We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Nearby Hotels
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sydney(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelley House(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Christopher(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Hotel(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hob Knob(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pequot Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summercamp Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
562
87
29
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
87
29
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth beachgeneral storekids campping pongdunes restaurantkids clubactivity centerwest chopmartha's vineyardfire truck ridesshuttle servicepoolside grillclam cakesshuttle busshort walkfamily vacationocean view
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We had the best time at the Winnetu last September. The parent/toddler program was amazing! Our garden cottage was beautiful and it felt like we were the first people to stay there -- they are fairly new. It's in a perfect location - beach, charming airport with great restaurant and working farm a stones throw away. We loved the afternoon fire truck rides, boat ride to town for dinner and swimming in the pool in the late afternoon. This is a wonderful family resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladylucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is our third stay with The Winnetu over the course of several years. We are experienced and demanding travelers and The Winnetu has once again exceeded expectations. The resort is sophisticated without being snooty and family-friendly without being chaotic. The Winnetu offers something for everyone with its endless array of activities.

Guests may choose from a hotel style room or suite, condo or home to large enough to fit extended family & friends. The staff's hospitality is beyond compare. The facilities are in excellent condition offering island charm with modern luxury. A knowledgeable concierge is available to plan the perfect itinerary for every travelers' whim. The housekeeping staff goes above and beyond (they actually washed our dirty dishes!). The wonderful Lure restaurant offers a fine dining experience in a casual setting catering to adults and children alike. Finally, the resort's green approach is forward thinking to help protect the island's limited resources.

When we found The Winnetu many years ago, it was the only resort offering heated pools and easy beach access. That coupled with the rest of the resort's family-friendly amenities made the Winnetu the only spot we'd consider. We travel all the way to MV from CA and look forward to many more visits. We recommend the Winnetu without reservation.

Room Tip: The resort offers an extensive array of places to stay from hotel-style rooms and suites in The Winnetu Resort to condos and homes that can be rented from The Mattakesett, a sister property. Anyone visiting The Vineyard should be prepared for "island charm". There is no Four Seasons resort on the island so things are a little more rustic. That said, the Winnetu does a great job keeping its facilities clean, modern and in good condition. The resort rooms offer limited space so if you want more privacy, consider a home rental through The Mattakesett (but be aware that these private homes are not all equally maintained). The ocean-facing resort rooms will enjoy a nice breeze but have more hallway traffic as they are off a main passage. The pool-facing rooms will have less hallway traffic but more daytime noise from the pool below. None of this is bothersome if you consider that most guests are here to get outdoors and spend time with their families. Yes, the suites' front bedrooms are very close to the hall/passageway prohibiting you from raising the shades & opening windows if privacy is desired but it's my child's favorite place to sleep. The resort sets general rules regarding after-hours noise and most families have young children and are quite considerate about keeping their children quiet after hours. The AC was a bit unbalanced in our suite but the front desk quickly supplied us with a fan for additional cooling.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a great choice for families coming to MV . The kids club is from 9am-12pm with lots of planned family activities in the afternoons, also there's the evening kids program on certain nights from 5:30pm-9:30pm($25 per night). Our child went to the fire house and a barn for kids club. The restaurant on site, Lure, also has a section with a babysitter where kids can play while parents can dine at a table in the same section a few feet away. However, the food is, not surprisingly, expensive and of average quality. I have to say the setup is a huge factor in us choosing Winnetu so parents can relax and enjoy themselves as well. We got a king suite on the second floor which is very nicely decorated, charming and not too modern. There's a livingroom area with pull out beds for kids while parents sleep in the bedroom area separated by the bathroom. Also there's a nicely sized deck facing the pool. The pool is not very big so it's more for soaking and splashing around with kids, not for serious swimming. The resort is about a 10-15 minute walk from the beach on a foot path across the great lawn. The walk is manageable with kids but not good for strollers. The beach is beautiful, clean and not very crowded when we were there. The shuttle into Edgartown is a 10 minute ride but hard to catch on the way back. It is very crowded so get there early. On the way back we were told to wait by Scoops but the shuttle pulled up nowhere near it, we just happened to spot it. The shuttle is unreliable on the way back so be prepared to take a cab, which is about $10 back to Winnetu. What we did not like about our room were the bathroom and the screen door. The bathroom had a slight smell so the toilet bowl and the floor needs to be better cleaned. The screen door is ripped on the edges which is bad because there were a lot flying bugs around. The bedroom area faces the hallway with a heavy window treatment, which means if you want natural light then you'll have to sacrifice privacy, otherwise the bedroom section is constantly in darkness. Suggest management also install sheer shades to let light in. We have enjoyed ourselves would likely visit again next year because they made childcare very easy, but would choose something less expensive and in town once we no longer have childcare needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hc6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I have traveled to Martha's Vineyard many times in the past 8 years and have found that the Winnetu is undoubtedly its finest. Although I cannot speak of any other accommodation, the "West Chop King" is an exception suite of rooms consisting of a kind-bedded room with an en suite full bath, a full kitchen, a half bathroom and a living room. A unique wall unit houses a flat-screen television and a Murphy bed. Large sliders open to a comfortable deck facing south towards "South Beach", one of the most beautiful beaches on island. This resort offers a private path with direct beach access and provides towels and comfortable beach chairs along with an array of children's beach toys, all free of charge. A lovely pool is on the north side of our room with plenty of chairs and umbrellas, and a poolside grille offers casual dining options during the daytime hours. The Winnetu offers an array of activities Monday thru Saturday including tennis, a weight room, sunset boat rides and children's activities to name a few. You will want for NOTHING while at the Winnetu. Our room was recently renovated and is clean and comfortable. I have no negative comments but for the pesky mosquitos with which we New Englanders are accustomed to dealing and forgot to pack my repellant on this trip.

Room Tip: The West Chop King offers and a bath and a half. South facing rooms on the third floor are the most quiet, and the staff will make a diligent effort to accommodate couples without children for this very reason.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missri1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Gorgeous property; excellent location. Staff was amazing! We enjoyed the shuttle service into town every evening; drives were very friendly. We were referred to an excellent bicycle rental service that delivered and picked up bicycles at the resort, that is located very close to the path. Two negatives: Wi-fi was very slow, but it was good to disconnect and it is expensive, but it is Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3_mary_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews