We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappointed....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Henry's Hotel Bar

Henry's Hotel Bar
Ranked #22 of 68 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never disappointed....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here many times. Whenever we bring family to MV we always make sure there is a stop here. For lunch or cocktails. The food we ordered was amazing. The Farmers Plate could make me a vegetarian again. And hubby's Bolognese was incredible. And we make our own pasta! And Ben at the
bar makes sure everything is alright :)!

Helpful?
Thank Mccardinalphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good small plates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

On the day of arrival we got a bit 'off schedule' in terms of meals, so the small plates in the bar were very welcome in place of a formal dinner. We shared a couple with cocktails in the late afternoon and my husband went down later to watch baseball and enjoy another after i wimped out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GardenPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Waitstaff and Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a several meals at Henry's as we were attending a seminar at the Harbor View Hotel. Henry's serves very good food though it is expensive like most everything else is on Martha's Vineyard. Everything we tried was very good and having the option to sit out on the porch and watch the harbor was outstanding!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank auburn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our family has vacationed every summer for the past 30 years on Martha's Vineyard. For the past 5 years Henry's Bar at the Harborview Hotel has been one of our favorite restaurants for a great light meal in a great atmosphere. This year however was not the same. The new menu is very disappointing as it contains not much to pick from for a meal unless you are interested in Marrow, a cheese plate or other unappealing selections. About the only items that can be considered a meal are the burger or the sirloin steak. We did order the steamed clams one evening and found them to be very gritty and almost uneatable. We understand that the hotel has a new executive chef, he certainly does not understand what his patrons are looking for and does not impress many people.

It is too bad that the restaurants patrons are turned off, because the view of the harbor from the wrap around porch is fabulous and having a drink there is very relaxing. After enjoying a drink dinner in Henry's use to make the evening complete with a wonderful light meal. We only hope that the restaurant changes its menu so that so many of us who use to eat there will return. Until then Henry's is off the list for our family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

You can't go wrong. The food is excellent, service is even better. Best bartender I've had on the island Ben Connelly made me refreshing, delicious and borderline dangerous drinks I had never even heard of. The staff was courteous, Agnes the host was well informed of the menu and moved things along very smoothly. A must for anyone who wants to enjoy Edgartown just the way it was meant to be - with courtesy and indulgence in a beautiful and serene atmosphere. I can't thank them enough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theodore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry's Hotel Bar also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Henry's Hotel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing