We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WanderingBostonian review not fair!”
Review of The Edgartown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Edgartown Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WanderingBostonian review not fair!”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My husband and I stay at the Edgartown Inn every year and stay in the vary room the Wanderingbostonian stayed in. WE LOVE IT! Although its probably not for everyone, its very affordable and the reservation staff always have made it clear that you are sharing a public rest room. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is always helpful and welcoming. You can't help the street noise at the Inn as it is in town which makes it a great location. There are also rooms in the Main Inn that have private bath for a bit more but we like the affordability of the shared bath one. We love this place and encourage you to experience it for yourself. They really have something for everyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    22
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
35
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This is the worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in. We were in an outhouse next to a road leading to a ferry terminal; traffic began at 7am outside our window and lasted all day. Bed was uncomfortable and the carpet was moldy, not good for people with allergies or asthma.

Worst part of our very short stay was that we were told we would share a bathroom between 8-11am with one other person and restaurant guests, it was actually in effect a public bathroom used at all ours of the day and night, not at all pleasant or convenient...

Please save yourself the hassle and do not stay here - you have been warned!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingBostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We came to Edgartown inn after a few days on the island and were lucky to find nice clean rooms and an amazing staff always friendly and helpful.
We recommend this inn with the cozy porch and the relaxed atmosphere and most importantly the great location within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyarm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

A friend and I stayed at this wonderful old inn for just a night. We were lucky enough to have it recommended by the man who runs the shop where the bus lets you off and we were not disappointed. Granted we were lucky that the room on the top floor was available. It had an antique sofa wonderfully positioned that if they chopped a few branch off the tree across the street you could see the harbor.

The house is filled with antiques and the smell of the coffee cake baking for breakfast the next morning was a huge treat. The porch is beautiful with welcoming chairs and you could sink into at night. This is great find and not a boutique hotel. If you want that go elsewhere and pay more. But you can't beat the location and the charm.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The Edgartown Inn is the perfect place to stay on Martha's Vineyard. The rooms are clean and the location is perfect. You can walk every where, shops, restaurants, Edgartown Harbor and Edgartown Lighthouse. It's only a short drive or bike ride to South Beach! I would highly recommend it!

Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Just got back from a great stay at the Edgartown Inn. The location is perfect...2 blocks to everything in town but just out of town enough so it is somewhat quiet. The porch is the best part...filled with wicker chairs and loungers so you can relax and watch the world go by! It was one of the few places that had such a great porch. Our room was on the second floor and somewhat small and very basic. Bedding and shampoo/soaps are also very basic but you have everything you need. The breakfast is not included but a great value for 9.50. It is open to the public and a very busy spot. There is a lovely outdoor patio in the back where you are served or in the inside dining room. They give you towels and a sheet for the beach if you ask. It is very close to the bus stop where you can head out to anywhere on the island. I would stay in this inn again!

  • Liked — Location and the great front porch!
  • Disliked — small room...somewhat run down.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

The Edgartown Inn is a beautiful property, right in the heart of Edgartown. My husband and I stayed there for two nights for a wedding weekend, and as a result of the reviews, we specifically requested the third floor. Our experience was lovely. We were away from the hustle and bustle of people going on the first floor and the smells from the kitchen. We had ultimate privacy upstairs, and even our own small balcony overlooking the streets of Edgartown.

The Inn was quite pricey for the weekend, but people will pay it in Martha's Vineyard. It was nice, but typical for an old Inn: creeky floors, small shower, full bed. I'd stay there again, but only on the third floor. We walked in and saw two bedrooms right on the first floor. There is way too much commotion early in the morning to stay in those rooms, unless you are an early riser!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
935 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgartown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgartown Inn

Property: The Edgartown Inn
Address: 56 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgartown Inn, one of Martha's Vineyard's most historical Inns, located in the heart of Edgartown, is a former whaling captains home built in the late 1700's. All rooms have private bath, air conditioning and come with continental breakfast that includes home made coffee cake and breads for toast, yoghurt, cereals, juice and coffee or tea. Free wifi and plenty of free parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgartown Hotel Edgartown
The Edgartown Inn MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing