We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the crowd”
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A few steps from town, the restaurants, the ocean.
Good to see Edgartown ans all the beaches off season !
Cold, windy in April, but don't worry, a warm and comfortable room is waiting for you at the Hob Knob !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Hob Knob was a more than a delightful experience all around! The owner has impeccable taste; everything is charming, warm and inviting. Attention to detail everywhere, from the charming sitting areas to the rooms themselves, the hallways, the banisters, (with adorable cut-outs of cows and moons.) In the summer, I can only imagine that flowers will be blooming all around. The staff is welcoming, helpful and yet unobtrusive. Breakfast absolutely delicious! The chef obviously happy to please, cut up fresh melons, and produced warm home-made scones. My husband ordered from the menu and said his eggs were perfect. While we were eating, the chef was approached by a family with a child who had peanut allergies and he accommodated them with a smile and happy consideration. It was a truly wonderful experience and we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpsc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed at Hob Knob last May during the off season and we really enjoyed this place. The room was very clean and cozy. The hotel felt like a bed and breakfast with hotel accommodations. It was fun just exploring the hotel because it was so cute. There is a small living room area where you can have tea, drinks, a snack and just relax. The breakfast was homemade and delicious with the freshest ingredients. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would go back and recommend this place to anyone visiting Edgartown!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sannicandro1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I had been dating several years and had wedding plans that had to be changed close to the date (for family reasons). We didn't mind at all (family and health more important than a specific celebration).

We rebooked our wedding and honeymoon - the honeymoon stay was planned at Mansion Inn in MV. From arrival, it was issue after issue with rude staff (see their comments on our review for an idea of what we dealt with - a hotel that passes judgment on *your* stay?! Yikes). After several days with many unresolved issues (manager lied that room over restaurant never had noise - we had to yell to each other, no sleep that night - then I found the review from less than year ago for same room, same complaint), we gave up and looked to save our remaining days.

And that's when we found the Hob Knob!

What we wanted: quiet, rest, respectful staff, clean accommodations
What we got: a little slice of heaven! Everything here is so well attended to. There's a !delicious! included breakfast, and delectable tea time (though the tea snacks were same each day for days we stayed). A gorgeous wrap around porch like ours at home. The small staff doubles as front desk, wait staff, etc. The woman who worked the dining service while we were there was exceptional - calm and graceful, friendly and wicked efficient.

The rooms were spotless! The bathroom was beautiful. There is an honor bar, lovely common areas, you feel like you are in someone's home. It all added up to several days we were delighted with - I wish we stayed here from the beginning!!

The bus will stop right at the corner if you ask, bikes ($) and maps avail - I suggest biking around Chappy. It's a short but pretty, scenic walk to the town. Actually, the neighborhood is clean, quiet and very well kept. A bike or post dinner walk is highly recommended!

Perhaps this sums it best - I don't like logo tshirts or destination 'stuff', but we dropped over $100 on mugs and a sweatshirt before departing. The mugs are a happy reminder of our honeymoon, and we both love the hoodie.

When we return to MV, we will stay here again - no question!

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 4 - there was a bike tour departing and garbage times where it was noisy (only for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travel201_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful little inn. The rooms have a comfy cozy feel. The common areas are so relaxing and inviting. The staff kept the fire going while our group sat and chatted. The coffee, teas and hot chocolate were available all evening. The wrap around porches had different seating areas with wicker style furniture with beautiful floral prints. The lamps were lit at night which beckoned me to grab some hot chocolate on that cool October night. The trees around the house keep it secluded. The breakfast was amazing! We were given a menu and were allowed choices as opposed to traditional B&B's. The only issue for me, was that the walls are a little thin, we at times heard other people around. I would say discuss with the innkeeper when you get a room, requesting one that is quieter. Overall, I loved this Boutique Inn and will definitely stay there if I return to Martha's Vineyard!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here the night of our Wedding and it was great, The room was very clean and big - comfy bed and friendly staff. Breakfast in the am was great, would go back there again & highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura0299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights here. Wonderful place to stay, very convenient to walk to main street area and to catch the bus to see the area. We stayed in room #17, I believe, as there was 3 of us. There was a pull out couch for one of us to sleep on, that I highly recommend be replaced. There are newer models that are much better, this couch/bed has definitely seen better days. That was the biggest disappointment in our room. The breakfasts were amazing! Definitely a real plus for staying here, along with the afternoon tea. There were bikes to use, which we used for a short trip to the lighthouse, but it would have been a nice touch to offer their use for free. We were charged $25 per bike and were only gone about 2 hours. The biggest plus was the food, location, and great porch to enjoy afternoon tea!

Room Tip: Don't get room #17 for 3 people unless they get a new bed for the 3rd person, pull out couch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canmoreandersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
234 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: £185 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing