We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grab a window seat and relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafood Shanty

Seafood Shanty
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Join us for delicious dining on the beautiful Edgartown Harbor.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grab a window seat and relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We dined here for lunch after a bike ride from Oak Bluffs. The weather was nice enough to sit outside but we opted for a nice table near the window perfect for watching the boats and passersby. We had a light lunch - clam chowder and salmon rolls from the sushi menu. The chowder was filling and fresh-tasting with chunks of clams. The sushi was fresh with a hint of spice. Service was friendly and the atmosphere was comfortable and quiet during our visit. I'll return for the chowder and more on my next visit to MV.

Helpful?
Thank Tweepahdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    395
    182
    51
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I have been going to the Shanty for well over 10 years and always have a good experience. The food is not the best on the island however the drinks are cold, views are great and the service is good. A great spot for meeting up with friends and having a drink and light fare.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BirdieMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
293 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Top Deck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Upon arriving in Edgartown this was my first dinner, my favorite spot in previous years is as good as ever. This was the first of two visits while in Edgartown for the Fourth of July. If you want a view of Edgartown Harbor, head for the upstairs deck. From there you can see the On Time Chappy ferry, the sailboats in the harbor and experience a welcome breeze.

The menu has seafood items but I felt like a chicken burger with fries. I told my personable server Cameron I was really hungry. My diet Coke came immediately and in five minutes my open-faced chicken burger with lettuce, tomato and melted cheese appeared with long plentiful fries. The entire meal was luscious. Really appreciated the free refills on Coke, too. Yup, the Seafood Shanty is Top Deck for food, service and view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PanoramaPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great view with good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This restaurant has good views of the harbor, especially if seated on the balconies. The clam chowder was great! The Cesar salad and Greek salad were as expected. They had tasty rolls and the service was efficient and pleasant. I would recommend for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were on the Vineyard for 4th of July weekend & had a fantastic time at the Shanty! We were there for the fireworks and had great cocktails and unbeatable service. Two servers who called themselves, "Damzen" were a riot with their outrageous outfits and fun personalities. What a true experience! We will definitely go back for the sunset, food, and a delicious cocktail.

Helpful?
Thank Larry11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafood Shanty also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Seafood Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing