We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great atmosphere and view...but expensive.”

Atlantic Fish & Chop House
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Edgartown
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere and view...but expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I eat here probably 6X per year. The food is usually good but have had mixed experiences. The best meal I ever had there was the veal chop and some of the fresh seafood dishes. This is probably the best steak place on the island. Great views and upscale feel. Can be noisy during peak times but that is part of the vibe.. Expect to pay 100pp for a full meal with drinks but you can do dinner there for half that if you don't go wild.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    189
    85
    61
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food good but overpriced. Bad service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

$21.00 for cold dip and chips that we ordered as soon as the waiter came to the table but we didn't receive until one hour later when we asked what happened to the appetizer when he tried to deliver the entrée.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissKVL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

As our honeymoon was winding down, we wanted to spend one more night out on the town and we heard the Atlantic just opened up for the season.
We chose to sit out on the heated deck overlooking the water and the view was great. We were not in the mood to indulge in dinner but we still wanted to grab a small bite to eat and a few drinks.
My wife chose to get the caprese salad and I chose to order the sliders. Both of them were delicious. During this time, the waiter was engaging since we explained to him; we were in the mood for a light fare versus dinner. He did not pressure us at in ordering more than we wanted.
After a few more drinks we chose to order another appetizer (lobster mac n cheese) and that was very good. We took our time finishing up our beverages and paid.
Not once were we pressured in ordering additional food. The waiter was polite and courteous the entire time.
It was a great night out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chillaxin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Edgartown Staple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Atlantic is that in between casual fare and fine dining. It's basically fine dining in a casual environment. This is a large restaurant with inside and outside seating. 2 or more bars. They do not take reservations, you just show up. The food is good and well crafted. You can imagine the usual items that would be available but they always have some specials. The service was great, we had a great server. The location is right on the water (harbor). You can also find bands playing in the summer. It gets very bar type of scene as the night goes on.
I came in the late offseason and they were luckily open (late boat).
I will return for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhodyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went for a late dinner with a large group of friends on. Friday night. I feel the Atlantic staff did a fantastic job accommodating us. The food was great. There was a local band playing. We stayed for drinks and dancing afterwards. Lots of fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalisn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlantic Fish & Chop House also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Atlantic Fish & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing