We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Edgartown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sydney
Ranked #9 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Edgartown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

The Fallon has it all! An immaculate and cozy inn (aka: boutique retreat) smack in the center of charming Edgartown, with a gracious host Carol who can't do enough for you. We were in love already, then discovered a top rated restaurant (l'etoile) in the building! The warmth between these separate businesses and attention to the guest experience made our visit memorable... we'll be back for sure. Thank you Carol!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvItaly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    15
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I booked our reservation and hoped for the best, as we had never been to the Island. Little did we know that we had the most beautiful, romantic, relaxing, and ever so accommodating place in town!! When we arrived, the welcome that we recieved was warm and made us feel at ease right away. The room was beautifully decorated and offered many amenities that no other Inn had offered us before. We loved that we were in the heart of Edgartown, not on the busy streets, but tucked back just perfectly. They even rented us bikes for the weekend so we didn't have to mess with any of the details. There is a cozy bar and restaurant on the first floor, which we loved, and the food was fantastic. A glass of wine on the huge patio was just what we needed. There are chairs on the front lawn beneath a huge oak tree, and we found that it was a great spot to enjoy a cup of coffee or tea in the morning. I really cannot say enough great things about the Fallon...it was absolutely perfect!! We're already looking at dates to set our next trip to stay there. Possibly our wedding...and maybe even a family reunion.

Room Tip: Every room is great, very romantinc and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carter3834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

If you are staying in Martha's Vineyard this is the place to stay. The location is in the heart
of edgartown but quiet enough to keep the charm of what the place is all about. The
staff is very nice and the accommodations were roomy, quaint and exceptionally clean. Definitely
recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petervacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Fallon is clean and cozy and does a great job of giving that charming coastal New England B&B feel. The two rooms we staid in were exceptionally clean and comfortable. We have already booked a return visit later this summer

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The innkeeper Carol greeted us with a hug instead of a handshake when we arrived at 9pm on Friday evening of memorial day weekend. The Inn is right in the heart of downtown Edgartown: 30 second walk to the water, restaurants, shops and the VTA (public bus which is great). My partner and I opted for one of the least expensive rooms (keeping in mind this is Edgartown, which is pricey.) We stayed in #8 (see pictures). Tiny room, but very clean. Comfortable bed, but you have to watch your head because of the ceiling. Wonderful jacuzzi tub, but keep in mind hand held shower. Small fridge, TV, beach towels provided. I could not hear any noise from the restaurant, but could hear noise from the street--the inn is located on one of the main streets which means it's right in the heart of the town, but also can get noisy. We closed the small bedroom window and turned on the bathroom fan to block noise. The inn has a beautiful porch where you can sit and have cocktails. There are also several adirondack chairs on the front lawn. Watch the shoppers, bikers and mopeders as they go by. On our last night there we ran into the inn keeper at one of the local restaurants; she graciously mentioned we did not have to rush our check out time the next morning. She also made suggestions for local nightlife and restaurants. At $225 a night for a room in the heart of Edgartown, I say great find.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmitch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Very cozy and clean. The bed provided a good nights sleep and the finishes of the room are very tasteful. The location is phenomenal. Anywhere you want to walk to is a short distance from the front door of The Fallon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan7708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

I was on MV for business and stayed for 3 nights. Couldn't have been more pleased. Rooms were clean and charming, parking in the back, and manager was friendly, conscientious, and very helpful. Yes, they don't serve breakfast, but it's really no big deal as there are plenty of options within a two-minute walk. My only complaint? Please allow dogs! :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnimalLover6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Sydney, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to add your review to TripAdvisor. Since we are the new kid on the block, it is through guests such as yourselves that we are able to make more people aware of what we have to offer.

I hope we see you again at The Fallon soon.

Regards,
Carol Beecher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#3 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sydney

Property: The Sydney
Address: 22 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sydney (formerly The Fallon), an intimately sized boutique Edgartown hotel. Completely renovated and refreshed in 2015, this chic jewel is located in the heart of Edgartown above the renowned l'etoile restaurant. Featuring 8 stylish Edgartown hotel accommodations, The Sydney is your key to an exclusive and relaxing Martha's Vineyard vacation. The name "Sydney" means "wide island south of the water" -- an ideal description of Martha's Vineyard. Our boutique Edgartown hotel is a small but distinctive fixture in central Edgartown -- a magnificent Victorian home built in 1892 by Captain Charles W. Fisher, with an intact lawn and lovely architectural details. That's why we call The Sydney a "small jewel on a wide isle." It's petite, chic and perfectly located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fallon Of Edgartown Hotel Edgartown
The Sydney Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing