We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to Martha's Vineyard”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“First visit to Martha's Vineyard”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Harbor View Hotel was in an excellent location, being close enough to the center of Edgartown and yet in a quiet section with access to the lighthouse . We could walk into the center of town or walk on the beach or read on the porch as suited our mood. The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: The older part of the hotel is more charming. I have a feeling that the section by the pool is noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkicallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    258
    95
    71
    31
See reviews for
240
455
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We simply LOVED this place!! Amazing location, just in front of a nice bay with a romantic lighthouse, a few benches to admire the nature and the quiet surroundings. The room was very large and comfortable, clean and with a housekeeping service several time a day. The restaurant was really nice: looking to the ocean, providing you with good food. The location was great also because in 5 minutes you can be in Edgartown and enjoy both the quiet bay and the nice village as well as a nice starting point to visit Msrtha's Vineyard. In one word: fantastic!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sara_CT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had never been in Marthas Vineyard before so we didnt know the little villages from which to choose. The thing we knew that the hotel had to be next to the sea. Thats why The Harbor wiew hotel was our choise. The location is just what we wanted...the hotel itself is very nice old building turned to nice hotel. The rooms were large and comfortable...the bathroom with the bath,which was nice after long walk on the windy beach. The staff was a bit young and unexperienced but they tried their best.
The breakfast was ok...nothing to write home about....
The best thing was the terrace facing the sea with many rockingchairs to enjoy the wiew.
Edgartown itself is great...nice elegant shops and restaurants and sooooo beautiful streets with amazing houses to watch!

Room Tip: Try to get the third floor,so no one is running and jumping above you. The wiew to garden is also n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EijaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this hotel with a spectacular view of the Edgartown lighthouse. Loved the room/view and also love the Water room. Looked to see if this would work for our daughter's wedding. Loved it but the Water room was just a little too small (105 people) but would have loved to have her wedding here. We will be back!

Room Tip: Front rooms o the 2nd and 3rd floor have great view of the lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friends and I visited off season and the weather didn't cooperate. The concierge brought out a puzzle of her own and let us make it by the fire. Other guests were welcome to help obviously and we were able to finish it! The room was fine however the tv was blurry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellicott city, maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

From the clean, crisp, nautical decor, to the friendly staff, roaring fireplace and rocking chairs on the porch, to the light house, giant cookies and milk in wineglasses for my kids at bedtime- i think my six year old summed it up when he said "Mom, I feel rich." Atta boy! :). Go here, you WILL love it. The lighthouse is just one of the perks.
We were here for Easter, so the easter bunny came and there was an Easter egg hunt- our kids didn't have baskets so the concierge graciously gifted them harbor view inscribed pails and shovels to use and keep. Love, love this place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippinmaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Let me first say I have stayed at the Harbor View for years with no problems. That being said, there is nothing that could be said for the lack of action, compassion, or ability of the staff at the front desk or the "director of bookings."
Long story short, we had raw sewerage coming up from the sink to the point the bathroom and part of the bedroom were flooded. It took 3 calls to get someone to the room to fix the problem. Once the problem was "fixed" it took over 2 hours to get the cleaning staff to the room and yet another call to the front desk. Over 8 hours with not being able to brush teeth, take a shower or use a toilet. When we came back from 3 hours after all this, the sewerage came back again. We were finally moved to another room. I asked to speak to the general manager to which the snippy clerk at the front desk exclaimed, "we DO NOT have a general manager!" After asking who was in charge she finally told me of a Director of Booking. I told them I wanted a courtesy call from this individual who they would not give me their name. It has been over 2 weeks and I have still not received a call, email or anything. Again, I have stayed here before with no incident but this is unbelievable! For the money spent I can't believe of the ineptitude of the staff. Save your money and stay somewhere else on MV!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark_Guinn, General Manager at Harbor View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the turn of events that occurred during your last stay with us at the Harbor View Hotel. I scheduled a mandatory meeting with my staff to discuss the way in which this incident was handled or the lack there of. I am disappointed with our failure to continue to offer the level of service you have experienced during your previous stays prior to this recent episode.

Our property has undergone some changes in personnel over the past year and we have selected a qualified individual to oversee the operations of this property for the upcoming season. As Regional Director of Operations, I oversee 3 properties and I make a point of being at each property a minimum of 2 times weekly. However, times such as these, I need to be confident that my staff is equipped to handle whatever and whenever an unfortunate event presents itself.

In an effort to redeem you as a valued guest, I would like to offer you complimentary return stay. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity for us to reverse our last impression we unintentionally left with you. To arrange, please call Lynn at 508-356-2102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing