We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful beach!”
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
290 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

South Beach is the best beach on MV that is easily accessible. There is lots of parking though you often need to park far away if you don't get there early. The kids love the waves and the sand is great. It does get crowded but it's long and you never feel crunched! It's a must visit for MV in the summer!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    92
    22
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“South Beach in Edgartown MA”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have been to South Beach numerous times over the years. We keep going back so we must really like it. The water is warm compared to what you would find further north at Hampton NH or York Beach ME. There isn't anything but the beach at South Beach, so if you are a beach person, for that in itself you will enjoy stretching out a chair, opening a good book and getting lost in the breeze and the sounds of the large rolling waves. The only reason I did not give it an excellent is because the one downside in the dead of summer is everyone else wants to enjoy the beach too. Parking can be a little difficult and the beach can be a little crowded. However if you go in late June or early September it is wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commonwealth of MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“South Beach, Edgartown, MA”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Undoubtedly, one of the nicest free ocean beaches with free parking we have ever been to. The vineyard has numerous beaches but most cost $$ or are residents only. This is totally free. Beware, it gets crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcseltzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Easton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A must see”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Beach is beautiful and clean - ideal for sunbathing, swimming, walking. A must see when in MV. We visit this beach each time we're in MV. The only thing I wish it had were bathrooms; changing areas are provided, but no bath. But worth visiting regardless.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were there off-season when dogs can run on the beach so we had a great time. It is a huge expanse of beach, shelling isn't great but we enjoyed walking with the dog and enjoying the last days of summer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank newyorktraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Beach also viewed

Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing