We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No longer a dining establishment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Sheep

Black Sheep
Ranked #30 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No longer a dining establishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I just spoke to the manager at the Black Sheep to make reservations at Trio for our upcoming trip to the island. She explained that they are no longer offering wine and cheese restaurant service at Trio, but instead are focusing on their cheese and prepared food offerings to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MotorCityMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
280 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Nothing to Dislike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I wish every seaside down had an option like this. In our humble opinion cheese is wonderful and they offer some beautiful varieties.
Perfect wine flights to sample new glasses. Write them down. After a few you will forget your favorite. We would go back for the flatbreads. I have a Swiss/Gouda allergy and they were kind enough about replacing one of our cheeses for another without a big deal.
The evening is beautiful to walk there no agenda and enjoy the unique space.
We will be back for sure!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TTTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great idea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

During the day, this is an upscale cheese, etc. shop. But on Thursday/Fri/Sat nights it becomes a little bistro, with candles, music, minimalistic style. There is a selection of cheese platters, but you can mix and match, a selection of charcuterie platters, but again you can interchange, and suggested flights (3 samples) of wine or beer to go with what you've chosen but you can also get it by the glass. The owner and our server (who I'm annoyed I can't remember her name because she was so good) were both very friendly and talked with us about the goings-on on the island. We had a great time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newyorktraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Memorable Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We hosted a late night party for friends and family who travelled to our daughter's wedding in Martha's Vineyard at this wine and cheese bistro. Mark took very good care of us in setting up a table where all our friends and family could gather up and enjoy each other's company. All our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the evening. The cheese and charcuterie plates were delicious and we could not have been more pleased with the service and the atmosphere. The Black Sheep and Trio is an easy walking distance a couple of blocks off of Main Street in Edgartown; another plus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Dinner at Trio = Fun Vineyard Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

At night, this cheese shop transforms into a cute wine bar that specializes in cheese, charcuterie, and wine flights. We loved our experience -- created our own cheese plate and charcuterie plates. There were so many great options it was hard to choose, but we managed! Also enjoyed a delicious flatbread with brie, arugula, and summer veggies. Friendly service, too. Overall a fun vacation dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzypinkbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sheep also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing