We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Queensland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for the weekend recently at the Harbor View Hotel & it was fantastic. Staff were very helpful, room & bathroom very clean & beds very comfortable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    250
    94
    69
    31
See reviews for
238
442
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Harbor View last week to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The large room was beautiful and comfortable. We especially liked the small patio that overlooked the ocean.
Our package included breakfast which was wonderful.
The hotel is within walking distance to downtown.
The staff was outstanding, from the desk attendants to the concierge to the cleaning lady.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. We stayed in room 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Harbor View for a long weekend. The service was great, the location can't be beat. We stayed in one of the Captain rooms (#16). It was very spacious, but had no decoration so if felt more dormitory than necessary. The bed and pillows were VERY comfortable and the room service was great. Overall, a great experience and we'd certainly go back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twaterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Ma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We celebrated my husbands birthaday as well. From the minute we walked through the hotel lobby door, we had nothing but wonderful service. Our room was a tad small but very adequate, the king size bed was comfortable and the veiw from room 413 in the Main building was spectacular. Todd the concierge, Amanda the young front desk lady, Keiko our maid and Lisa and Miceal D from the hotel restaurants (Henry's and Water St) as well as a few people I didn't know the names of were really great. They all catered to our every need with a warm and genuine smile and with seasoned experience in their respective positions.
Location was ideal, quiet and a short walk to the rest of the downtown. The only negative to our weekend was a greasy restaurant exhaust smell (only from 7-11pm) I could detected from our room at night time when the windows were open.The room was a little hot but with the windows open it was wonderful until the smell would permeate the room. This did not bother my husband only me but it wouldn't keep me from visiting them again.
The customer service at this hotel was terrific.

Room Tip: The extra $$ for the ocean view was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed in Room #14 at the Harbor View Hotel to celebrate an anniversary weekend. I'll start with the positives. First, I liked the fact that our room was large and had a DVD player. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I thought the location was amazing and the hotel lobby was beautiful and clean; however, I can't say the same about our room. There were long hairs in the bathtub and on the bathroom floor. Also, the vinyl flooring on the bathroom floor was peeling and the layer below it was exposed. The service was also sub-standard. I arrived at 1pm and learned that the check-in time was 4pm. The front desk did not try to find us a room that was ready and available; nor did they offer to hold our bags until the check-in time.

Overall, I was underwhelmed, and the Harbor View Hotel will not be my first choice on my next visit to Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Harbor View hotel is just beautiful. We stayed there in early April, so many things on the island were closed but there was just enough open to keep us entertained.

The hotel itself commands stunning views over Chappy and the harbour and is just a short walk (5 mins) to the centre of Edgartown.

The rooms are incredibly well kept and the staff very accommodating.

The four of us (all 27-31yrs old) had a fantastic time and highly recommend Harbor View as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_O_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

It was my husband's birthday and our stay couldn't have been more special. The staff went beyond accommodating and made every effort to insure our time was memorable. The room was luxurious and we really enjoyed our balcony and water view. We had evening drinks at Henry's (in the hotel) and walked to the center of town for a meal at The Newes (run by the hotel) and breakfast was in their lovely restaurant; good food with a view of the lighthouse. We recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing