We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, bad food”
Review of The Dunes

The Dunes
Ranked #35 of 69 Restaurants in Edgartown
Price range: US$19 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a memorable, casual, and relaxed dining experience with a scenic ocean view at The Dunes (formerly Lure restaurant). We're located at South Beach, in Edgartown, at the Winnetu Oceanside Resort - away from the bustling crowds. Our Executive Chef creates high-quality, New American and seafood cuisine, inspired by local, seasonal, and sustainable ingredients. The Dunes is ideal for a special romantic dinner, yet friendly enough for the entire family. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and light bites in our lounge or savor your meal and drinks on our fabulous, outdoor deck - complete with a fire pit and ocean view. Take our complimentary, spectacular water taxi cruise from Edgartown directly to The Dunes, in-season. We offer plenty of free parking and can accommodate weddings, corporate meetings, and special events. In-season, we also offer a complimentary "Kids' Corner." Once your children are through with their meals, drop them off in our supervised Program and our counselors will entertain them with myriad activities - while you enjoy dessert or a cocktail on our deck. Open mid-April through late October. A Breakfast Buffet is also offered in the off-season.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great view, bad food”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The good first: this place has a great view and the service is friendly and enthusiastic. Unfortunately, the food is not good. The lobster pot pie is so rich it's hard to get down and they can't make a good burger. Ok, it's the Vineyard and we should all be eating seafood, but if you put a burger on your menu, you should be able to make a good burger. The food sat in all our stomachs like rocks all night long. There's better food to be had on the Vineyard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    21
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous family party”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The view was spectacular, the service extremely friendly and accommodating, and the food delicious and plentiful. There is something good for everyone on the menu. (including a fun kids menu. My adult son said it was the best meal he'd had in ages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginnie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cos Cob, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun for a special occasion”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We took the boat here from Edgartown with my in-laws and teenage daughters. My husband drove our car to the restaurant so we could return at our own pace. The boat ride was very nice because we saw houses that you couldn't see from the road. When we reached the dock, there was a trolly waiting to drive us the three more minutes to the restaurant. Obviously, it's faster to drive. The food was good, although the service was quite slow. It's quite expensive. We chose this place as our last meal together, after renting a house for the week.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Organized10580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would get 31/2 stars if I could”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good atmosphere and service. Food is good if you stick to traditional (i.e. steak,chicken, fish,etc,)
But canneloni was poor. Over the 50+ years I have lived in Edgartown, I have tried almost all island restaurants. While not bad, there are better resaurants available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stopped in the Lure for dinner. I loved the feel of the restaurant. The grounds were beautiful! The restaurant was busy. The service throughout the meal was perfect! It was a great warm up or the meal! I ordered a petite filet. It came with seasonal vegetables and a double baked potato. Everything was perfect!!!! We managed to share several desserts. We just couldn't say no! The cream brûlée was just the way you like it! The chocolate torte melted in your mouth!!! Everything was just perfect at the Lure! It was a meal to remember !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyRMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dunes also viewed

 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing