We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshares for rent....”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A timeshare property owned and managed by the owners, the Harborside is a fun and unique place. The setting is fabulous, right on the harbor(boat slips possible), and in the middle of Edgartown. The rooms are small, recently renovated, with little but modern bathrooms, but the property is spacious for being in the middle of town. There is a building with multiple kitchens for you to prepare your own meals.There is a dining room with a water view. There is a pool area with a heated pool, a grilling area with outside seating. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times.

Room Tip: There are motel-like rooms, and rooms in the old sea captain houses. Some have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cedarsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We exchanged a 2-bedroom Marriott condo for a room with a very small bathroom. The worst part was it faced a narrow street which had a Pub short steps from our bedroom window. Smokers gathered outside the entrance and each evening the music seemed to get louder.
If you stay in Captains Abel or Prada rooms, facing the street, just know it will be noisy.

The room was recently renovated and the furnishings were fine but the room is small and the bathroom, while it had a nice shower, was hard to move around in. We did a lot of improvising. They have a large common area with tables and lots of kitchen facilities e.g. many refrigerators, stoves, all utensils, etc. You can certainly cook a large meal for a family or just keep breakfast foods, which is what we did. This was a new concept for us but I liked it.

We love Martha's Vineyard and will go back again but stay at one of the many lovely B&B's. As it was we left a day early. BTW, we asked about exchanging our room for another unit - as there were other units available - but were told it would be an extra $280/night.

Room Tip: Unless you are not bothered by noise, don't take a room facing the street. The rating of "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAGGIEMAY70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

What a great spot. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Location was fabulous with lots of restaurants within walking distance and staff recommendations were great.
The room was spotless and had a great view of harbor even though it was a studio we dis well with the free coffee available downstairs every morning.
Common kitchen gave us an opportunity to talk with friendly owners and traders like us. We got some great recommendations for future travel from them. Everyone was outgoing and so nice.
No Elevator would be a problem and off site parking without valet service might limit others but we enjoyed the twice a day walk up and down the short flights of stairs and the 1/4 mile to the sufficient lot for cars. Would do this again.

Room Tip: trade early and if you are fit take the 2nd floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Harborside Inn last month and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was recently renovated and reminded us of a New England bed and breakfast. We had a room overlooking the harbor and were able to see the sunrise. The online pictures don't do the resort justice. The staff was very accommodating and helpful; and housekeeping did a great job supplying and cleaning our room. It is the best location on the island - close to shops, the bike path and walking distance to many beaches. We're looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT_Travels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We visited The Harborside and Martha's Vineyard immediately after the off season began. It was quiet and the weather was still great, but it seemed as if many of the resturants and shops just couldn't wait to close. We were disappointed by some of the closings but on the other hand got some wonderful deals because things were closing. The Harborside has a community kitchen and we really enjoyed being part of the commaraderie of making and eating our dinner among the other guests. We enjoyed a couple of nice bike rides while there on some of the many bike paths on the island. Although staff said the pool was still open it did not see to be. The whole island was very clean and very polite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Several couples chose to stay at the Harborside Inn in a recent trip. The hotel is comprised of several of the historic buildings and houses that for the most part have an outside access to the views of the pool, beautiful harbor and small marina. Our room was very clean and accommodating except for the bathroom. The bathroom was not more than a small closet with a nice shower and the other essentials. To open and close the door was frustrating and a challenge for space. No place to set your bathroom belongings. Drawback for this hotel is there are no elevators so be prepared to encounter a lot of stairs to reach your room unless you are on the ground floor and even then you have 3 or 4 steps to reach your room.

Room Tip: When requesting a harbor view room, confirm you have a direct view. Our room was supposedly harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StrandedCurbside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is located right at the heart of Edgartown overlooking the harbor. The rooms are clean. You expect to pay a premium for location but for the quality and service this was crazy. The decor looks like a 1970s Holiday Inn. The bed and pillow level of quality and comfort wouldn't have passed at a Red Roof Inn or La Quintas, I am serious. The staff was distracted and unhelpful. When we asked where to eat they handed us a Chamber of Commerce pamphlet and went back to chatting about their romantic relationships. A small upgrade in basic bed/furniture quality and a slight interest in the customer would make a huge difference (the place was almost deserted so they weren't overwhelmed). Just a little care and attention would make the value and experience a positive rather than a feeling like you have been scammed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Batch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
2.6 mi away
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
#1 of 4 in Edgartown
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing