing