We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbah View was nice”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Harbah View was nice”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Room was nice. Clean. Comfy. Within walking distance to the center of town. My only complaint was the ironing board. It stained one of my shirts. Must have been ruined by the last tenents. Staff was great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    261
    96
    71
    31
See reviews for
243
459
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just stayed at Harbor View Hotel and had a great time. Captain's Cottages were very comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and when they discovered it was our 40th wedding anniversary sent us a little complimentary gift. Nice touch! We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackM4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been traveling to MV for years and have always stayed at the Harbor View. Why? Simple, the hotel is elegant, but more importantly it's the staff. On our most recent stay we were once again greeted by Darlene, who returned from a season off. We were so happy to see her as she literally ran out of the hotel to say hello. You cannot get better service than that, anywhere. Imagine a hotel where everyone remembers you, even the valet remembered us and made a point to say hello. So, although the hotel is beautiful and a Edgartown is just picturesque, it's staff like Darlene who has us coming back year after year. Chris, Laverne and Courtney.

Room Tip: Take a room in the main hotel, it's pricier but the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
256 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at this hotel. The staff was wonderful. The concierge Darlene helped me plan a surprise dinner with a violinist, flowers etc. and was terrific. The hotel is well maintained and very comfortable with a great view of the lighthouse and Edgartown harbor. A perfect venue. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect for walking around Edgartown and the view is beautiful. The front porch is peaceful with rocking chairs it is a great place to read. You can walk across street and walk to the beach and lighthouse area. It is a harbor type beach but very pretty. We went off season and it was very quiet, we booked a standard room and it had a very nice balcony on third floor. The room was unremarkable and so was the bath but it was very clean. I don't know if i would pay the In season rates as they are quite high. Lobby area was nice and the breakfast was very good. the cleaning staff were very sweet and hard working. The complementary coffee was great and much appreciated. We had a great time at this resort and would like to return. The only thing that bothered me is that the check in time was 4:00 and we did arrive early and even though resort was very quiet they would not accommodate an early check in, we had to wait until 3:30. I feel that if the room is ready why not allow check in we probably would have stayed there and had lunch or drinks if we had checked in but instead had to leave and go elsewhere. Most hotels we stay in accommodate an early check in if possible. Check out is at 12:00 Which is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baileyMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I found this hotel on Trip advisor, this was my first time on MV but my mom had been there before. The price for 2 double beds was $97.00 dollars( easter weekend) so we booked two nights. I knew they had water view rooms and I knew we would not be staying in any of those rooms and that was fine. The total for two nights was $212, you can not beat that. The view from the front of the hotel with the rocking chairs overlooking Edgartown lighthouse and Chappaquiddick was breathtaking. Edgartown is a beautiful, small town with shopping and plenty of places to eat. I hope I have the chance to stay here again.

Room Tip: They do not have elevators so the first floor is best if you have trouble with the stairs. Ask about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuscansun233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Magnificent hotel, very well located, great staff. However, we had to wait until 6 pm to get our bedrooms- which were not even clean (crumbs and used bathrobe), diner restaurant closed and only bar open ( fabulous cookies with milk).
The walls are very thin and you could hear the neighbors. Our car was scratched in the parking lot...
To finish, we were debited twice for a single breakfast.

Not the best stay!

Room Tip: Try the main building and do not go out season as everything is closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
788 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing