We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I must admit I am a bit particular when it comes to lodging, but Vineyard Square surpassed every expectation. The staff was friendly, accommodating and efficient. Our room was charming and positively immaculate. i enjoyed the variety of fresh breads, muffins, mini quiches, etc for the continental breakfast before heading out on the bikes which available to guests. The one drawback was something the hotel has no control over- the early morning arrival of trash or delivery trucks which were a bit noisy. i would absolutely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We greatly appreciate your review and thoughts. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time and found everything to be charming and immaculate. It's also nice to hear that you liked our new breakfast baked goods. Our team member, Jody is quite the baker! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to The Vineyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first trip to the Vineyard and we were very happy with the Vineyard square hotel. They went above and beyond to help. All the people working the front desk were very helpful. Wes helped us by suggesting a place for dinner and making the reservations for us! He also gave us Chillmark Chocolate when he realized that we did have the time to take the trip to the shop. The rooms were exceptional. The beds were the most comfortable that I have ever experienced anywhere. It was also nice being in the center of everything; close to shops, restaurants and the trolly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot that you appreciated the thoughtfulness of our staff (Wes is a sweetie!) and that you had such a great night's sleep on our comfy new beds. It is a great feeling to be part of a guest's first experience of Martha's Vineyard. We are so pleased that we could make this magical island even more special for you. Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I would like to start by saying what a great experience that I had from booking to check out. Emma, Wes, & Nina were fabulous with helping us with making reservations, questions, just anything! The renovations have made this just a lovely boutique-type hotel. The "continental breakfast" was wonderful. Yes, it was continental, but I put it in quotes because it was the best continental I've had. Fresh quiches, muffins, coffee cakes baked each morning! Our double room was one of the cute little layouts with the beds not next to each other, but one tucked away in a little nook. Refrigerator, iron, hair dryer, in room. No coffee pot though. The new air conditioning systems in the rooms were great! Easy to program with the remote, directional fan, etc, so that it wasn't blowing on your head at night. The beds were dreamy! (pun intended!)
The hotel has that old world charm, but clean & with new fixtures. My friend & I stayed on the upper balcony of the hotel with a bottle of wine looking at the marvelous views & talking throughout the evening. Bikes were included so Emma & Wes made sure they were waiting on us right on time.There is not elevator to the 3rd & 4th floor, so make sure to take note when staying there. We were in room 406, next to what we called the "Harry Potter" stairs. The only reason the hotel didn't get and excellent was only due to the squeaky wooden flooring in the halls up on the 4th & that everything is very close together so you could hear anything in those hallways, including the drunk girl pounding on the door of her boyfriend's room! lol.
We had a fun visit & would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If they put you on the fourth floor, definitely ask for a room away from the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for your review and thoughts. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our continental breakfast, new AC units and wonderful staff. We appreciate that creaky stairs can be a bit noisy at times, but our hotel is over 100 years old so we do what we can! We hope you do come back and join us again on the island whenever you have a chance to get away again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I can't say enough nice things about the Vineyard Square hotel. My husband and 13 year old daughter and I stayed for three nights and just picked this hotel rather blindly just off the internet. Boy, did we luck out! The hotel is freshly renovated, clean and as modern as can be without losing the historic "charm". It was a perfect location for exploring the whole island... the Church Street central bus stop is about 2 quick blocks walk away and the buses were a great way to see everything. The room was very large and bright and immaculately clean. The only minor issue we had was that there was not a second mirror anywhere in the room (only in the bathroom) so with three of us trying to get ready, including one teenage girl, we were sort of all over each other trying to use the one mirror. Add a second mirror and this room would have been beyond perfect for us. Yes, there is no elevator and the floors are a bit creaky, but to me that is all part of the charm of this place. If you are looking for a Marriott, you probably shouldn't be on the island anyway. I must also mention the fabulous staff... Joanne Sardini, the manager, couldn't have been any friendlier or more helpful. Audrey at the front desk was super friendly and helpful as well. There were bikes to borrow (although we didn't get to use them much as our daughter had a "boot" cast on her foot) and beach towels, chairs and umbrellas to use. Breakfast was a lovely continental spread with fresh baked treats, cereal, yogurt and a few warm selections as well. We felt like family by the time we left and are counting the days until our next trip to Vineyard Square!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 310, which had two double beds, one of which was tucked back in a corner alcove and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It was a joy to have your family stay with us and we look forward to your return visit. We are so pleased that you had such a great time and so enjoyed our clean and comfy rooms and the wonderful service of our staff. It also sounds like the charm of our historic island hotel hit the mark for you. We love to hear that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Absolutely, Positively Wonderful place to stay. The rooms are pristinely clean & very comfortable. It is located right where you want to be for EVERYTHING. Mini fridge in the room was great to store our cool drinks. Bathroom was impeccably clean. It is an old hotel so there is a little noise...but nothing horrible (and you should be so tired, you'll fall asleep with no problem anyway). The beds were comfortable and clean clean clean. As if all this isn't enough .... they're front porch is absolutely FANTASTIC to relax on. There is a "Continental type" breakfast in the morning. This isn't your run-of-the-mill Continental fare. They had great ham & cheese croissants, they had breakfast quiche, muffins and wonderful coffee cakes, there were several types of juice and the coffee was GREAT! (I'm fussy!) You could take your gathering of breakfast food and eat it on that beautiful front porch in the front! ......OK and now....on to the staff there! I have NEVER EVER met a crew of friendly people like this. They obviously really enjoy their job. They did everything they could to make this a wonderful weekend for us. Having never been to Martha's Vineyard before, I had so many questions. They ALWAYS had time to chat..........ALWAYS. What a nice .........no...........what a VERY NICE bunch of people there. This place REALLY is as good as it gets!!! Thank you Wes, Emma, Evelyn and Nina!!!!! The hotel is great, but you people made it fantastic!!!

Room Tip: We just plain loved this place!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We love that the title of your review is from our favorite campy British TV show! We also love that you had such a perfect experience at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites and that it was our team that made is so super-special. Thank you for your review and recommendation. We look forward to your return to Martha's Vineyard and our "getaway central" location in downtown Edgartown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this perfect hotel for 4 nights as part of our New England road trip. We loved the decor (especially the shutters!!). The rooms are clean, comfortable and the we had a view of the harbour! It's beautiful and welcoming from the outside too,! Perfectly situated for exploring MV and Edgartown has everything you want including great restaurants! The staff couldn't do enough for us and were so friendly and cheerful. We would have no hesitation in coming to Vineyard Square again if we had the opportunity and would highly recommend it to anyone!! Loved every minute and have left a little piece of my heart on MV!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with us. Trust us, we know all about leaving a little piece of your heart on The Vineyard. How do you think we ended up here?! We appreciate your kind words about our staff's friendliness and the great location of our downtown Edgartown hotel. Please visit us again the next time you fly over from England for a New England getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Vineyard Square hotel and were very happy with our experience. As you enter the premises the porch is very welcoming with its row of white rocking chairs and hanging plants. The location is fantastic nestled among the historic homes of Edgartown and steps away from the harbor, dining and shopping. Our room was very nicely decorated in the Cape Cod style and looked as though it had been recently painted and carpeted. The bathroom was a good size and like the bedroom was very, very clean. The bed was exrtremely comfortable and the covers were all cozy. The staff, Joanne Sardini and Emma at the front desk couldn't have been more welcoming, delightful and accomodating. Inquiring about a restaurant recommendation Joanne suggested looking into restaurant week. She immediately researched the participating restaurants and printed out the menus for us so we could make a choice. Knowing we had brought our bikes over Joanne offered to have them stored in a locked room overnight instead of in the outdoor bike rack if we felt uncomfortable leaving them outside-which we were not. We loved this hotel and will definitely book another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLisaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We loved that you came on your bikes and had such a great time at The Square! It was a pleasure to hook you up with restaurant week menus and deals. We're so happy that you enjoyed our comfy, clean rooms and our Edgartown hotel's wonderful downtown location just steps form the harbor. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,003 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
569 reviews
0 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Address: 38 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8145 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: £54 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Square Hotel And Suites
Vineyard Square Hotel Edgartown
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing