We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Vacation!”
Review of The Edgartown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Edgartown Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Memorable Vacation!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Edgartown Inn is a lovely B&B! My partner & I stayed here for 5 days in late August and were nothing less then charmed. The rooms are a perfect size and have a warm feel. The breakfast is delicious and the star really know how to make you feel at home. This was our first visit to MV and it deffinatly won't be our last and we plan on staying at The Edgartown Inn each visit!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Columbus Day weekend this year, and had an absolutely wonderful experience. We arrived a little early, and we able to check into our room ahead of schedule. The inn keeper was a sweet woman who took some time to explain the place to us, and told us just to let her know if there was anything we needed (hair dryer, wine glasses, extra towels, etc). The location is ideal - near shops, restaurants, bars, etc. The room was clean, bright, and really all we could have asked for. Next time we are back in Edgartown, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Was in town on business and was put up at the Inn. It's very basic and totally acceptable. Clean and friendly staff! The room I was provided had a shared bathroom which was not ideal as the bathroom and shower are separated individually from the room and located near an entrance that can be used by breakfast guests from 8am - 11am. However, it is priced appropriately in comparison to the other rooms. They do not accept credit cards and there is no WiFi. For business purposes it can be frustrating, but I was able to keep a connection for the most part from the Library next door.

The front porch is great to relax on and its an easy walk to the lighthouse and the main town. Also, the smell of the freshly baked coffee cake filled the air. It was also amazingly delicious.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brpack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived to a musty room and very damp feeling!!! the Innkeeper very snooty attitude... The main buiding charming the rest of the place a dump!!! No tv no phone never told about that! Wanted money uo front before even seeing the room! I would never stay there again thank God barely went back to room except to try and sleep; which was impossible! Loud at night walls paper thin and the stench; sneezed constantly!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank classfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I planned a vacation this year that included about 6 places to visit and wanted to make Marthas Vineyard one of the stops but in order to do that I had to watch my budget and was truly happy to find an affordable room at this establishment. It was clearly explaned to me right up front when making the reservation that I would be sharing the bathroom with an employee. I took the chance and booked the room.
When we got there we were greeted warmly and shown our room. It was a bit dated looking but was nice and very clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom was never an issue or a problem and was well worth it for the reasonable rate for the room.
They also serve breakfast there and have a few inside tables or you can sit under the trees in the courtyard and the gardens. The first morning I was there they had a spoecial of peach pancakes. They were the best pancakes I have ever had anywhere.
It was a great experience and when I get back to the Vineyard I will definately stay at this establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexter590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Have stayed at the Inn several times. Great location, clean & comfy. Charming place with large front porch for relaxing. No frills, but perfect for a getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Old fashioned but quite comfortable and a bargain in season. Very happy with the location, can walk to everything in Edgartown but far enough away from the main drag so it's not noisy. Was on the island for a business-related event, the inn is not set up for business but then again nothing much on the island is! Worked out because the inn is right next to the library, which has free Wifi & printing equipment. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat7104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgartown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgartown Inn

Property: The Edgartown Inn
Address: 56 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgartown Inn, one of Martha's Vineyard's most historical Inns, located in the heart of Edgartown, is a former whaling captains home built in the late 1700's. All rooms have private bath, air conditioning and come with continental breakfast that includes home made coffee cake and breads for toast, yoghurt, cereals, juice and coffee or tea. Free wifi and plenty of free parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgartown Hotel Edgartown
The Edgartown Inn MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing