We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lightkeepers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lightkeepers Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in mid September for a few nights to celebrate our anniversary and found the Lightkeepers Inn to be charming, spotless and very quiet all while also being very convenient- , within 2 blocks of Main street restaurants, shops and an easy walk to the MV Bus station for access to the whole island. This is an excellent value in a perfect location in Edgartown
Unit has a full kitchen with all amenities in place- some units enjoy a private deck .
Innkeepers are friendly and attentive.
We would highly recommend The Lightkeepers Inn for your stay in Marthas Vineyard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meyer1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary the 1st weekend in November. We stayed in the Light Keepers Cottage. It is separate from the main house. There was plenty of room. It was perfect. We had our own private deck and a decent size fenced in backyard with a grill. The cottage was clean and had everything you would need, plus some amenities you would not think of such has beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella etc. Check in is off site so you need to let them know when you will be arriving and they will come and meet you. It is a very short walk to Main Street, shopping and restaurants. When planning an off season trip keep in mind a lot of shops, eateries and sites are closed. There is still plenty open and there are no crowds, so it is a trade off. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back in the future!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ohwell159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Easton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the second time this past summer and loved it just as much as the first. The Inn is perfectly situated on a quiet side street in Edgartown that is within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, a walking pebbly-beach etc. You can't get a better location! The property is well maintained, very clean, and so charming! Our suite was perfectly sized for two; complete with small kitchen and eating area, living room with TV and side door out to the patio, the bedroom and bath are separate from living area for privacy; it's just perfect. Robes and beach towels were available as well...a real nice touch! We plan to stay here again next summer and hope to make this a yearly tradition.
Thank you Lightkeepers Inn for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

While I have been to Martha's Vineyard numerous times, this is my first time to stay at this delightful Inn. I took a friend visiting from the midwest and booked the cottage of this Inn. It was very clean and met every expectation I have of an inn and more. The manager met us in our cottage and showed us around as well as gave us recommendations for dining and sightseeing.
The cottage was impeccable and very spacious. It also afforded privacy and parking.
The location was central to everything and within walking distance to shopping and dining.
I would highly recommend this inn to anyone planning to visit Martha's Vineyard.

Room Tip: Every room seem to have a private entrance so any room should be good. I chose the cottage because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We chose Lightkeepers based on other TA reviews and it was well advised !!! We celebrated our anniversary and they had chocolates and champagne waiting for us as a sweet surprise. A manager met us at the cottage [we missed the info to arrive at the business office, so we showed up in front of the cottage via taxi from ferry] with smiles and as much advice as we could think to ask for regarding our first visit to MV. This cottage made us feel like we had our own home in the village. Insanely close to walk to everything. The street is one way and never seemed to have a car on it. We brought two daughters and they had a comfey fold up bed and blowup sleeper sofa to choose from [finally, a sleeper sofa you want to sleep on]. The decor was more luxurious than we expected. Worth the price of lodging. Fine, high end toiletries and a kitchen with tea, coffee and hot chocolate [needed even in July]. The manager made us feel like we had a reliable contact for any questions, she was so kind and all of her recommendations turned out to be successful. We would stay here again, soon - I hope !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage, the suites are in the main house. All seem excellent and private options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Lightkeepers Inn and even changed our itinerary around (as it was pretty booked out) because we particularly wanted to stay in the cottage which was just gorgeous. We were very comfortable and loved the spacious living area and bedroom. The good sized kitchen and the bathroom were well equipped and very clean. We loved the décor and various touches, such as the doormat, the mural painting and the unique dinnerware – which all added to the MV charm of the cottage.

The outdoor deck was great as well – we had variable weather but managed to spend one afternoon soaking up the sun and enjoying some local Smoked Bluefish spread from Larsen’s. The cottage is separate to the main house and has a car-park space next to it which was handy (rented a Mustang - lots of fun - through AA Rental who were good to deal with). Heidi, the Innkeeper, her husband Joe and all her team were very friendly and helpful.

We caught the bus several times and the stop (and Visitor’s Centre) is nearby to the Inn. Also the Inn is perfectly located, within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants (liked Newes on America – good atmosphere). We also really enjoyed freshly cooked lobster and shucked oysters at Larsen’s Fish Market in Menemsha (a great food experience - eating outside on the dock, watching the sun go down.)

We loved our stay at the Lightkeepers Inn and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
Level Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was recommended this inn by my friend who sells real estate in Edgartown, I figured she would know where to stay....we called and had a pleasant experience on the phone with the Inn keeper and she explained the differences in the suites and what the amenities were....so we decided based on the location and excellent pricing to make a reservation. We arrived at the Inn last week on Simpson Lane, the room was spacious and lovely...a canopied bed, a separate living room with full kitchen(full sized frig, microwave, stove, etc. dishes you name it..) a nice screen tv, a living room with couch bed and a dining room...wow...what a generously sized room for such a reasonable rate..literally two blocks from the main street. We have been going to Martha's Vineyard for 40 years plus and usually staying with family but this was so lovely and perfect I had to review it....Highly recommend a must stay...!!!! do not miss out on this terrific place in every way

Room Tip: anything at Lightkeepers Inn will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susannaa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#3 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightkeepers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightkeepers Inn

Property: The Lightkeepers Inn
Address: 25 Simpsons Ln, PO Box 488, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lightkeepers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lightkeepers Inn is nestled in the heart of historic Edgartown and is within walking distance to Lighthouse Beach and Edgartown Harbor, and just steps away from fine boutiques, galleries, restaurants, movies and parks that line the charming village streets. The Lightkeepers Inn is comprised of a private cottage and five suites. Each suite has a bedroom and a second room that has dining, living and kitchen areas. Complimentary on site parking and wireless high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Lightkeepers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lightkeepers Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing