We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, but that is the end of positives”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is located right at the heart of Edgartown overlooking the harbor. The rooms are clean. You expect to pay a premium for location but for the quality and service this was crazy. The decor looks like a 1970s Holiday Inn. The bed and pillow level of quality and comfort wouldn't have passed at a Red Roof Inn or La Quintas, I am serious. The staff was distracted and unhelpful. When we asked where to eat they handed us a Chamber of Commerce pamphlet and went back to chatting about their romantic relationships. A small upgrade in basic bed/furniture quality and a slight interest in the customer would make a huge difference (the place was almost deserted so they weren't overwhelmed). Just a little care and attention would make the value and experience a positive rather than a feeling like you have been scammed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Batch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Location was really wonderful, right in the thick of Edgartown, so you can walk every where and also have easy access to the bike trail to Oak Bluffs. Rooms are certainly dated and in need of a renovation for the prices they charge. But in all, it was fine for a last minute booking. Kids love the pool, which was the ultimate draw.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MABlissful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have been staying at the Harborside for over 25 years. The location on the harbor is perfect. It is also on the quiet side of Water Street (South). The rooms are always clean and well appointed. This place is very quiet with the exception of the noise coming from the Atlantic Restaurant next door. The pool and courtyard we clean and well-kept at all times. The courtyard offers outdoor grilling. For the best room, choose one with a deck or patio facing the harbor. Suite 510 has a king sized bed, fridge, and a fabulous patio right on the harbor's edge. The staff here is always friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Try to get either room 501 or 509 for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Io79032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations based on their website. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was very helpful. The perfect location was a plus. Our room had a balcony with a great view of the harbor. We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Beautiful spot right on the harbor, ferry comes right there to dock within walking distance. Nice room SPOTLESS! Bathroom one of the cleanest I've seen. Easy check in and check out, helpful at all times. Do request a room not on the Main St because it can be very noisy and on the weekend when it is pub crawl it IS noisy, but right there in the heart of the shopping zone!

Room Tip: ask where your room is located, they are NOT afraid to tell you that you will be on the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 35yearsBraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spur of the moment trip to MV and spent one night here recently. There are several charming federal period homes which house the hotel rooms. Our room was clean, bright, nicely decorated except for the cheap, rough blankets on the bed. Little on the small side but the view overlooking the harbor from the balcony was beautiful. Can't beat the location! Walked to everything and the best part was the bus stop which is only 2 blocks away and the buses can take you anywhere on the island. The South beach was a 10 minute, $1.00 ride!
Coffee in the lobby and a nice veranda to sit on and a comfortable sitting area. The front desk staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. We did feel left out of the kitchen dining area and salivated as we walked by while they were inside eating steak, corn on the cob, etc.
Gas grills were in courtyard but not sure if they're available to non time sharing guests.
My biggest complaint was the price but we were desperate. Expensive and can't say it was worth paying close to $400. for the room. Even though it was pricey, would stay here again in this building the (Milton building) but would curtail the numbers of night spent here because of the price. Would recommend that you not go in the building adjacent to the Atlantic restaurant as their kitchen exhaust vents were going all night.

Room Tip: Milton building or one of the federal buildings along the main street. Avoid building close to Atla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnydays503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This "hotel" (really a timeshare resort) is in a great spot with a wonderful view of the harbor and less that one block to downtown Edgartown. Lots of however qualifiers...I should have seen the red flag go up when I called the hotel for a last minute reservation for the 4th of July weekend, asked if they would hold a room for me for an hour while I tried to work out car/ferry reservations, they said they would, I called back 1/2 hour later, and the person who then answered said they didn't have any knowledge of my previous call and hadn't held any room, and the only room available was significantly more $$ than I had been told previously. (and accused me of mixing up their hotel with another close by, the Harborview, which I didn't, having checked my phone log) When I finally booked our reservation, I requested a cot in our room, when I checked in I was told the cot was there but fire code was that only two people could be in the room. This information would have been helpful to set my expectations when I asked for the cot...When we saw the room it was evident why the fire code was such--there was barely space to pass from one side of the room to the other. Management is invisible or seems to want to be--fairly simple questions were met with "I'll check with my manager", and then you'd overhear the conversation between "manager" and desk personnel taking place a few feet away--awkward. An angry disagreement between a hotel guest and a front desk person escalated in front of all without being facilitated or moved to privacy--just all bad form.
Access to the nicer parts of the property are restricted to "owners", which I assume means timeshare owners, which was never made clear really, but the doors to lounge areas and food prep areas are all on key locks. When we returned from the wonderful 4th parade, we headed out to the back lawn to watch the fireworks--and were body blocked by a bellman, who had held a door open for us earlier in the day with a friendly and familiar hello- who now looked like he was taking us into custody. My husband showed him his room key and he let us through, but it sure felt "icky". We decided to cut our trip short, asked to check out a day early, and of course, when we requested that they refund our last night's payment, the manager behind the curtain via his desk clerk, said he could only do it if he could rebook the room and we never heard from him again...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andoversre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
986 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: £72 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing