We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great times”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Port Hunter

The Port Hunter
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, great times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Tuesday night, Grateful Dread, best band on the island! Salads are great here, staff is too. Tuna "sunny side up" - original and delicious. Fish and chips is just okay. Reservations are hard to come by in high season. Fun place, cool people, good eats.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    67
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The food was so great the first time we went back again. The service is great, sailing atmosphere, and interesting seafood selections.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgartown
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Tried to go in with a party of 5 at 8pm on a weekend and was told that it was impossible to seat for the whole night. No wait time even given. Rude hostess- I think she said her name was Haley? Wouldn't recommend to anyone with more than 2 people apparently.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vineyarder86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newburyport
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tried something new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This restaurant has been retail space for years, it is now a great funky restaurant which is perfect for the space. Big bar, brick walls nice atmosphere. I tried the vegetable bowl which was wonderful, my husband had the fluke which was fried but. Nice and light and flakey. Service was great. Prices for MV reasonable. Would highly recommend you try this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank needlepointer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good foods and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Looking for local seafood we came across this eatery in the centre of Edgartown. Attracted by the ambiance we asked for a table for 2 and at 7pm secured the last one available - outside where 4 tables for2 were available. Service was helpful and the menu offered a good choice. Our waiter explained that their fish was very fresh so we opted for flounder and mussels - both delicious. Opposite is a good ice cream parlour so we decanted across the road rather than opting for one of the 3 desserts on offer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port Hunter also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Port Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing