We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Better than the Hob Knob”
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It Doesn't Get Better than the Hob Knob”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent a week at the Hob Knob with our two teenage daughters, at the height of the August busy season on Martha's Vineyard. We could not have been happier. The hotel is beautiful, the location central, the staff and service are fantastic, the breakfasts are great. For this hotel to be so charming, and so quiet, and to be right in the middle of all the "action" in Edgartown--it's a miracle! We've stayed at loads of hotels, inns, B&Bs on the Vineyard, and it simply does not get better than the Hob Knob. One piece of advice--charter the hotel's Boston Whaler and swim on the beach at Cape Pogue or take a tour of Edgartown Harbor, a fantastic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    60
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
78
343
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

During the wedding especially, the staff was extremely accommodating, Jefferson and Maggie were very helpful with things like helping to make the ceremony run smoothly and the cake cutting, etc.
The inn has a cozy, romantic atmosphere. It was a beautiful wedding, thank you Hob Knob!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyOttingKelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've traveled a fair bit and stayed in some interesting places. When you think about staying in a luxury boutique hotel on the Vineyard, you'd expect little quaint tables with fresh flowers and delicious scones and an attentive staff. The Hob Knob is all that and so much more. The coffee, the food, the decor are wonderful but the personal service and the rich backstory of its history make it a true "Vineyard" experience. Of course the attention to the smallest of details take this place to an entirely new level. Little touches here and there that exceeded my expectations.

BTW - I had their take on Eggs Benedict and it was fabulous. I'm a foodie too.

If you're going to Martha's Vineyard - check out the Hob Knob. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephenpaulburks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A beautiful, comfortable Boutique Hotel with welcoming and knowledgable staff. The experience is amazing- everything from the clean and well appointed rooms to the grounds and food. The staff is there to help in ways that are above and beyond the expected service of a place as authentic as this truly is. We've been to other hotels that claim to have the luxury that seems to come naturally to the folks at Hob Knob. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Any choice would be ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

What's not to love about MV and the HobKnob.... The perfect neighborhood location just steps from the action, the best staff that's attentive to your needs yet gives you privacy, delicious breakfast and afternoon tea, there's no other place to stay on MV.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeg_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Everything about our stay was perfect. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfy. The inn is kept in immaculate condition! They supply everything from beach chairs & umbrellas to bikes (minimal rental fee). The exercise room is a bit small but well equipped and the afternoon tea with plenty of sweets was delicious. A highlight for us was Jesse, the owner's teacup Yorkie! A real sweetie. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed in Edgartown many times over many years and this was the best visit. We did not know that an Inn would have such amenities and such luxurious comfort. The room was lovely with the kind of linens that make you want to stay in bed all day , when you do get up you are seved a yummy breakfast full of local organic fruits and baked goods along with any hearty fare you might dream up. Breakfast is in the garden, very sweet and comfortable.
All the rooms have their own baths, and lush robes and mini bars and WiFi, pretty easy to settle in.
Bikes are available and you can ride to the beach, they supply towels and chairs too, they really do think of everything and make you feel pampered.cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Tell them what you want, bright or quiet or big or small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing