We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but a great experience!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Ma
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey, but a great experience!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I do not mind paying for high quality. I was skeptical that the price tag for a three-night stay at the Winnetu was really worth it. When we arrived, we were met be a very personable staff who took care of anything we could have ever wanted. The grounds were immaculate, the rooms well appointed, and the front desk and concierge engaging. Immediately upon arriving I knew that we had made the right choice for our first family vacation (and first to MV) with our 8 month old.

The resort caters to families but maintains a high end status worthy of the price. They did not blink when we arrived with the baby and went above an beyond to ensure she had everything she could need. The location turned out to be great (we brought our car), near the beaches and downtown Edgartown. Even without a vehicle, the Edgartown shuttles run frequently. If not for a baby in tow, we would have utilized the shuttle and really enjoyed ourselves. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    84
    28
    17
    9
See reviews for
385
169
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife, daughter (2yrs. old) and I booked a 4 night stay at the Winnetu on Martha's Vineyard. It was our first time at this resort. Our room was on the first floor with a view of the expansive lawn. The room(s) had every amenity; a refrigerator, 2 burner stove, sink, dishwasher, dishes, flatware, pots and pans, 2 flatscreen tvs, dvd player, Wifi (more on that later), hair drier, iron and ironing board, beach towels and Winnetu brand toiletries. The decor was classic Cape Cod beach house style; white-washed floors, beadboard, sisal rugs and nautical motifs.
The grounds had a pool, a large lawn for outdoor activities, tennis courts, a large outdoor chess set, foosball and ping-pong table and of course a gift shop.
Breakfast was available through their small general store, lunch at their poolside grill and dinner at the Lure Restaurant. We ate at all 3 locations. Lunch at the outdoor grill was very nice, with various sandwiches, burgers and paninis. Lure restaurant had delicious appetizers and seafood entrees and even a place for your kids to play while you eat dinner.
The staff is super friendly and very accommodating. Always a "good morning" and a "hello" around the resort. The staff is great with kids as the resort is geared towards vacationing families. There are many activities; from yoga, tennis instruction and spa comforts as well as activities for kids scheduled through the day. Making "Smores" was one of our favorites!
One of the reasons we chose this location for vacation, was for the beach. Fabulous South Beach was a short stroll down a beach path. Edgartown is a 5 minute ride by car/bus. Everything is accessible by bike or if you prefer, the resort provided a shuttle van to locations around the island.
If there was one negative, the Wifi connection was horrible for users of older Apple products, like iPad 1 and 2 or iPhone 5. My wife's new MacBookPro connected without problem...go figure. I did bring it to management's attention, they said they were having recent problems with the Wifi. Hopefully they will get it fixed.
All in all, a wonderful place for family to do many things or nothing at all. I highly recommend everyone stay at this resort at least once. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: There are 3 floors. Our room was on the 1st floor. Occasionally heard noise in the room above ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kportfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location is perfect (just off South Beach), the accommodations were great, the staff was super-friendly and helpful, and both the food and service in the Lure Lounge were as good as we had anywhere else on the island. The townhouses have everything you need, including Wifi (the Wifi was surprisingly strong). What's especially wonderful are the family services, including a camp for the kids every morning until noon (except Sundays), and even a room for kids with a counselor on duty in the restaurant. After the first day of camp, all of our kids were excitedly asking when they could go back. It gives all of the adults a nice break in the morning, and isn't that what vacation is about? This was our second season vacationing at the Winnetu, and we plan to return each summer for the foreseeable future. Truly, a great find!

Room Tip: We like townhouses nearer the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Winnetu Resort is a one of a kind. Since 2012, it is now a family tradition of ours to go for vacation at the Winnetu and, year after year, not only does the Winnetu live up to our expectations, it even surpasses them. It is a great place for the whole family and with so many things to do and see on the premises. Everything is made to make our stay as relaxing, easy and fun as possible. The service is amazing, the suites are beautiful, well equipped and clean. A true 5 star resort with a human touch!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to love this place. Many of the staff were wonderful, including all the guys running the shuttle service.

However, we had several disappointments that would cause us not to return:

1. This is the nosiest building/hotel I have ever stayed in. If a neighbor so much as opens a balcony door, you hear it loudly.
If you are not on the top floor, be warned. We were on the second floor and did not get much sleep at all because of this.

2.More alarming is the fact that there is no one working on or with the resort after 11pm. We tried to call the front desk to get help with the noise from the floor above around 12:30am, and the front desk was closed. There was an option to be transferred to "after hours service" and it did not work. We looked up the "after hours" number in the directory and called directly and it said the number was disconnected. I'm really glad there wasn't a serious emergency as I am not sure how something like that would be handled.

3. Smoke- our room was non smoking, as I imagine all of them were. However, every time the AC would turn on, we would smell cigarette smoke very intensely.

4. WIFI- the wifi doesn't work anywhere on the property that I was able to find.

5. Restaurant- the food at the Lure was very mediocre. There is a deck area but they are not allowed to serve food or drinks there and we were told it was due to a liability issue? The bar and restaurant all close at 10:30pm which seems a bit early.

Overall, it seemed to have good programs for children, and the resort is very pretty. Many of the staff were nice and accommodating. However, for the price, there are simply way too many issues to justify.
I would recommend choosing the Harbor View in Edgartown instead.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank rolltide7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorttraveler44, General Manager at Winnetu Oceanside Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are quite disappointed that these guests did not have a better experience with us. I have already called them and left a message as I would like to speak to them personally.

This couple came from Tennessee and as they had traveled a great distance they received a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view one bedroom suite with an outside deck; they were upgraded from the studio that they initially booked. They stayed with us July 3-6 over the busiest holiday weekend of the year.

Regarding the resort being noisy, we are primarily a family resort in the summertime – that is the reason we post “Quiet Time” hours of 9pm to 9am all throughout the resort.
It was Saturday night of that weekend when the guests complained of excessive noise. This was the night of the holiday fireworks in Edgartown which had been postponed from the previous evening due to Tropical Storm Arthur passing by far out in the ocean. This is really the only weekend of the season when noise levels like this occur past 9pm.

It is true that we did not staff the front desk after midnight during this guest’s stay. However, there are two employees always living on our property. If the front desk is called after hours there is an auto transfer option built into the greeting that will transfer the caller directly to the emergency number. I have verified that our emergency number is active, that the transfer option is functioning, and that the emergency number listed in the in-room guest directory and on any in-room signage is correct. It may be possible that the number was not functioning that evening due to something storm related but we have no record of any disruption in service that weekend.

We are indeed a non-smoking resort. Signs are posted in the rooms to this effect. There is one designated smoking area with ashtrays near the front parking lot to which any smokers are directed. We learned of a guest smoking in a neighboring room which was what caused the smoke smells in this reviewer’s room. As soon as we found out about it we directed the offending guest to stop, monitored the room more closely, and assessed them with a significant cleaning fee.

Wireless Internet Access: we are always trying to refine our resort’s wireless system. We just did a major overhaul of the system on June 30th. We are proud that we have solar powered wireless access throughout the resort; it even has a battery backup so that guests will have access if the power goes out. We do sometimes find the occasional dead spot; guest questions and comments are important in helping us eliminate those. On rare occasions, wireless access problems are due to guests not understanding the best wireless point to access – and we can do better with that. I was just in this reviewer’s room and used my iPad Mini to access two different signals, both of which allowed me to stream video in both rooms of the suite. I am not aware that this guest reported any wifi issues during their stay; had they done so, we may have been able to avoid this issue for them. Perhaps when I get the opportunity to speak with this guest I will learn of a unique problem with a particular kind of mobile device that will help us improve our wifi offering even further.

Lastly, I would like to clarify the comment about why we do not serve on our restaurant deck. It is not a liability issue. It is because we are located in a residential area – we are privileged to be the only hotel located at South Beach so we try to make a great effort to be good neighbors. In this case, we have agreed to not serve food or drink out on the restaurant deck. It is important to note though that guests can bring food and drinks out onto the deck on their own – we even provide a takeout window for that purpose that opens onto the deck.

I look forward to speaking with “rolltide7” about their Winnetu experience in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,
Dan Scully

General Manager
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just returned from our first trip to the Winnetu and my husband and I have already chosen our dates for next year's trip. Words cannot possibly do this resort justice, but suffice it to say that we could not have been happier with our decision to stay at this incredibly unique and welcoming place on our first trip to Martha's Vineyard, and we were so happy with our experience that we have decided to make it an annual trip. The Winnetu reminded me of what I always imagined "Kellerman's" would have been like from Dirty Dancing - although much more upscale. I am kind of amazed that places like this really exist. We traveled with our four year old son, and he fell in love with the kids programs, both day and evening. The staff at the kids' center went above and beyond. The resort is very different from the urban, five star type hotel that some may expect given the price point - thus perhaps the reason why not all reviews are 5 stars. But in our opinion that is precisely what makes the experience so unique and outstanding. The staff is not "classically" trained, nor are they formal or overly polished, but they are incredibly genuine, compassionate, caring, and hard working. Nothing about the resort is formal or what some may think of as "luxurious" as compared to resorts in the major cities or Hawaii, but there is not one creature comfort missing - from beach chairs, to a drying rack on the deck, to water bottles for the beach and a rubber ducky for the tub. Housekeeping surpassed any I have seen at such places as the Mandarin, Four Seasons, etc. and the overall service at the resort was outstanding. By the end of our relatively short stay the GM Dan, the Concierge Tim, and the majority of the front desk and kids' camp staff knew us and our son by name. The resort is small enough that even in the space of less than a week we also got to know some of the other guests staying at the resort, and by the clambake on Wednesday night it felt like an extended family. We will miss the Winnetu and I am sure that we will think of it often until we return again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in an east chop king on the 2nd floor so had both a peek at the ocean and a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newenglander99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently returned to the Winnetu after some years away from MV (we live in California), this time bringing our two girls 9 and 7. It's clear the ownership has continued to invest a great deal in this beautiful property. The rooms are updated and the restaurant is very good (one of our best meals on the island). But the real highlights remain what they've always been - the location, yes, but more so the amazing staff. Mark and Gwenn clearly run and infuse this place w. a special sense of family, and you can tell from each and every interaction with the staff that they care about the customer experience. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners while we were there, and they took special care to attend to our slightest need. It truly is a beautiful escape from it all. We would not stay anywhere else on the island. Our kids absolutely loved it and there is an amazing number of activities and games to keep them busy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
8.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
799 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
7.6 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.6 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Property: Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 54 air-conditioned studios and suites and one and two-bedroom cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Two-Island Adventure Trip to our sister Resort on Nantucket, The Nantucket Hotel. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale restaurant, The Dunes located on-site. Resort open mid-April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing