We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel and Great Location!”
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #9 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Though the Kelley House is quite expensive during peak season, I thought the hotel was fantastic for a weekend stay. The location is perfect! It's located right in downtown Edgartown just steps from all the shops, restaurants and bus stop. They serve milk and cookies every night and coffee with delicious fresh baked muffins in the morning. Rooms were a little dated, but staff was pleasant and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 974cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed here a few times - in the Chappy house - a third floor one-bedroom suite. This time, my friend booked it for Labor day weekend and spoke to Heather about it multiple times before check in day. When we arrived they had "upgraded" us to a three bedroom suite with no deck or views of any kind. The Chappy House has a great deck and views - which is why we stay there. There was a "Manager's Hold" on our room. Nice bait and switch. The manager showed up after multiple phone calls to his cell. We did finally get our room back. Other conditions: needs many updates, no toilet paper holder, very late maid service during the day, cobwebs, pain falling off walls, pictures and mirrors missing, poor hair dryer. Restroom in main lobby was atrocious when I went in at about 2:30pm. The pillows in the rooms are not great at all, and there are no extra blankets or sheets anywhere - even for the sleep sofa.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view. Save your confirmation and bring it with you! The Chappy hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Io79032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel had many plus points e.g. "free" wifi, "free" muffins and drinks in the morning and "free "milk and cookies in the evening, classically decorated, large bedrooms, free shower gel./body wash in the bahtroom, convenient location, obliging staff, swimming pool. However all of this had minus points as well. There was no instruction manual in the room so we had to ask a few basic questions at first e.g is there a password for wifi as there had been in our previous hotel and were given a reply but rather grudgingly from the only american male member of staff we ecountered.The time and amount of the free food was a bit haphazard, we came at the same time every day, sometines it was in plentiful supply sometimes the cookies had gone. TV was old fashioned, vacuuming the corridor outside our room at 8am on Saturday morning was a nice touuch!! The taps were also ferocious in the bathroom and was a case of all or nothn! One day we had been left no bath towels or shower gel. We had half used one gel and left it by the shower to use again. It had been taken and not replaced. When we went to ask for just what we needed a whole set of everything arrived and the towels were damp! There were no instructions either in the room or at the pool about changing facilities or how to get towels and no one to ask. It is very difficult to park on arrival and fortunately after circling for abt 20 mins someone did leave from the front of the hotel so we could park there and register. We were then directed to the hotel car park which was not far away but decided not to move the car until the day we were leaving in case this should happen again. We also didn't need to move the car as everything was centrally located.
We just felt that all these little details could have been put right before they even happened with a strong hand at the helm. All the staff were obliging but couldn't really see what needed doing until it was too late, such a shame because this could be an excellent hotel with a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The place is not horrible but I regret not looking for a different hotel in Edgartown. The reception (foreign employees there for the summer) are friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good; lots of shops and businesses surrounding it. It also has complimentary parking, pool, and (free but weak signaled) wifi. However, it would be considered a very low end hotel anywhere in the mainland US. The issues I have are that the rooms are very outdated and have a moldy feel, small spiderwebs are located in several areas around the beds, there is no elevator, and you can hear everything going on in the building and feels like its waiting to cave in. You can hear every word your neighbor is saying as if sitting with them, you can hear and feel the vibration of every step someone down the hall makes, every door closed sounds as if slammed, and the vacuum cleaner several rooms away may as well be right outside your door. For $365/night, I hope they use that money to make some adjustments.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had the pleasure staying at the Kelley House. I loved this old historic hotel. It was close to everything and we could walk. to some nice restaurants and shopping Nice view of the harbour from our room

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed on Monday night, first floor. Paid almost $400 for the night. Big room with two queen beds, fine for my daughter and I. Great location, close to Edgartown shops and restaurants, friendly staff.
The ceiling in the bathroom had significant black mold. Very out dated bathroom. Did not feel clean.
Nice towels and sheets. Beds comfortable.

Room Tip: First floor noisy, hallway enters out door pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great history - NO ELEVATOR so if you need any assistance - and do not like staying on 1st floor- stay elsewhere. It was EXTREMELY warm (read 96 degrees) during my stay - the AC was cold but could be a tad cooler. Nice pool, great location, friendly staff. The hotel could use a quick update to the bathrooms (ie: newer tub) & Tv's. The beds in my room were SOFT. The hotel is a short (5 minute at best) walk to the Chappy ferry. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms.Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
828 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lightkeepers Inn
The Lightkeepers Inn
#5 of 10 in Edgartown
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: £75 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing