We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard fare”
Review of Vineyard Scoops

Vineyard Scoops
Ranked #5 of 5 Dessert in Edgartown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
320 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Standard fare”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I mean, you'd think Edgartown would have AMAZING ice cream or gelato - this was pretty average ice cream. I did like the peanut butter cookie dough and tried a few other samples but really, nothing special and I wouldn't have known it was homemade. The frozen yogurt wasn't very good either (the tart yogurt from pinkberry is way better). If you have to have ice cream, sure, but I was expecting something much more special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Surprisingly, there are not very many options for ice cream in Edgartown. I was looking for a soft serve twist but was disappointed that the only flavor they offered was chocolate. Instead, I opted for the slated caramel and my daughter had strawberry. $3.40 for one small ball of ice cream- literally 3 teaspoons - not even a cone. Yikes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5STARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not The Best I've Ever Had”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our family went there after eating at the blue canoe (very good) and we had told a friend of ours that we had planned on going to The Scoop Shack. And he said "Oh yeah, Scoops?" We just thought that was a nickname for The Scoop Shack. But only later did we find out that The Scoop
Shack and Scoops were two different places. The ice cream was ok, didn't seem homemade, seemed buyed from other companies. Well, at least we learned that The Scoop Shack and Scoops are two different places!!





  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skisterperson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ice Cream for Ice Cream Cake”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My cousin made an ice cream cake while we were on vacation and we got our ice cream here. It was fairly close to our rental and the person who took care of us was friendly and funny.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faztippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retiredJB
Level Contributor
352 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Creamy - there was no doubt it was homemade”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I had a wonderful Black Raspberry scoop of ice cream. The texture was unique and the flavor was wonderful. It was a great treat on a hot day. It is a small shop, so there are not many tables available. They had a large assortment of toppings, so you could really create a unique dessert for yourself.

There didn't appear to be any restrooms, but the Visitor Center on Church Street has restrooms. It's pretty close.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vineyard Scoops also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Vineyard Scoops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing