We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best”

The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$60
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: MVTA Church Street / Downtown Edgartown
Marion, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went to The Terrace last night, and it is still the best in Edgartown. We always feel that we are visiting a friend's home rather than a restaurant. The food is always excellent and the setting is still by far the most beautiful and elegant in the Vineyard. It was slow with only a few couples, which was typical for a mid-March winter evening, and this made it even more quiet and wonderful than usual. The staff is very attentive and friendly and make you feel at home in theirs. The bread is baked on site and was a great start. The cranberry bread was the favorite with fresh baked, crisp crust. We had the chicken and the pasta dishes and both were perfect. We topped it off with a wonderful chocolate dessert and coffee in the Green Room by the fire surrounded by fine antiques and oil paintings. Our winter troubles seemed to melt away. It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WPMarionCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    15
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful winter night”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The winter is one of those times on the Vineyard where you can enjoy the quality of a terrific place but the absolute quiet of winter. This was our first time at the Terrace and we will return. Everything was perfect. An incredibly nice inn with a great dinner. The lamb was outstanding, and everything else about dinner was very good. Service was friendly and while the prices are not inexpensive, fine dining in Edgartown is pricey. This was arguably the best meal we had during our week away in Edgartown. We will come back again for what we thought was excellent food and service beyond our expectations!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomNB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Went there New Year's Eve...I know, I should have known better...but this place was so highly recommended that I was shocked when I was served a large piece of fatty meat that was suppose to be an end cut of Prime Rib. An adjustment was made to the bill when I just about embarrassed the staff into doing such. I believe that this institution has seen much days and is still thriving on the beautiful décor and mirage of what was perhaps once a wonderful restaurant.

George L.
King of Prussia, PA

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and i go there for Christmas eve, the last two years we love this place, the servers are amazing and the whole place is beautiful. If you want a great evening go to the Terrace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a delightful setting complimented by warm service”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The vibrant, young, Culinary Institute trained team: Executive chef, sous chef, bakery chef and restaurant manager, provided a meal to remember in a setting that is a feast for the eyes. My vegetable risotto was perhaps the best I've ever eaten - and the Hudson Valley foie gras chosen by my husband was perfectly prepared to melt in the mouth. Likewise our choices of NE lamb and diver scallops were both exquisite and generously proportioned. We were warmly greeted on entering the hotel and restaurant service was likewise attentive, warm and not intrusive. For the quality of the food, we found the prices reasonable, especially given prevailing rates on the island. This meal made our 4 day visit to the island - we'd definitely rate it 'worth a special trip'.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing