We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The location is perfect! From the time we arrived until the time we left, Joanne and her staff were very accommodating. The inn is always clean and the front porch is such an amazing benefit. The rooms were cozy and we expected that coming in. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Martha's Vineyard.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be perfect (we think so, too!). We look forward to your next stay at our Martha's Vineyard hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at this property for many years, going back to when it was the colonial inn. Charming building with many updates and they left the squeaky floors. Small but well appointed room. View of harbor from a shared porch we had to ourselves.
Great continental breakfast and a fabulous staff. We were on the island for a destination wedding. This is the place to stay. In town. Near everything. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sailor5552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your continued business and returning to our Edgartown hotel many times over the years. We're so pleased to be your "go to" spot on Martha's Vineyard and greatly appreciate your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was out first experience staying in Martha's Vineyard and we stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Using the bus to get from the ferry to the hotel was a breeze. When we got to the hotel, later in the day, the person at the desk definitely could have been nicer. Didn't get an extremely warm welcome and was not given the gift card that is promised on the website for the midweek special. Was promised it would be ready the next morning as the manager had to get it. Came down the next morning and she had forgotten and we had to wait for the manager to go get it. Seems like they are advertising it on the site but aren't in a rush to give it to you. The front staff was very pleasant the other times we used it, just this one woman was not very friendly, so we avoided her if we needed anything.

Here are a few pro's and cons to our visit
Pro's:
1) Very clean, the porch was very clean and we constantly saw the workers cleaning the windows, sweeping, etc. The room was also very clean and well maintained.
2) The bikes provided were excellent and we used them to ride all around the island, they were schwins and very nice at that
3) They porch was great to sit on and they had a nice little outside area to sit and eat breakfast
4) On thursday they had a band playing outside in the front of the hotel which was a great feature we really enjoyed
5) The rooftop deck (it does have a roof) was great, it was right outside our room and since the room is a little on the small side we sat out there a lot

Cons:
1) This is probably one of our biggest cons, the AC unit was situated right to the right of the bed on the wall which meant it was blowing on you the whole night. There was a way to adjust it to point up slightly, but the person on the far side of the bed still felt it. It made it very hard to keep the temperature and i had to get up in the middle of the night to adjust and in the end we usually just left it off for fear of waking up with stiff necks.
2) All INN's we go to always have a lacking breakfast so i don't know if thats just the way it is or what. I understand they dont have a kitchen and chef on premise but the food was mediocre at best. We went out for breakfast, one, due to the lack of variety, and two, because it ended it 930? i believe. We were on vacation and werent going to wake up that early to run down to get breakfast. Nothing warm was provided except for some ham and cheese item which i dont think is really breakfast food anyways.
3) The shutters in the room covering the windows don't totally block out the sun in the morning and they are very large thereby blocking the view unless they are opened and swung out into the room. Also, when you want to open the windows the shutters must be open, but there are chairs in front of the windows so each time the chairs must be moved and moved back. The room is too small to keep that chairs out so it was a pain to always be moving things around.
4) The stairs and hallway were not totally if at all covered with carpet. All hardwood floors, which looks nice but isn't practical when people are walking around early in the morning.

The Inn was situated right in the town which was awesome as you could walk anywhere you wanted but for the price, the smaller size of the room, the lack of view, and the lack of breakfast we think we might find another place to stay if we were to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review and thoughts. It sounds like you had a lovely time overall and that a few things (our new AC units, our New England style shutters and our house-baked breakfasts featuring ham and cheese quiche) were simply not your cup of tea. We apologize that it took until the morning of your sail to get your two free tickets to the Mad Max catamaran, but we're happy that it was in plenty of time to enjoy that complimentary special amenity. Thanks again for your review and all the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I must admit I am a bit particular when it comes to lodging, but Vineyard Square surpassed every expectation. The staff was friendly, accommodating and efficient. Our room was charming and positively immaculate. i enjoyed the variety of fresh breads, muffins, mini quiches, etc for the continental breakfast before heading out on the bikes which available to guests. The one drawback was something the hotel has no control over- the early morning arrival of trash or delivery trucks which were a bit noisy. i would absolutely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We greatly appreciate your review and thoughts. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time and found everything to be charming and immaculate. It's also nice to hear that you liked our new breakfast baked goods. Our team member, Jody is quite the baker! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to The Vineyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first trip to the Vineyard and we were very happy with the Vineyard square hotel. They went above and beyond to help. All the people working the front desk were very helpful. Wes helped us by suggesting a place for dinner and making the reservations for us! He also gave us Chillmark Chocolate when he realized that we did have the time to take the trip to the shop. The rooms were exceptional. The beds were the most comfortable that I have ever experienced anywhere. It was also nice being in the center of everything; close to shops, restaurants and the trolly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot that you appreciated the thoughtfulness of our staff (Wes is a sweetie!) and that you had such a great night's sleep on our comfy new beds. It is a great feeling to be part of a guest's first experience of Martha's Vineyard. We are so pleased that we could make this magical island even more special for you. Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I would like to start by saying what a great experience that I had from booking to check out. Emma, Wes, & Nina were fabulous with helping us with making reservations, questions, just anything! The renovations have made this just a lovely boutique-type hotel. The "continental breakfast" was wonderful. Yes, it was continental, but I put it in quotes because it was the best continental I've had. Fresh quiches, muffins, coffee cakes baked each morning! Our double room was one of the cute little layouts with the beds not next to each other, but one tucked away in a little nook. Refrigerator, iron, hair dryer, in room. No coffee pot though. The new air conditioning systems in the rooms were great! Easy to program with the remote, directional fan, etc, so that it wasn't blowing on your head at night. The beds were dreamy! (pun intended!)
The hotel has that old world charm, but clean & with new fixtures. My friend & I stayed on the upper balcony of the hotel with a bottle of wine looking at the marvelous views & talking throughout the evening. Bikes were included so Emma & Wes made sure they were waiting on us right on time.There is not elevator to the 3rd & 4th floor, so make sure to take note when staying there. We were in room 406, next to what we called the "Harry Potter" stairs. The only reason the hotel didn't get and excellent was only due to the squeaky wooden flooring in the halls up on the 4th & that everything is very close together so you could hear anything in those hallways, including the drunk girl pounding on the door of her boyfriend's room! lol.
We had a fun visit & would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If they put you on the fourth floor, definitely ask for a room away from the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KckbxrSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for your review and thoughts. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our continental breakfast, new AC units and wonderful staff. We appreciate that creaky stairs can be a bit noisy at times, but our hotel is over 100 years old so we do what we can! We hope you do come back and join us again on the island whenever you have a chance to get away again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I can't say enough nice things about the Vineyard Square hotel. My husband and 13 year old daughter and I stayed for three nights and just picked this hotel rather blindly just off the internet. Boy, did we luck out! The hotel is freshly renovated, clean and as modern as can be without losing the historic "charm". It was a perfect location for exploring the whole island... the Church Street central bus stop is about 2 quick blocks walk away and the buses were a great way to see everything. The room was very large and bright and immaculately clean. The only minor issue we had was that there was not a second mirror anywhere in the room (only in the bathroom) so with three of us trying to get ready, including one teenage girl, we were sort of all over each other trying to use the one mirror. Add a second mirror and this room would have been beyond perfect for us. Yes, there is no elevator and the floors are a bit creaky, but to me that is all part of the charm of this place. If you are looking for a Marriott, you probably shouldn't be on the island anyway. I must also mention the fabulous staff... Joanne Sardini, the manager, couldn't have been any friendlier or more helpful. Audrey at the front desk was super friendly and helpful as well. There were bikes to borrow (although we didn't get to use them much as our daughter had a "boot" cast on her foot) and beach towels, chairs and umbrellas to use. Breakfast was a lovely continental spread with fresh baked treats, cereal, yogurt and a few warm selections as well. We felt like family by the time we left and are counting the days until our next trip to Vineyard Square!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 310, which had two double beds, one of which was tucked back in a corner alcove and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It was a joy to have your family stay with us and we look forward to your return visit. We are so pleased that you had such a great time and so enjoyed our clean and comfy rooms and the wonderful service of our staff. It also sounds like the charm of our historic island hotel hit the mark for you. We love to hear that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Address: 38 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8145 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: £137 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Square Hotel Edgartown
Vineyard Square Hotel And Suites
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing