We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2010

stayed with our 2 and 4 year old. service was excellent and friendly. accommodations were not luxurious, but clean and upscale. kids program was great and our son couldn't wait to go everyday. the beach is a bit of a walk with little ones, so I would either drive or ask to take the shuttle. south beach is beautiful, and edgartown is a quaint town. we are already planning for a return trip in august.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayraypak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

My fiance and I had researched many New England/New York beach vacations, including Boston, Martha's Vineyard and the Hamptons and finally settled on the Winnetu at Martha's Vineyard for our 2010 beach vacation. We were so pleased with our choice! Upon arrival in Martha's Vineyard by ferry, we took a taxi from Oak Bluffs to the Winnetu - a $23 trip. That's an extremely fair taxi fare from the ferry pier to the Winnetu - we used Stagecoach Taxi.

Upon arrival, Karen at the front desk advised us that our room was not yet ready, but she offered to hold our luggage in the secured closet until our room was available while we went into town for lunch. Karen also suggested some restaurants for us to look into and placed us on the next complimentary shuttle ride into town. The Winnetu offers a complimentary shuttle service from the resort into downtown Edgartown every hour. I will say one of the biggest frustrations of our trip was that we weren't clear on where and how often the shuttle picked-up from and ran. However, upon our return, Karen explained the shuttle route and clarified any questions we had. The shuttle only leaves the resort once an hour until 7:30pm, when it begins running every half-hour. It would be nice if it ran more frequently, but in the peak season, the bus service does run more often than it did when we were there, which is also a viable transportation option to anywhere on the island.

We were checked into our West Chop Suite, which was exactly as advertised, nearly an hour early. The room was extremely clean and for two folks who have traveled rather extensively, we both would compare it to the cleanliness of a 4-star hotel (Embassy or Marriott). We were even more surprised to learn that the Winnetu provided complimentary beach chairs for our use. We were thinking we would have to rent them, but they were already on our deck for our use.

The walk to the beach is about 250-yards through a "winding" nature path and yes, it is not paved, but get over it folks -- in three minutes on the path, you are on the cleanest and best beach in the Vineyard. The waves of the Atlantic were great and we spent several hours each day on the beach, just like we had planned.

We did not take advantage of any of the activities the hotel offered us. We were there pretty much for our own agenda and didn't want to be scheduled into activities.

The food at the Lure Grill was excellent. We both had a cheeseburger with fries and it was incredible! The bartenders, Lisa and Ellayne, were friendly and offered great advice on the island attractions and what was "must sees". Lisa is also well-known for her speciality drink recipes, which you will only find at the Winnetu.

The pizza take-out, which we tried one night, was a little disappointing, but was still a nice option for a night in. The pizza quality could best be compared to that of a CiCi's pizza - definitely nothing gourmet, but at reasonable prices as well.

I would recommend anyone give the Winnetu a try. The biggest virtue of anyone staying here is patience -- if you expect instantaneous service, you will not get it here nor anywhere else on the island. This is not the Ritz-Carlton, but a well-run, privately-owned resort. As long as you have the time to enjoy the Vineyard experience, I would highly recommed the Winnetu and Martha's Vineyard. If you are in a hurry, go to NY or Boston for your vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWWFranklinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We just returned from a 4 day trip from Winnetu. To beat the crowd, we went a little early this summer and got a great deal (1 night free with 2 nights stay.) However, we were a little disapponted that many of the family activities, such as the complimentary water taxi or family BBQ/clambake, won't start until after the promotion is over.

Our kids had a lot of fun at the afternoon antique fire truck ride and we saw many kids participating in the day time free kids programs and the youth counsellors were very engaging and fun.

The location of the resort is fantastic, walking distance to the South Beach. The property itself had a lot of activities like tennis, yoga, turtle feeding. However, it is a bit far (5-6 minute drive) from Edgartown center and the complimentary van to towncenter only runs hourly.

We also had some problem with our AC unit in our room but the front desk quickly delivered a window unit.

Main complaint is the presence of mosquitoes in the elevator, flies in our room, etc. Our kids were bitten by mosquitos. Not sure if this is common at Martha's Vineyard in general but would recommend the hotel do something about insect control.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyman60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Our family had a truly enjoyable time at this resort!! The location and grounds are stunning and the endless supply of activities for the kids are brilliant! I was initially hesitant to book this property as it is a bit on the pricy side with lodging for a family of five but after staying here, it was money well spent!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dididb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed this past Memorial Day. This is a very nice place to stay on Martha's Vineyard. We were a little disappointed in the restaurant. We ate there for breakfast, but would never eat there again. The breakfast buffet was very limited and we had to ask for someone to make us eggs. It took a while for a cook to come out and cook our eggs. For dinner, kids eat separate from the parents. Some parents may think this is great, but I personally like to eat with my daughters. Overall, still a good place to stay on the vineyard.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gljohnsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The resort is so serene and peaceful. If you are looking to be in the midst of busy-ness, then this is not the place for you. It is so relaxing. Our rooms led out to a big patio that overlooked the beautifully manicured lawn and the pond, where we had our coffee every morning. There is a trail that leads you to the beach. They have a heated pool, life size chess board, and other things to keep you busy. The hotel also offers daily activities for adults and children. The restaurant/bar area is very nice and has a great view of the ocean. Everyone was so friendly. We loved KirkPatrick. He was just wonderful. Jordan, the guy in the gift shop was so friendly, as well. I just can't say enough about this resort. We did not want to leave. It is nestled away from all the hustle of the city center and Oaks Bluff -which is also a really neat town, but it is still convenient to most places. The only complaint I would have is the walls were very thin in our bathroom. I think it is because it was an adjoining room to our suite and the bathrooms were next to each other. I could hear everything that went on in our neighbors bathroom. I don't think the other bathroom had that problem, though. But, that was a small complaint compared to the greatness of everything else. Would definitely recommend!!! This was on my step mom's bucket list and she couldn't have been happier to have chosen this resort to add to her experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeLee7576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This was our first trip to the Vineyard and though my husband and I were initially looking to stay right in Edgartown at an Inn. We are so happy that we chose the Winnetu Resort. From the attention to detail and informative emails leading up to our stay to our personalized transportation to and from the ferry - we cannot wait to return. The resort is just a 5 minute cab ride to Edgartown and we even rented bikes that were delivered right to the property which we also rode (appx. 20 minutes, 3 miles) into town. On a daily basis the resort also provides a free shuttle to town so you are never without transportation. The property is just beautiful and the pictures online do not do it justice. We did go during off season and this resort is extremely family friendly so for those that are looking for some quite time, depending on when you go just know that it may be a bit noisy at times. The bar and restaurant are top notch and Lisa the bartender makes some really fun and innovative drinks. The beach stretches for miles and is just a short walk from the property. We cannot say enough good things about this resort - we appreciated the attention to detail and all of the amenities that it provided (pool, ping pong, mini store, library with games and books etc.) Finally, the staff is extremely helpful in suggesting area eateries and things to do which was extremely helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
8.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
7.6 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
145 reviews
22.1 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 54 air-conditioned studios and suites and one and two-bedroom cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Two-Island Adventure Trip to our sister Resort on Nantucket, The Nantucket Hotel. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale restaurant, The Dunes located on-site. Resort open mid-April through late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing