We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in welcome, comfort and hospitality”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Location is the only plus. We found the hotel to be very unresort like. The room was acceptable but not comfortable. The view from our room was good, the in-room coffee okay. Would not recommend paying full price here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippy0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

Was evicted from my room the night before the non-event of Hurricane Earl whose highest wind gust didn't exceed 45 mph. Was sent to a shelter and alerted of the eviction via a note slipped under my door! Not a phone call nor personal notice of this serious inconvenience and potential hardship occurred. No attempt to find me other accomodations (despite no other hotel or B&B in Edgartown evacuating guests) occurred either. The cot I slept on at the shelter was cake compared to the roaches I had to dodge on the shelter floor! There was no cohesion nor knowldege of the staff as to what was going on during the storm. No one was directing where one should go, nor was anyone alerting the guests as what to expect. Said information had to be pulled from the front desk employees-and the information was innacurate at best. Finally, and the worst of it was, that no apology was even afforded by any of the staff members upon my return from the shelter! In essence, treatment was like that of a liability/nuisance rather than a guest. To add insult to injury, the next day the cleaning services had left the front door of my room wide open! Upon confronting the desk, it was intimated that I perhaps had left the door open..even though the room was dirty in the AM and clean when I got back! So although I cannot say enough about how beautiful MV is and what a beautiful location it is on which Harborview rests, the hospitality factor, decision-making and damage control of Harborview's upper management is seriously deficient- emabarrasingly so. It is in a moment of crisis that one shows one true colors and literally being a fairweather host at such an establishment is beyond comprehension.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrahayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We just returned from the Harborview & had a wonderful trip. The location is the best of the island. Beautiful views of the Lighthouse & the harbor. The staff was very accomodating & very helpful. The bellman (Zach) & the concierge were really amazing. The porch is the best part of the hotel, although they should implement a no cell phone zone. It was really lovely, rain or shine to sit and relax and watch the boats.

The pool was great for the kids, although I will say though that the bricks along the side of the pool are not really great for children. Unfortunately, upon check-in we weren't told about some of the ammenites like yoga and the shuttle service to which we still don't have the details. They also had free parking & wifi, which worked throughout the hotel

Both Henrys & Water Street were excellent. It is a great hotel and the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mefcgf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I first stayed at the Harbor View in 1999 and enjoyed it. I just got back from a trip today. The service has gone downhill dramatically. At over $1,000 a night for a suite, I expect my luggage to be delivered to my room. Instead I'm told to come back with the room number once I've checked in, and a very nice but surprised valet agrees to send it up after two requests.

Be ready to call multiple times for service. They will tell you that they are going to call you back, but they never do. Your best bet is to go to the main desk. We had to switch rooms for the last night of our trip, and they pushed us out of our room without giving us another room to stay in, despite the $1,080 we were paying each night. Our daughter needed a nap and we ended up driving around the island so she could rest. Crazy. I get better service elsewhere even when I'm paying for a normal room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SF_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard. The Harbor View Hotel was the picture perfect destination. The staff was very helpful and always in a good mood. The proximity to the town was ideal for walking and biking! The children loved the pool and all the children were so well behaved. All around a wonderfull vacation! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magwheel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

After extensive searching, we took a friends advice and stayed here. The room was fantastic, decor, size, location... The hotel staff were very helpful and kind upon check in and i am sure had we needed anything during our stay they would have gladly accomodated us.
We stayed in one of the suites, #61, not sure of the name of the house, on the bottom floor. Though it was very large, had the best shower i think i have ever had and was beautifully decorated, the noise from the floor above us and the cleaning staff was rediculous.
From the minute we got there all we heard was the people walking above us. All the floors are a beautiful hardwood, but when desinging the rooms, I do not think they took into account the noise level. Also, the stairs going up to the 2nd floor are all wood and the doors are incredible heavy and loud. That coupled with the cleaning staff who start at 8am, sleeping in and napping were not a possibility which was unfortunate as i left our two toddlers at home to get some much needed rest and relaxation. We did mention this to the front desk and we didn't get much of a reply, though i am not sure of what he could do.
Overall, the hotel was great and if i was to go back with my children i would stay there, but for $1200 a night, quiet is a must for us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restneeded9168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We decided to visit MV for the first time to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. After performing tons of research, we decided to book at the Harbor View for three nights due to its great location and solid reputation even though it was a bit pricey. I can say that we loved the hotel and think it is perfect for those who want to stay at a classy hotel in a convenient location with a perfect view of the harbor. We would definitely stay here again, but we'll have to save up first!

Pros:

* Excellent location for strolling around Edgartown
* Lots of character, including a great porch
* Awesome view of the Edgartown lighthouse and harbor
* Nice chocolate covered strawberries in our room as a surprise wedding anniversary gift
* Friendly and helpful staff
* Walking down Water St. to/from hotel was a welcome, leisurely walk throughout our visit (especially seeing that one house with Clifford and his friend always looking at us through the doorway)

Cons:

* We had to slam our room door in order for it to shut completely
* WiFi Internet was not working for half a day once
* Pricey (you are paying for the location and the fact you are staying at the Harbor View)
* Staff didn't bother to remember our names during our stay like other pricey hotels
* Room cleaning seems to occur very late (past 4:30p in one case)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMCJCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: £84 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing