We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst most disgusting place to eat on Martha's Vineyard!”
Review of China House

China House
Ranked #54 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst most disgusting place to eat on Martha's Vineyard!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

First of all the photo above is not the china house instead you will walk in to outdated vaneer coated sticky furniture no AC or ventilation. The food is awful over cooked chicken inedible and rancid vegetables and sauce. The place is very dirty and no paper towels in the bathroom. The egg rolls are stale and the fried rice has no flavor! The worst part is the service! Or lack thereof. If the server isn't reading magazines or the paper don't dare interior her! And even worse font complain of leave no tip or a small tip! She will run after you and chase you requesting her tip! If you complain they have a no replacement no refund policy! For real. They have given us incomplete orders and been lazy about giving plates sauces special dietary requests they just don't want to work or think the customer is right they don't want to be bothered with quality to make my point most islanders get Chinese off island and do not go there if that tells you anything! You are better off going anywhere else it is so rare for a place to be this bad on island! Don't take your kids there its dirty. There are flies everywhere and it's not a clean place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwise629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent food with reasonable price.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The food is excellent and the prices are reasonable for the vineyard. The customer service was great and I would Definately come back. We ordered teriyaki beef sticks,veg lo mein and general Tao chicken and it was delicious especially the beef sticks. Good quality beef and heavenly sauce. Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Pretty good for Island Chinese”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

With the closing of the Vineyard Haven Chinese Restauant, our choices on-island for Chinese food are down to just two. While I wouldn't say this is award-worthy, this is pretty good Chinese at a reasonable price. (Well, reasonable for the Vineyard.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I am a year round resident on Martha's vineyard and have seen this restraunt decline and the lady who runs the counter has no customer service skills. Food is nothing great either. If I could I would rate this business zero stars I would.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineyard02575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Give it a chance!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

My advice is to ask for exactly what you want!! They are very accommodating should you have any dietary restrictions. Everything Ive ever ordered is fresh! I love the steamed dumplings, and steamed chicken & broccol! I could live on their broccoli!!!!! It's my local takeout venue, and I appreciate their consistency and good value!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illtakebreadandwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China House also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing