We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful harbor view at the Thomas Milton House”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful harbor view at the Thomas Milton House”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are considering staying here make sure you get a water view room. There is a main house and then a series of other "houses", we stayed at the Thomas Milton House. The staff was extremely accommodating, they will meet you right at the pier where your ferry disembarks to help you with your luggage. Our room was on the second floor so our bellman got a workout with our luggage as is no elevator. It is close to everything in Edgartown, you can pretty much walk to everything there. Edgartown is the high end of Marthas Vineyard so your shops and boutiques are all fairly pricey. If you prefer a more comfy neighborhood feel Oak Bluffs may be more your style. Important side note, be sure you remember your hotel is the "Harborside Inn" vs "Harbor View" as they are both on same street (fair distance apart though) and if you do take a cab they are very inclined to mix up the two. Our room was fantastic, spacious enough, VERY clean, great shower, this hotel was just fantastic all the way around!

Room Tip: Room 460, Thomas Milton House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    37
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
54
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
Level Contributor
236 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was not my first stay at the Harborside but it had been many years. They have remodeled the inn in the last year or so and the rooms are very simple but updated from the old days. The bathrooms are small but clean and modern for an edgartown hotel. Closet space was good and the rooms were modest. This is a hotel/timeshare and many of the people who stay here own boats. There is an area under the lobby with full kitchens and lots of room to prepare meals. There is a very nice outdoor area for bbq if you decide to do your own cooking... They have a small but very refreshing pool with really comfortable lounge chairs. The views of the harbor are breathtaking.
The staff is terrific, very nice people who have been working here for many years.
I would definitely suggest the Harborside inn for it's location and simplicity. There are many repeat clients and I would definitely return. I usually prefer a more upscale resort but being in edgartown makes everything upscale. The beds are a little small but the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Everything is walking distance from hotel and there is public transportation just a couple blocks away

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susannaa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We are repeat guests of the Harborside Inn, and were pleasantly surprised at the major renovations. All units have been renovated and they look nothing like the website, which I was informed is being updated. All rooms have new carpet, bedding, granite in the bathrooms etc. A must see property! The views are outstanding, and the housekeeping service is the most meticulous I have ever seen. We love this property because it is family friendly and non-smoking. So happy we were able to get a reservation in July! Cannot wait to return next year.

Room Tip: The streetside units on S Water St are much quieter than the streetside units on Dock St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airforcemom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We showed up and were initially shocked at how dingy the rooms were for the price. The printer didn't work, the ice machine was rusty, the doors were so sticky they required a body slam to open and close, and it was incredibly noisy. We also noticed the carpet was wet. We complained, they said it was just condensation from somebody's cooler and while they would move us, they recommended we stay in our current room because the alternative one was even louder. Turns out it was a leak, the room was completely moldy, but because they'd "offered to move us" on arrival, they denied that there was even a problem. In short, I would rather skip a vacation than stay here again. Avoid at any cost.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Revsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandjogger02, General Manager at Harborside Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We spoke with these guests numerous times during their stay with us. They booked two rooms, both facing the street side of the property. When they checked in they did not like one of the rooms, they claimed the rug was wet and the room was moldy. We told them that we had just completed a full renovation of our property which included all floors, carpets, wallcovering, furnishings and complete new baths and suggested they move to another room. They did not accept our offer to move. They were with us for three days and we talked to them daily about their unhappiness with the room and we offered to refund their money and they refused. After their third night, they checked out of one of their rooms and moved to another property(keeping the other room they had rented). At time of their departure, they asked us to give them a complete refund for the time spent here. We refunded the balance of their stay with no penalty for early departure but did not issue any return for the days that they used our facilities. We did nothing dishonest, in fact we stretched our rules to allow a refund for a reservation that was non-refundable. Obviously, they are unhappy and that is not something we like our guests to be, we take pride in our property and the way our guests are treated at Harborside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Picturesque property with a fantastic view out the front of the lighthouse. We stayed in the Mayhew Building which was adequate but less special. Pool was popular but unfortunately lacked a hot tub. Helpful concierge who arranged to have a bike delivered to the hotel. A very convenient place to stay in Edgartown.

Room Tip: Rent a bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kildonan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
312 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great location! Friendly staff, great job on flower beds. Expensive but worth it. Mix of time share clients and regular guests. Very social group. Soft beds, modern showers. I will stay again. First floor is ideal for families with small kids

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

By far the best place to stay in Edgartown. Property is located on Edgartown Harbor. All buildings have been redecorated and all new bedding in every room, bathrooms all new, very comfy and super clean. Love this place.

Room Tip: Harbor view is just beautiful. Takes my breath away each time I stay there. But all rooms are clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieVAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
935 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing