We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...as far as it goes”

MacPhail's Corner Cafe
Ranked #37 of 66 Restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good...as far as it goes”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I enjoyed a few breakfasts at MacPhail's and they were very good. The choices, however, were pretty limited. That can be good or bad since what they make is good....I prefer that to more choices that are poorly made or inconsistent. It is also very small with limited seating so I would suggest taking your choices and heading outside, perhaps to the docks to watch the boats, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1TheSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
528 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our favourite place to buy and share a sandwich. Huge portions but delicious. Didn't try the coffee, wish we had as there was a good selection of Fair Trade coffees too. Friendly service. No complaints!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll...”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were in search of the best lobster roll in Edgartown, MA and we just found it in this small, corner cafe with only a few tables and chairs. The bun was toasted with the right amount of crunch....but not too much, the lobster serving was generous with large chunks of lobster meat, and the seasoning was just right...not too much mayo. As a lucky strike extra we also had a salad caprese with delicious tomatoes, excellent mozzarella and the balsamic vinaigrette was scrumptuous and rich. This was all a nice surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dweitzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monroe,CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our favorite find on the Vineyard”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My daughter and I just got back from our first trip to Martha's Vineyard and while wandering around Edgartown, stumbled upon MacPhail's, The first day we stopped in for a drink and a snack and found the place so good and so charming that we stopped back in again on our second afternoon, after sailing. The weather was rainy and chilly and the baked goods and coffee/chai lattes were perfect. Excellent location, fair-trade coffee, great service and great food and drinks. We'll certainly be back on our next trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best dark roast around”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We had coffee and tea, sat at s eindow and watched the world go by. The service was friendly and help full. Atmosphere was just what you would expect out of a coffee shop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flashwpb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacPhail's Corner Cafe also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to MacPhail's Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing