We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We didn't realize this was one of the Historic Inns of America, but it well deserves to be included in that illustrious group. We have stayed at two others, one in Tucson and one in Louisville, and they have all been well worth the extra cost.

My one complaint is that the hotel's main dining room, probably owing to the lateness of season, was closed for the two nights of our stay. However, we consoled ourselves with two of the many choices of good eateries in Edgartown. The town is a quaint little place, and even this late in the season convenient parking can be difficult to find.

Our room had a generously sized balcony, and it was great to soak up the late afternoon sun while slowly drifting into a snooze. Should come here for two weeks instead of just for just two days.

Unfortunately, I cannot say much about the food being served, only having had a quick lunch in the bar shortly after our arrival. The lunch was OK, but nothing to write home about. Service, though, was stellar whenever we had to rely on it.

Room Tip: Don't settle for the first choice offered. Chances are they have something better to offer, sinc...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ergoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Harbor View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

I've stayed at the jewel of Martha's Vineyard at least a dozen times over the past 10 years, the Harborview Hotel. We have witnessed the ever so subtle, but still transparent decline in quality over the past 5 years. Aside from the phenomenal location and views from the charming front porch, you could always depend on the warm and friendly service from the oh so familiar faces that made this place feel like home. The smiles from the faces of the accommodating international students and the consistent, exceedingly warm and professional local management, front desk, concierge and housekeeping staff, the team we looked forward to every year.
The names may not be spelled correctly, but the faces were missed- manager Jim C., Breanna at the front desk, concierge Darlene and a wonderful veteran housekeeper in the main building, her name escapes me. Gone is our safe place on the Vineyard. Current staff was professional but lacked warmth. Rooms and public areas looking a bit shabby./surface clean only. Note to management and owners - what's going on ? It's obvious that they do not care about the future of this wonderful historic spot. We had some issues while there over the last couple years, a manager (chubby brunette in her 30s) at the front desk did her best to resolve but she always seemed so stressed and what could she do really ?
Bring back the old ambience, the old caring & familiar staff, some reasonable prices in the restaurants, housekeepers that take pride in their cleaning and stop trying to convert his island getaway to a New York or big city hotel. Simple, but dependable, stop trying so hard, it's not working.
We are seriously considering a new vacation destination, this is heartbreaking.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, but you will pay dearly for it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely spectacular view of the water!!!! Beautiful setting for the wedding reception!!! We would definitely return there to vacation. Edgartown has many quaint shops. Everyone was friendly and made you feel very welcome. It was a fantastic trip!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here the first week of June, which is considered off-season, so it was affordable and not crowded. The hotel has a wonderful wrap around porch where you can sit and look out at the Lighthouse and the bay. Even though it is historic, it was recently remodeled to include all modern conveniences and finishes. We stayed in the main building and loved our room which was not a water view but had a lovely view of the pool, comfy king size bed and sitting area next to bay windows. The hospitality is top notch. The hotel restaurant was a little pricey, but we did have breakfast there one morning and it was delicious. Also it's walking distance to Edgartown, or to bus stop to travel around the island. Definitely will stay here again when we return to Martha's Vineyard.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor in the main building. It was great, but you do have to use the stairs to...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryM009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Harbor View Hotel while attending a seminar. It was an outstanding location and though there are some things that need to be renovated or tweaked our stay was outstanding! Our first impression was of a superbly trained staff. The bellman and front desk seemed genuinely happy that we were going to be their guests for the weekend. Though we were early they expedited our room clean-up so we were able to freshen up before the seminar started. The meeting rooms were nice though the view over the pool and gardens was certainly distracting!
Our room was spacious though the bathroom was very small. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. As with most older hotels there were not enough electrical outlets conveniently located to charge electronic devices so that needs to be addressed when rooms are refurbished. Our balcony overlooked the pool and was roomy enough to sit in the sunshine and just relax. Another minor quibble about the room was that we had a difficult time controlling the temperature as the thermostat did not seem real accurate. Everything else seemed in good working order and was quite clean.
Several posters have complained about the musty smell in the corridors but we did not experience any of that. The carpeting could use replacing and a freshening up of the paint in the hallways would help.
The restaurants serve very good food though like everything on MV it is expensive! We enjoyed the friendly waitstaff and their multitude of accents!
The most outstanding thing about the Harbor View Hotel is the front porch with the rocking chairs overlooking the harbor. If you cannot relax on that porch you are beyond hope!
The Harbor View has an outstanding staff, great location, a beautiful facility and an unbelievable view from the front porch!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auburn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Only stayed here for one night, couldn't fault the hotel at all, our room was behind the main building, beside the pool. Large room, Hugh comfy beds, big balcony, room was very clean. Views from the front of the hotel are spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The setting IS spectacular: access to small beaches and perfect view of lighthouse, easy walk to Edgartown , wrap around porches perfect for relaxing and having coffee. However, other reviewers' comments about musty smells in hallways and rooms were also evident to us. My perception is that this is a very large venue for special occasions (three were hosted during our 2-day stay), and this being a busy season, some areas were not being maintained regularly. (Room directly across from ours had WET carpeting, stains on carpeting in some common areas). All in all, my impressions of this facility are strongly positive, and I would stay there again, but maybe not in main complex.

Room Tip: The complex has multiple areas for lodging. Perhaps some areas have been renovated, would definite...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: £91 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing