We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of The Charlotte Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Charlotte Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Strage experience. You arrive and you are impress with the art, the rooms, the surroundings and the overall feel to the place.
Then you begin to understand that the antiques are not only on the walls but actually the owners who have not evolved....the service, the rules , the willingness to help is quite old fashioned in terms of standards. No cell phone, no noise, no talking out loud, in summary the attitude was dont have fun as it may disturb the others...seriously....get real! at the price we pay we expect the service to be circa 2011, as well as the attitute.
In summary great first impression and then its all downhill.
Have a great day.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDC888, Guest Relations Manager at The Charlotte Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
This group seemed very happy and satisfied – and was outwardly complimentary - for the first 3 days of their stay; only after being asked on their fourth night to not play guitar and all sing loudly after 11pm directly outside another (sleeping) guest’s room did they voice any "concerns" whatsoever. They also suggested they had more friends en-route, to join their party, after midnight. Sorry that we had to interrupt the late-night festivities, but in maintaining a quiet and peaceful atmosphere for all of our guests this activity was not appropriate at The Charlotte Inn. We would welcome these guests again for a more restful and relaxing stay absent of the late night sing-along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    9
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
84
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stay at great hotels worldwide and this hotel delivered on every level. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. Lovely rooms and great food. The location off 100 meters from the main street is also perfect as you are a walk away from all the Edgartown shopping and dining ut yet on quiet side street. Four night of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

You won't be disappointed by the rooms or the elegant public spaces, but the inn's attitude towards serving its customers nees to be updated. It's fine for the decor to be "traditional", but the attitude towards service should not. No computer for the staff to use.....really?? They had to call directory assistance to get phone numbers of places to set-up a massage appointment.....no one else who has stayed there has ever had a massage? In fact they weren't even aware of all the possible places to go to. We asked about kayak trips at Felix Neck which is owned by Mass Audubon....and they were totally unfamiliar with it, really??? The level of service should match the cost of the rooms...unfortunately I did not feel welcome and would most likely not stay there again. That being said, the younger staff members were very accomodating and wonderful to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lmasood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Charlotte Inn is simply stunning. Such a beautiful place! The hotel is like a museum of fine arts. Everywhere you look, there are wonderful paintings, elegant furniture, lovely gardens and and patios… If you are looking for peace and tranquillity, there’s no better place than The Charlotte Inn. The gorgeous restaurant serves delicious Italian cuisine, and if the weather’s nice, you can enjoy your breakfast outside surrounded by flowers. We’ll definitely be back!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I spent 4 days at The Charlotte Inn in Edgartown Mass. The service, ambiance, food and rooms are luxurious. In fact, Paula and Gery provide a crystal decantur filled with Sherry for guests to enjoy and relax in their rooms in the evening. The grounds at The Charlotte Inn are immaculate, private and relaxing like The Ritz in Paris. Paula and Gery have trained their staff to pamper all the guests. Our time at The Charlotte Inn was wonderful and we will return to create another memory.

Room Tip: Our quiet corner room faced the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My husband and I discovered the Charlotte Inn fourteen years ago on our honeymoon and since then, we have tried to get back to the Inn as much as possible. Any room is lovely and you will not be disappointed with your choice. The service is EXCELLENT from check-in to check-out. We have never had any problems in that way. The front desk is very straight forward taking reservations and nothing is left to chance. The owners Gary and Paula could not be nicer. They are very mindful of their guests and see to every detail to ensure that your experience is wonderful. And the Inn itself?! As I stated, if this was heaven, I would be at home and extremely happy. Thank you Gary, Paula and Staff for making our experiences at the Charlotte Inn a time of joy, rest and renewal. See you this June!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The Charlotte Inn is a beautiful quaint place to stay. The hotel is in a side street some 300 yards from the sea so it is a slightly unusual location for a prestigious hotel. The rooms fulfill its promise of being a like a beautiful english country house. Its spotlessly clean, elegant, tastefully furnished and extremely well maintained. The staff generally were very helpful.

Edgartown is a lovely location with great restaurants, beaches, and wonderfully New England houses.

Our only reservation is that the hotel markets itself on 'being behind the times on purpose'. This may be great marketing but in practice it did have issues for us. We do not want to stay in the hotel room to watch TV but we did expect a better tv than a 20 year old 17 inch portable. The clock/radio/ music player was similar age and quality. Similarly, the reception staff were lovely but not knowledeable. This is ok if you have wifi and the internet in the hotel when you can be resourceful and find out info for yourself. The hotel deliberately prides itself on not having these things, so you could not get simple anwers to questions like 'what times does the ferry go to...? etc'. We found this a bit frustrating and frankly slightly ridiculous.

Anyway a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
935 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlotte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlotte Inn

Property: The Charlotte Inn
Address: 27 S Summer St, PO Box 1056, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed as one of the "Top 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler's 2012 Travel Guide and a long-standing member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux small luxury hotel group, The Charlotte Inn is settled just a half block off Main Street and two blocks from the harbor-front in downtown Edgartown. Among 4 buildings are 17 guest rooms and 2 suites individually decorated with fine antiques in a wonderful English garden setting. The Charlotte Inn provides guests with what we consider the "ultimate luxury" - a glimpse back in time to a more peaceful and restful frame of mind. A visit to The Charlotte Inn - from an overnight or a week vacation - is an opportunity to escape from the hectic, rushed, technology and gadget driven daily routine and enjoy the simpler things life has to offer. With all that Martha's Vineyard has to enjoy as your daily playground - from beaching, boating, fishing, and sightseeing, to fine dining and shopping, to simply strolling along the historic whaling captain’s home lined streets along the harbor and down to the lighthouse, The Charlotte Inn offers our guests a relaxing home away from home to retreat to and an opportunity to cherish life's simpler times. Whether iced-tea on the porch with a good book, chatting with friends and fellow guests on a garden terrace, or enjoying a glass of wine by the fire with your companion in cooler weather, we hope that our guests embrace the opportunity to join us in the experience we work so hard to provide - a getaway from the stress and pressures of today’s fast-paced lifestyle and a chance to enjoy a peaceful reprieve in an atmosphere that is the perfect combination of elegance, luxury and comfort. Nothing satisfies us more than to provide our guests with this experience, and to watch them enjoy, unwind and cherish their time spent at The Charlotte Inn in the way that we prefer and as our adage suggests - "Behind The Times on Purpose". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Charlotte Hotel Edgartown
Charlotte Inn Marthas Vineyard
The Charlotte Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing