We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views and Great Staff”
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #8 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Great Staff”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I recently took my first trip to Martha's Vineyard with my Family and the Kelley House made it such a great experience! We stayed for 3 nights in the Court House suite and the accommodations were immaculate. We had plenty of space for 4 adults and 2 kids, 2 beautiful bathrooms and the kitchen area was so convenient. The Newes Pub had great food for the adults and kids and was so accessible. But my favorite part of the staying at the Kelley House was that every morning the lobby has fresh muffins and coffee and tea, and every evening there was freshly baked cookies, and milk! Both the kids and us adults loved that! The lobby was beautifully decorated and you could sit right and front of a roaring fire and relax. In addition to all the wonderful features, the staff was so great and so attentive. I had absolutely no complaints! We are making this a tradition.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaitlyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    95
    47
    26
    11
See reviews for
89
131
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, MA
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to an overnight stay in Edgartown in mid-January. I already knew about the Kelley House and I had eaten at the restaurant several times, so I called up to make a reservation. Nickie was very helpful in spite of admitting she hadn't taken a reservation for a while because she didn't usually work the front desk. She did fine! The lobby was so welcoming with its fire in the fireplace when we checked in that later on we settled ourselves in front of the fire in the comfy chairs. Tea available for the asking, so we asked and we received. Too bad those evening cookies aren't available in the afternoon. Our room was really nice and the bed was comfortable. When I reported to the staff the taps were dripping, they promptly moved us rather than make everyone wait around for the engineering staff to show up. Our new room was also large with a very comfortable king bed, and as a corner room in the main house had more windows and better view. I appreciate that kind of solution to a room problem. It was very quiet in Edgartown with the holiday season over, especially on a Monday, so we had a nice walk around a very quiet town, no shopping to be had. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and ready to offer suggestions of places to visit and to eat, even though they do play up their own pub, Newes from America. And we did eat there because it was one of two open restaurants walking distance from the hotel! We enjoyed the meal and would recommend the burgers and beer to anyone. The next morning we had a coffee and muffin that the hotel puts out, nice touch, but we did walk up to Espresso Love Café for latte and breakfast sandwich. Normally I would recommend the Dock Square Coffee Shop, but it was closed for a few days so we weren't able to have breakfast there as we would otherwise have done. Kelley House has a great central location, and a great staff that really wants you to enjoy everything about your stay at the hotel, in Edgartown, and on the Vineyard.

Room Tip: The hotel has a variety of rooms and separate cottages, so let them know what you need in a hotel ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at the Kelley house for a 2 night post-Christmas weekend. Our room was a fabulous suite in the Chappy House overlooking the Chappy Ferry. Beautiful space with a very large sunny deck facing east perfect for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. Fortunately it was warm enough to enjoy while the sun was out.

The suite had 2 bed/ bath combos ideal for a large family or 2 couples.

The service at the hotel was superlative. Each morning there was coffee and muffins and cold milk and freshly made cookies in the evening. Even though this property is an "inn" the service feels more like a family owned B & B. Cute pub on-site for drinks.

When choosing which part of MV to stay in Edgartown is a little more laid back than Oak Bluffs or Vinyard Haven. There are still lots if restaurants and shops but more low key.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our room at the Kelley House featured super-comfortable beds with Mission-style headboards and a bathroom with excellent water pressure in the shower. We appreciated the convenience of an in-room fridge. In the morning, there were complimentary muffins and coffee in the lobby; in the evening, there were cookies and milk. Our only complaint was inadequate outdoor lighting, especially in the parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The best location, best hotel and best staff. You can't beat this hotel. Everything is 5 stars. Checked in late, in fact we were the last ones. The front desk guy was so welcoming. Spend a lot of time telling us what was going on that weekend. Super staff.

Room Tip: Chappy house is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuffaloDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Before I leave the USA after two weeks 'leaf peeping' I wanted to upload a comment about Kelley House in Edgartown MV. We had a wonderful stay here, from the outset of being shown to a stunning room with classic music playing quietly to welcome us, through courteous (and humorous) attention to attending efficiently to our every request, it has been a joy. Having read some of the other reviews I consider that either the hotel have taken note or that some people are over critical. Yes, the room lacked the splendour of a flat screen TV! What? Stay at home and watch TV! The room was spotless, roomy, well stocked and very well serviced. My ONLY criticism would be that not everyone wants to start the day with a chocolate overload, so vary the muffins served at the simple breakfast and include something plain. That is all! Everything else was simply perfect, the hotel is so full of character and retains a lot of the original features of an old Cape property. our room was on the third floor at the corner so we had fabulous views of Chappaquidick Island and the harbour. Edgartown has been the highlight of our trip, everyone we met en route through New England and Vermont (1,000) miles commented on the beauty of MV, to the point I was concerned we would be disappointed, it was almost 'over sold', not so......it is beautiful. Wander through the gorgeous narrow streets of Edgartown and look at the homes of the whaling captains, you will feel as though you are on a film set. The houses are amazingly well preserved. The Main Street has discreet signage for the ever present shops, but the shops are tasteful. Eat at The Wharf and enjoy a verandah lunch at Nancy's overlooking Church Pier at Oaks Bluff. We cycled for 30 miles, saw stunning and beautiful houses and fabulous neat gardens. We visited towards the end of the season which seems to be on Columbus Day, and some places had already closed with others planning to, but we did not have to endure crowds and it was a perfect end to a fabulous holiday. If you have a bucket list, put Martha's Vineyard on it, plan a trip for at least three days - and pack your credit card, it isn't cheap! But it is an experience and an unforgettable one. Edgartown was definitely my favourite place and Kelley House the perfect location. We also left our car on the mainland, it is very expensive to ferry a car across, but the local travel on MV is good, and we like to cycle so went prepared. It costs $10 per day to park in the special park for the ferry from Falmouth and a free shuttle runs to and from the car park to the ferry.

Room Tip: We had room 316 on the top floor corner, the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartee263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Though the Kelley House is quite expensive during peak season, I thought the hotel was fantastic for a weekend stay. The location is perfect! It's located right in downtown Edgartown just steps from all the shops, restaurants and bus stop. They serve milk and cookies every night and coffee with delicious fresh baked muffins in the morning. Rooms were a little dated, but staff was pleasant and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 974cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
949 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
108 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Property: Kelley House
Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing