We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of The Port Hunter

The Port Hunter
Ranked #5 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Chester, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were skeptical about the Port Hunter but were pleasantly surprised by the food and the staff. Overall a good experience. My only complaint is the noise level. It's pretty loud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyinct2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    72
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Port Hunter offers an interesting menu, great atmosphere and lively vibe on Martha's Vineyard.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Port Hunter occupies a great space on Main Street in Edgartown - high ceilings, lots of brick and old wood and a long bar with canvas upholstered stools. The soundtrack was uptempo with a mix of good rock spanning several decades but never getting stuck in a time warp!

The menu is eclectic and offers some different choices than what is typically found on the Cape and Islands. Our waiter was good natured and unobtrusive, but always seemed to be there when needed.

The food was good but not great as it could have been. The heirloom tomato salad suffered from a small quantity of the main ingredient, and the tomatoes themselves were not at peak texture or flavor - which is probably to be expected late in the season. The zucchini patties were ok but lacked flavor.

That said, the pros outweigh the cons and we would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Service leaves much to be desired”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great atmosphere in downtown Edgartown - rustic, urban vibe, but it is understaffed. Getting a drink takes at least 20 minutes, whether going to bar or at tables. Drinks are very good once you do get one, but to get this to be a 5 bubble rating, the service needs to be significantly improved.

Also, great bands frequent here on weekends.

Recommend if you only one drink the whole evening :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lauragp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oct Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We walked in and sat at the bar for a late lunch. Very nice feel, simple decor, open, comfortable, good energy. Talented musician playing acoustical reggae music in background. We ordered chicken wings and fresh vegetable salad off menu, both excellently prepared and simple. An enjoyable experience all around. Slightly pricey, but it's Edgartown.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Batch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The atmosphere in Port Hunter is very relaxed and rustic with a lot of brick and a great looking bar. Very nice ambiance! Our food was good but not great. We shared a farm salad which was good but really pricey. We chose it at the last minute, not really looking at the price and it was not worth the $18 price tag. My husband had the burger with a fried egg on top. He really liked it but would have appreciated being able to substitute fries for something else. No substitutions! I had the zucchini cakes which did not look freshly made but rather something out of a box from the freezer. They didn’t have too much taste but were okay. Our server was very personable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChestnutPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port Hunter also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Port Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing