We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Edgartown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #8 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
“Best Hotel in Edgartown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

I recently stayed at the Kelley House and my entire experience was AMAZING!!! When I made the reservation with Darlene she was very patient and knowledgable about the hotel and the area. She assured me that my experience at the Kelley House would be memorable...And she was right!!! Amanda in Housekeeping and Charlotte at the Front Desk were very professional and accomodating. They always greeted my friends and I with a smile and made us feel like it was a pleasure to answer ALL of our questions. Steve Brunelle, the Innkeeper, was very friendly and went out his way to make our visit enjoyable and stress-free. He researched restaurants for us and directions on how to get around. We woke up each morning with a smile from the staff and fresh muffins and coffee. The warm cookies at night were an added touch that was greatly appreciated. As Darlene mentioned when we made our reservations....the Kelley House is a "Hidden Gem". Thank you Darlene, Charlotte, Amanda & Steve. My friends and I will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite instead of a room with two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamikaPeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    92
    43
    23
    8
See reviews for
82
123
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We found Kelley House in Edgartown by coincidence online, while planning our mini road trip through North East USA. We absolutely loved the athmosphere of the Kelley House, the room was very comfortable and light and the people at the Kelley House are lovely. They provided muffins in the morning, milk and cookies in the evening and even promised to start afternoon tea sessions in the near future. While we stayed at the Kelley House, the inn keeper was nice enough to show us some other one and more bedroom appartments they have. This is definitively a place to remember and come back to. I would love to stay in the formed prison, now converted in beautiful one bedroom appartement. I can recommend this hotel to everyone who enjoys life, nice people and great service. And on top of that, it's conveniently located in the center of Edgartown, and offers free parking. 2 thumbs up

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granotaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Kelley House is definitely the gem of Edgartown. The location is superb-in the midst of the little shops and restaurants and a short walking distance from the main bus terminal.
My 3 girlfriends and I stayed on the first floor of the Chappy House just a few feet away from the pool. The front patio had an outdoor dining set and lounge chairs which we took full advantage of every morning as we enjoyed our complimentary muffins and coffee:)
The staff was one of the best I've ever encountered.....Charlotte was the supv. at the front desk and was very knowledgeable and personable. My friends and I always have a lot of questions and request and Amanda helped us with all of them w a smile. The Inn keeper Steve was friendly and made us feel right at home, he even helped us with our luggage so that we could take the bus to the airport for $1! Thank you Darlene (staff from their sister property The Harbor View) for helping us decide to book here. We are already planning our trip back for 2012!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed for three nights in Early June. Inn was a pleasant surprise, rooms large, bed comfortable, morning muffins excellent. Two nights get one free made for an excellent value. The only thing that didn't work well was the hot water, you had to start it five minutes before you want to shower to get any, but it did come. Wonderful locations to explore the island!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The list of reasons to stay here is long, but begins with the amazingly friendly staff. From check-in to departure, everyone - front desk to the housekeepers treated us like dear friends and honored guests. They could not do enough. Lobby is warm and inviting. Rooms are large, very clean, nicely appointed, beds and bedding were heaven, and it included two enviro-friendly water bottles (to keep) which could be filled any time from their purified water dispenser. Nice touch! Unlike most hotels, this has a completely no-hassle, free wi-fi. Boot up and go. Parking is very convenient. Location is perfect. Price is right.
Could use in-room coffee and something for breakfast. Still, as a long time visitor to the Island, familiar with the other Edgartown properties, all things considered, Kelly House is my best recommendation and where I'll return on subsequent visits. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMSantaBarbara_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We spent 3 days here, and we were very pleased with the location (close to the water and the town), the staff, and the room - very clean and comfortable. We would choose the Kelley House again. The weather was perfect, there were few tourists, and we could stay for 3 nights for the price of 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pero56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed in the main building and it is very dated and needs a good renovation. The walls are paper thin. The sheets were not changed over 5 nights. The housekeeping is so-so. The rooms are large and the beds were fab! The complimentary continental breakfast was not so good and had the worst tasting coffee. There was dry cereal and fat & sugar filled danish. Everything was served on paper. The staff was very nice and very helpful! There is a lovely garden in back.

I would recommend one of the buildings that have suites. They have been renovated.

Please be aware that none of the buildings have elevators, so be prepared to climb lots of stairs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariet532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MizzentopKH, Manager at Kelley House, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond about your stay at The kelley House last season. As the new Innkeeper for the 2011 season I am happy to announce that we have made many changes to make our Inn a better place to stay while in Edgartown.
Over the winter season we have revamped all of our rooms with fresh new paint, brand new carpeting, window features and bedding. We are still in the process of imprving our room ammenities with in-room coffe makers being atdded in the next few days.
As for your comments on the Continental Breakfast your remarks are quite right. We were not doing it right and so we decided to not offer breakfast for this season. We will look into the possibilty of its return next season when a proper implimentation is put into effect.
I asked you to give us another try and see the great changes as we continue to provide quality customer service and product at The Kelley House.
Steven M. Brunelle
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Property: Kelley House
Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing