We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We chose this hotel based on previous reviews and were not disappointed.
A perfect location, a short walk from town and on the main road into Edgartown.
We found the staff pleasant and helpful.
The restaurant next door (The Grill) is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jab58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    63
    17
    7
    13
See reviews for
44
43
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

After canceling a lease at a dumpty cottage we were fortunate to get a room for three nights at the Clarion. While a bit pricing the room was immaculate and the beds were comfortable. We then moved into town to the Kelley House which was in a better location but also a bit more expensive. Can't go wrong staying at the Clarion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I went to the Vineyard in early June for a fishing charter. I was looking for an inexpensive room and I was hoping for pre-season rates. I was disappointed in this regard, as the room was about double what I'd expect to pay in other locales. However, everything on Martha's Vineyard costs more, so I wasn't too surprised.

The room was clean and comfortable, and offered a small fridge, a microwave, and a coffee pot. The bed was great and it was quiet at night. I was pleased with my stay even though the Vineyard prices were higher than I'm used to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Everywhere was booked on the island and made a reservation here but I never made it to the hotel because of how poor the costumer service was. when i made the reservation i was told i could cancel up to the day of, i got the confirmation email and see there is a 14 day cancellation policy. not what i am told. breakfast is included with your stay but i have a soy and dairy allergy, along with being a Celiac so no gluten. I email about accommodating these medically imposed dietary restrictions and am told that my reservation is now canceled. My husband emails and the manager says oh i am sorry about the confusion but there is a stop and shop across the st, help yourself. wow! you could discount the rate or try in the smallest bit to do something. a simple cup of coffee and a plain egg omelet would have cured it, i didn't ask for an 7 course gourmet meal. i emailed corporate and went elsewhere. i can't imagine what my actual stay would have been had i stayed there!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexanadram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edgartown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Very clean. I stayed in room 113 one night and 204 the next. Both were fine, although both had the mushy pillows that I don't like. I didn't ask them it they had other pillows they could have given me though. The staff was extremely nice, courteous and helpful. The hotel has washer and dryer facilities that guests can use, free continental breakfast and a computer for guests to use. No fitness facilities, but you can get a good workout by just walking around the area. No room service, but the hotel is attached to (and has a separate entrance to) a restaurant that you can call and order takeout. No elevator, so I had to bump my suitcase up to the 2nd floor!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAnnBrynMawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My wife and I stayed overnight Saturday on a quick trip to the island. Room was just what we needed: clean, large, reasonably priced and accepted one night booking. My wife liked the large bathroom counter. Ask for a room on the 2nd floor (no elevator) because rooms have vaulted ceilings with the design of this 2 story hotel. Made the room even more spacious and bright. Free continental breakfast had the basics - good for a quick start to the day. Definitely would stay again - if my wife was pleased then they certainly did a good job for us. Also we found a great restaurant for dinner just down the street (The Square Rigger) - popular with the locals. I'd highly recommend it over the tourist restaurants in Edgartown center.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfmBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I came to Martha's Vineyard with my wife for her birthday. The Staff at the Clarion was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were real nice and very clean. It was great to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. It came in handy. Hotel was a great value. I am coming back to the Island for work and will make sure I stay at the Clarion.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
959 reviews
4.8 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Property: Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Address: 227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-5927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn in a quaint old whaling port, the Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard offers 34 LARGE modern rooms, each recently refurbished and appointed with full bath, king- or queen-size beds, cable TV with HBO, radio, telephone, microwave, refrigerator and air conditioning. Including Free: parking, continental breakfast, business center and faxes, high speed internet access wireless. On-site restaurant: The Grille on Main. Open year round. Located in Edgartown - the most elegant of the Vineyards six picturesque towns. As a guest of the Clarion Martha's Vineyard, you are uniquely positioned to enjoy all of Martha's Vineyard. Situated in Edgartown's business district, we are within walking distance of Edgartown's historic village center. From June to September the VTA makes regular stops in front of the hotel and then trundles onward toward the village and famed South Beach. A bike path connects us to the village, beaches, and the other island towns. In addition, our front desk can assist you with other island activities such as golf, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, bird watching, or where to see the perfect Vineyard Sunset. We look forward to making your trip to Martha's Vineyard an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Carriage House Hotel Edgartown
Clarion Edgartown
Edgartown Clarion
Clarion Carriage Hotel
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard Edgartown, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing