We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Dirty & Outdated”
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #9 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Totally unacceptable. Rooms and common areas are dirty. Furniture is outdated, dinged up, and dirty. Spiders in corners, filthy carpet with stains in common areas and rooms. Location of this hotel is great. That is why they stay in business. It's up you if location trumps filth. I will never come back. My second visit. It was not like this the first time we came here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel43138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark_Guinn, General Manager at Kelley House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I was disappointed to hear that you found your accommodations to be unacceptable. It is our desire to welcome our guests to a clean and comfortable environment and based on your post, we failed to do so. I have shared your comments with the Director of Rooms and I have been assured that the housekeeping staff will be addressed and that the oversights that you mentioned will not be overlooked in the future.

We would appreciate the opportunity to reverse the last impression we left with you by offering you a complimentary 1 night stay. This offer is valid for 1 year, expiring 8/10/14. If you are interested, please contact my assistant, Lynn Marble at 508-356-2102 to arrange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

To start, let me say the staff and facility is wonderful. The location is also perfect for enjoying Edgartown and the island.
There are some areas of the inn that need upgrading such as televisions, clocks in rooms, bathrooms, etc. None of these would prevent a future stay. Just not up to what you would find in even a mid level hotel now days.
The snacks, morning coffee & muffins were excellent! Another great stay at KH!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank gtgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our room was acceptable, if not entirely clean. But when we contacted the hotel afterwards -- several times -- about unauthorized charges on our credit card they were entirely unresponsive. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarenJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark_Guinn, General Manager at Kelley House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

It is our goal to practice good telephone etiquette by answering the phone by the third ring. Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulty you experienced getting through to the hotel.

Please contact my assistant, Lynn Marble at 508-356-2102 to assist you with resolving the charges made to your credit card and if you would provide her with the date(s) and phone number dialed, she can investigate the issue with the lack of phone support you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely old hotel with modern amenities. Location was fabulous. Service was on top of it. Bed and linens were a little slice of heaven. The room was big and airy and more importantly quiet. Breakfast at their Resturant was excellent. My first time for "popovers"

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went there when our other hotel had no room for us on 7/4 during Hurricane Arthur. The staff worked very hard when the power went out. I am not sure why they didn't have a functioning generator, but we rolled with the punches. The hotel is old and quaint, but it is in fantastic spot. We even stayed an extra night in order to take full advantage of Edgartown (parade and fireworks). The chocolate chip cookies and milk at 7:00 are a great touch....

Room Tip: Ever watch Jaws? This hotel (and in fact our room) are prominently displayed throughout the movie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff here is simply amazing, along with the whole hotel, it is adjacent to The Newes Restaurant that serves a great clam chowder. I travel all over the US and this by far has been my favorite place I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osksavjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of two parents and two teens really enjoyed our stay at the Kelley House. The staff was very attentive and helpful, ready with suggestions if things to do and places to eat. Morning coffee and muffins or popovers in the lobby, and afternoon fresh baked cookies and lemonade really hit the spot. Lots of fresh towels, damask linens, plenty of pillows as you'd expect from a nice inn. Bathroom showed some wear, but overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: £96 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing