We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Stay on the Vineyard out of season”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab Stay on the Vineyard out of season”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed here with my husband over Easter weekend. Got a very good deal on the room via Expedia, so overall excellent value for money.

Room was spacious and clean. The in room fridge was a nice touch, as was the balcony overlooking the pool.

We had wet weather on the Saturday of our stay, so dined in the hotel bar, a delicious meal, would definitely go here again (even if it was sunny!!).

This would definitely be my first choice in Edgartown when we return to the Vineyard.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planthenexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    269
    101
    74
    32
See reviews for
251
468
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I had never been to MV before so I didn't really know what to expect, but Harbor View has set the bar VERY high. When I walked into my room (spend the money and get one with a balcony - 100% worth it!), my mouth literally fell open. The room was so bright and cheery with a gorgeous view of the harbor. I have a lot of issues with hotel beds, but these were by far the most comfortable. I have never slept so well on vacation and I travel quite a bit! The hotel staff was extremely attentive and helpful - every little question was answered with a smile and enthusiasm! I feel like this hotel made our trip to Martha's Vineyard, it was an experience. I also have to add that the hotel bar staff were amazing as well SO friendly - they always remembered our drinks orders and our names. I would stay here again in a heart beat! Make sure you go ride the Flying Horses in Oak Bluffs - oldest carousel in the US. The horses are all carved from wood - I felt like a kid again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBobby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Within walking distance to the downtown, it's front porch view of the light house, Bay and Chappaquiddick Island couldn't be better. The staff could not have been more processional and helpful. Particularly liked the bar, it's menu selection and the view. Perfect. When I come back, think I'd probably prefer the main building, if available. The new remodeled suites are very nice but ours didn't have much of a view and the configuration of the windows would have made it difficult, even if there were one.

Room Tip: Would insist on a great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battleground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011


"A Great Classic Vineyard Hotel"
Reviewed by a Hotels.com guest on May 1, 2011
The Harbor View hotel is a classic victorian style hotel, with high standards of service and maintenance. Adding to it's charm is a porch with rocking chairs facing the Edgartown waterfront,which wraps around the front of the hotel. Built in the 1800s, the hotel retains the charm of a time gone by, while also offering excellent service. The two restaurants were outstanding, and the service always friendly. The rooms were above average, many overlooking the waterfront and Edgartown lighthouse. The location is wonderful, and in a slightly more remote part of Edgartown which is quieter than downtown, but still a short walk from downtown. The Harbor View Hotel also has it's own marina directly across the street. This offers transient dockage as well as sailing lessons and skippered charters on their own power boat, The Scout. There are lots of beautiful beaches only yards away, and the area offers many opportunities for bikers. I would not hesitate to return for a future stay, and hope to do so.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

especially the woman at the front desk who seemed to make it her top priority to make this particular weekend getaway the most special, from working with me to get the right room, to then helping me to get a even nicer room....in a day and age where it seems like everybody is trying to pull a fast one on you, it's nice to know that if you are nice to others, chances are they will be nice back...thanks again darlene!!!

Room Tip: be nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinniepepperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Our first visit to the Harbor View Hotel, was 15 years ago on our 15th wedding anniversary, and we've been in awe ever since!!! We try to save money for a special trip here each year...however, sometimes it's just for the day...We especially enjoy the kindness, comfort, the hospitality, and the gorgeous views the Harbor View offers year round!!! We have never been disappointed!! We highly recommend a visit as soon as you can, and once you do, it'll be hard to beat the satisfaction you'll get, that you can't find at too many other places!!! This is an A+ experience at an A+ Hotel!! The Verriers

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniversary1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My wife and I were looking for a getaway with our 4 month old son. This turned out to be just the perfect place. Martha's Vineyard is not the best destination for April travel and the weather made it so. Despite a rainy/sloppy day, the location of this hotel and the hotel itself made up for our trip.

One can say its on the shore and has great views of the Atlantic.

The only reason for 3start service is the house keeping number was someone's voicemail and we kept calling front desk, who'd in turn figure things out for us.

Room Tip: Ask for water facing room when making reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_not_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing