We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experiences”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My family stayed at the Winnetu and we were hoping for a pleasant experience on Martha's Vineyard. We were traveling with another family and we were all very excited about our first trip to the island. We were pleased upon arrival due to the kind staff and intriguing grounds, but as soon as we got to the room, our hopes had vanished. Firstly, there were two adults and three children in our party and we were surprised to find only one bed in our cramped room. Later we figured out that there was a fold out couch and a fold out chair (which was not nearly adequate.) The beach was a long walk through tick infested forests. Both pools were small, freezing, and a man came every so often to turn on sprinklers which all kids and adults alike kept clear of. The other party and I considered ending our stay on the island and heading back to Boston for a night but decided there was no use as there was a no refund policy and we were paying over $800 a night. At all costs, stay away from this miserable place and consider Newport, Rhode Island as a replacement.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanthomp3, General Manager at Winnetu Oceanside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

This family booked with us in April for their August vacation. Like all our guests, this family received a very detailed description of their accommodation which includes the type of bedding and the square footage of the suite. This family signed a confirmation acknowledging that their reservation was accurate and that it included one queen bed, a queen sofa/bed and a pull-out chair/bed for a child. Nonetheless, I am quite disappointed to learn that they were not happy with their sleeping situation and wish they had brought it to our attention when they stayed with us last August.

There are ticks in the spring and summer all through the Northeastern United States. Generally they are not a problem unless people wander off the paths and walk into the brush or into the dune grasses. We clear and treat our paths regularly, including the 250 yard path from the resort to the beach. The 2013 season had the fewest reports of tick related guest issues in recent memory.

We do everything that we can to insure that all of our guests have a positive experience with us – one needs only to look at the many other overwhelmingly positive reviews posted here on Trip Advisor to see that we succeed in that regard far more often than we don’t – so the negative aspects of this review are quite upsetting to our entire team here at the Winnetu.

Since reading this review, I have tried numerous times to reach this family by telephone and will continue to do so. I would encourage them to contact me if they are reading this, my email is: gm@winnetu.com and my phone number is: 508-627-4747, extension 1600.

- Dan Scully, General Manager - Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Winnetu Oceanside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel while exploring Marthas Vineyard.
Pros
-Clean
-Exceptional service
- Nice walk to the beach
-Placement on the island. The hotel is right on south beach. (5 min walk)
Cons
-Placement on the island. The excitement of Edgartown is 10-15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our room was beautiful and spacious. It was a very kid friendly resort even though we went so late in the season.The staff was so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We have never been more relaxed in our lives and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriegirly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We just celebrated our friend`s wedding at the resort. It was absolutely amazing!!!The staff was super friendly and our suite was fantastic.Our room was comfortable, clean and nicely furnished with a view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband spent our 15th wedding anniversary at the Winnetu and we can't say enough good things about our whole experience. We loved our room which was on the 2nd fl and had a ocean view. The breakfast which was included was great! The staff was wonderful. They brought a bottle of Champagne to the room which we enjoyed out on our balcony. Tim really went above and beyond by offering us the use the hotel's car for the day!! We will definitely be back! Great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erincol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had occasion to spend 3 days over Columbus day weekend at this wonderful resort. The suite would have been perfect for a longer stay with a full-kitchen, sitting area and two very comfortable bedrooms. However, we dind't take advantage of the kitchen and chose to experience the resort dining room and local restaurants instead!

The wait staff was friendly and attentive and the food in the Lure Grill was delicious.

We also enjoyed the warm October weather and the spectacular views and sunsets from our balcony.
While we were not there with children, it was obvious that there are many activities for families with children.
Definitelly would like to return in-season! South Beach, just a few steps away, looked very appealing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvrbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Winnetu off-season was amazing! We enjoyed the very warm October weather and had a wonderful swim in the pool! The view from our room looking out over South Beach was gorgeous (as was the sunset). Every one of the staff who we met was terrific...from the housekeepers to the front desk, the restaurant personnel, the shuttle driver....There is plenty to do (or "not to do" if you just want to sit and relax!). The shuttle gets you into town on less than 10 minutes (for shopping or eating) or you can eat at the restaurant on site. Breakfast on the patio is wonderful, as are the fresh cooked eggs. Winnetu seems to be a great family resort...there were a few families with young kids there. Not an inexpensive resort, but try it off season if you can, as it is a bit less then.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
8.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
814 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
980 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
618 reviews
7.6 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
22.1 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 54 air-conditioned studios and suites and one and two-bedroom cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Two-Island Adventure Trip to our sister Resort on Nantucket, The Nantucket Hotel. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale restaurant, The Dunes located on-site. Resort open mid-April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing