We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small plates”
Review of Henry's Hotel Bar

Henry's Hotel Bar
Ranked #24 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good small plates”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

On the day of arrival we got a bit 'off schedule' in terms of meals, so the small plates in the bar were very welcome in place of a formal dinner. We shared a couple with cocktails in the late afternoon and my husband went down later to watch baseball and enjoy another after i wimped out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GardenPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, AL
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Waitstaff and Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a several meals at Henry's as we were attending a seminar at the Harbor View Hotel. Henry's serves very good food though it is expensive like most everything else is on Martha's Vineyard. Everything we tried was very good and having the option to sit out on the porch and watch the harbor was outstanding!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank auburn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our family has vacationed every summer for the past 30 years on Martha's Vineyard. For the past 5 years Henry's Bar at the Harborview Hotel has been one of our favorite restaurants for a great light meal in a great atmosphere. This year however was not the same. The new menu is very disappointing as it contains not much to pick from for a meal unless you are interested in Marrow, a cheese plate or other unappealing selections. About the only items that can be considered a meal are the burger or the sirloin steak. We did order the steamed clams one evening and found them to be very gritty and almost uneatable. We understand that the hotel has a new executive chef, he certainly does not understand what his patrons are looking for and does not impress many people.

It is too bad that the restaurants patrons are turned off, because the view of the harbor from the wrap around porch is fabulous and having a drink there is very relaxing. After enjoying a drink dinner in Henry's use to make the evening complete with a wonderful light meal. We only hope that the restaurant changes its menu so that so many of us who use to eat there will return. Until then Henry's is off the list for our family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

You can't go wrong. The food is excellent, service is even better. Best bartender I've had on the island Ben Connelly made me refreshing, delicious and borderline dangerous drinks I had never even heard of. The staff was courteous, Agnes the host was well informed of the menu and moved things along very smoothly. A must for anyone who wants to enjoy Edgartown just the way it was meant to be - with courtesy and indulgence in a beautiful and serene atmosphere. I can't thank them enough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theodore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So disappointing! Different chef, different menu, a totally different experience.”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We HAD been loyal fans of Henry's Hotel Bar as a mandatory spot for dinner during a visit to Martha's Vineyard. After our visit there this week, we are scratching Henry's off our go-to list of eateries on the Vineyard.

Henry's menu used to be filled with creative Small Plates, one better than the next which made for the ability to create a fabulous shared dinner of several different offerings.
Your choices now are:
- selecting a cheese tasting (which would be great at a wine bar -- which Henry's is not)
- six cold selections -- latest menu includes: a wildly overpriced skimpy salad of overdressed, over salted lettuce; pickles; olives; gazpacho, charcuterie; and lobster sliders
- several hot selections -- with a few expected items (e.g., clam chowder; burger) and some weird selections .... how about "Marrow with herbs, crisp caper, grilled bread and preserved lemon marmalade".

Unfortunately most of the typical selections have something unusual added -- e.g., the burger includes a fried egg which is appropriate for a Croque-Madame or perhaps a French cafe but a hotel bar? The chef also seems to have a particular fondness for flavored/gourmet salts and preserved lemon --- both of which are applied with a heavy hand.

We mentioned our disappointment with the new menu to the restaurant supervisor (and overheard two other tables of guests making similar remarks). The supervisor lamented that he has heard the same complaints from numerous diners since the new Executive Chef took over but that when he shares this information with him that "it goes in one ear and out the other."

The management at the Harbor View Hotel should take notice of the feedback. While the population of summer visitors may keep Henry's busy now and for the next two months, the negative impact to Henry's reputation and customer loyalty is tangible --- case in point: we typically would have dined at Henry's two or more times during a multi-day visit to the Vineyard. Our experience this week was more than enough to keep us away for the rest of this trip and our next visits to the Island as well until we get confirmation that the chef or the menu/approach has changed.

The Executive Chef may have won accolades for his restaurant menus while in Boston but he is not striking the right chord at Henry's.

P.S. The atmosphere was spoiled by multitudes of fruit flies which the restaurant supervisor said has been plaguing them for quite some time

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atlbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry's Hotel Bar also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Henry's Hotel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing