We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #8 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We recently stayed kelley house on our trip to cape cod. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the inn. Check-in was a breeze and very courteous. Our room was probably the best the inn had although on the top floor. It was a hike getting everything upthere but once there, the view is just awesome. You can see the lighthouse from one of the windows and chappaquidick island and the pool from another window.

The pool was quite dirty but since it is before memorial day, the pool was closed. We found out the inns restaurant next door is quite famous once we got there. Being vegetarians though, we had very limited choice there. The manager did promise us a nice meal if we visited. We chose not to since the restaurant is predominantly a seafood place and we get queasy with seafood smell. We bought our own food refrigerated and the restaurant was nice to warm it up for us.

The coffee was OK. Again being vegetarians, we couldn't eat either the morning breakfast of muffins or the evening snack of cookies. It is nice that they offer both though.

The front desk is very helpful. very helpful. Worth mentioning twice. We called the front desk for almost all the plans we made to go out.

Room Tip: 316 is good. I would bet 315 also has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sridevi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    92
    43
    23
    8
See reviews for
82
123
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Kelley House for just one night - got there very late but the staff couldn't be more helpful. Just a wonderful place to stay - gorgeous B&B and worth every penny. Walls are thin - screaming kids in the room next door woke us up. A word of caution for travellers - if you're coming to Martha's Vineyard by car ferry, book well in advance. We didn't and endured a 6.5hr wait - the local Steamship Authority are incredibly unwelcoming and unhelpful - don't annoy them or you won't get on.

But if you do get there, stay here if you can :-)

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank robertgray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The moment you walk through the front door, you're made to feel like your coming home. Peaceful, relaxing, stress-free time away. Hot Coffee and Muffins in the A.M. and Cold Milk and Chocolate Chip Cookies in the P.M. Free parking. Walking distance to Ice Cream, Fudge, Crafts, Clothing and you can stroll next door to the "Newes From America" pub and stumble back. Excellent food, drink and atmosphere and VERY reasonable prices with superb service. Our trip was just before Memorial Day and we felt like we had the Island to ourselves. If you have a car with you, try to get to Aquinnah for incredible Fried Ipswich Clams and Hand-cut fries and a glorious view regardless the weather.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmmMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at the Kelley House for just one night, but it was a great one. Found a great deal on the Wheel House Suite during a sale on SniqueAway. The suite was very large and had a fantastic view of the ocean from the second floor balcony.

A full kitchen would have allowed us to do some cooking if we were there longer, but since we were there for a quick visit, we didn't take advantage. The large and comfortable living area was nice for winding down after a long day of biking. I could definitely picture myself staying for a week and feeling right at home.

Fresh-baked muffins in the mornings and warm cookies and milk in the evening were a nice treat and got rave reviews from all of the other guests as well.

The entire staff at the hotel was friendly and super helpful; the location in Edgartown is fantastic for browsing all of the fun shops with easy bus access for exploring the rest of the Island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzypinkbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our nice, clean and friendly stay at the Kelley House. From the front desk to the end of our stay we had a great time! The walls are thin, but we were there during off season so it was pretty quiet. I would recommend and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Kelley House is the less posh sister of the Harbor View Hotel, and does not have the waterfront location. It does have comfortable rooms and a nice staff in a very good central location in the heart of Edgartown. We got a good deal (right before the start of the high season) for a well appointed corner room with an excellent bed. They threw in a meal at the Newes pub onsite also, so it was a bargain. The staff at the front desk were all friendly, personable and helpful, exactly what people in the hospitality business should be. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean, which I always appreciate, but the bathroom could use some updating (linoleum foors, etc) and some fluffier towels. Also, the shower/tub really needs a non slip mat, those all-in one units get slippery. I didn't like the soap/amenities either, but that's not a deal breaker. The Kelley House is a good bet for a Vineyard visit, especially when you get a good promotional deal like we did.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RdSxfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The staff at Kelley House made our wonderful birthday weekend special. Our star treatment began with a warm and wonderful welcome and continued until we left the island! We had a beautiful water view from our spacious deck at the Chappy House. In a two bedrooms, two baths luxury suite we had plenty of room to relax and enjoy. The service was fantastic, the charm unforgettable, our every need was met. The hotel is centrally located for breakfast, lunch and dinner; and after hours entertainment is a short walk away. Our group consisted of five women of different backgrounds and we all agree that this is THE place to stay on Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravel4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Property: Kelley House
Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing