We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably one of loveliest hotels we have had pleasure to stay in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charlotte Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgartown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Charlotte Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Probably one of loveliest hotels we have had pleasure to stay in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our visit was rescheduled from last year due to Hurricane Sandy. The website doesn't do this gorgeous gem justice. If you love art and antiques you can't miss this place it's a joy to be surrounded by such beautiful things and so kind of owners to want to share them. Stacey our hostess one evening was charming and her cheese recommendations outstanding ( and we love cheese) . Evening meal was deliciously local and fresh and breakfast was also very good.
Transport yourself back in time and stay in one of Paula's beautiful bedrooms

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    9
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
82
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Charlotte Inn came highly recommended by my friends who lived on or regularly visited Martha's Vineyard, and it far surpassed my expectations. The Inn is nestled on a quiet street that embodies New England charm. The grounds were immaculate, with terraces filled with blooming flowers, and trees and trellises offering just the right mix of sun and shade. The lobby was filled with stunning oil paintings (there is a gallery next door), rare books and all sorts of antique pieces. The collection could probably fill a museum, but I felt like I was just in someone's well-appointed home. I stayed in a "standard" room in the Coach House, but it was anything but standard. A beautiful antique sofa faced the fireplace, below a bookshelf filled with books that were printed over a century ago. On the mantle was a decanter filled with excellent brandy and two snifters. There was a silver mirror and hairbrush on the dresser. The attention to detail in the furnishings went far beyond anything I had ever seen or expected--it really was unforgettable. The half canopy bed was very comfortable. The staff was welcoming and friendly, very attentive, and provided the excellent service you would expect from a premier luxury hotel. Overall, I can see why my friends recommended the Inn, and I would recommend it to anyone. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTrav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed in Boston for 5 nights but decided to fly to Martha's Vineyard for 1 of them.

Booked the inn based on reviews and it exceeded our expectations. It is not like anywhere else I have ever stayed. Our room, No 17, appeared to have freshly decorated and beautifully furnished with antiques, not my usual taste, but done so well. Very comfortable.

The whole place is spotless, the dusting alone must be a massive job. The collection of pictures and items in the buildings is exceptional, just wandering around looking at them all is fascinating!

Breakfast was served in a wooden panel room and was excellent! The owners were away but everyone working there is really friendly and welcoming and happy to help with anything.

The gardens are immaculate and pleasure to sit in and wander around.

This Inn is worth a trip on its own without the rest of the island which is also delightful. We were sorry to leave and we will definitely be back. When we do we will return it to The Charlotte Inn.

I wish I could give it a 6!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent three nights in the Coach House Suite this past weekend and it couldn't have been more perfect. The inn keepers and owners were nothing but cordial, friendly and helpful. The grounds are private and beautiful, the stunning Terrace Restaurant 5 stars dinner/breakfast, location is great. Honestly can't say enough, will absolutely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5peasinapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is a wonderful inn for a quiet romantic retreat on Martha's Vineyard. The location is excellent - downtown Edgarton, and the gardens and sitting rooms are exquisite. Children under 16 are not allowed so it is very quiet. Each room is decorated with antiques and the innkeepers are just wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomertraveller1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We recently spent a fall weekend at the Charlotte Inn so I could introduce my favorite island to my significant other. I have stayed at the Inn before but never in the fall. It was a lovely and cozy weekend and I was amazed at how beautiful the grounds looked even without the flowers and greenery one enjoys in the spring and summer. The room was gorgeous- each room we stay in is like a new trip back in time. The Inn's owners were incredibly helpful as always- helping with reservations for golf and dinner! We had a chance to taste some yummy food prepared by the new chef for their new restaurant, The Terrace. So happy there is now fabulous food to match the fabulous accommodations so we can just stay on property and truly relax. That is the best part of this place- how calming and relaxing it truly is. You will not find a more lovely environment and a more accommodating staff to take care of you. A perfect place for a type A person like me to unwind. Can't wait to go back again and again!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Words cannot describe the beauty and warmth of The Charlotte Inn. The only thing that surpasses the warmth of the inn is the warmth of the innkeepers, Gary and Paula. Carol, the hostess, was equally as warm and made sure we were well take care of. There is no other place on the island and few in North America that come close to matching the style, attention to detail, and hospitality that this inn offers. A warning though; you will have tears in your eyes when it's time to say, "good-bye."

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylane_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#3 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlotte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlotte Inn

Property: The Charlotte Inn
Address: 27 S Summer St, PO Box 1056, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed as one of the "Top 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler's 2012 Travel Guide and a long-standing member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux small luxury hotel group, The Charlotte Inn is settled just a half block off Main Street and two blocks from the harbor-front in downtown Edgartown. Among 4 buildings are 17 guest rooms and 2 suites individually decorated with fine antiques in a wonderful English garden setting. The Charlotte Inn provides guests with what we consider the "ultimate luxury" - a glimpse back in time to a more peaceful and restful frame of mind. A visit to The Charlotte Inn - from an overnight or a week vacation - is an opportunity to escape from the hectic, rushed, technology and gadget driven daily routine and enjoy the simpler things life has to offer. With all that Martha's Vineyard has to enjoy as your daily playground - from beaching, boating, fishing, and sightseeing, to fine dining and shopping, to simply strolling along the historic whaling captain’s home lined streets along the harbor and down to the lighthouse, The Charlotte Inn offers our guests a relaxing home away from home to retreat to and an opportunity to cherish life's simpler times. Whether iced-tea on the porch with a good book, chatting with friends and fellow guests on a garden terrace, or enjoying a glass of wine by the fire with your companion in cooler weather, we hope that our guests embrace the opportunity to join us in the experience we work so hard to provide - a getaway from the stress and pressures of today’s fast-paced lifestyle and a chance to enjoy a peaceful reprieve in an atmosphere that is the perfect combination of elegance, luxury and comfort. Nothing satisfies us more than to provide our guests with this experience, and to watch them enjoy, unwind and cherish their time spent at The Charlotte Inn in the way that we prefer and as our adage suggests - "Behind The Times on Purpose". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Charlotte Hotel Edgartown
Charlotte Inn Marthas Vineyard
The Charlotte Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing