We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
525
297
125
93
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
297
125
93
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfront porchmayhew buildingedgartown lighthouseoff seasonmartha's vineyardlighthouse grillrocking chairsthe cottagesbeautiful hotelhotel barlight housewrap around porchwater viewnew englandlobster rollshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed here for the long weekend after Thanksgiving, we were upgraded (for an additional cost) to a 3rd floor room in the Main Building. We have stayed in many older inns in the US and Canada, we found the layout of the lobbies and dining area here to be very nice and open with great views. Our room however was large with a pool view, would be nice in the summer. However, we significantly struggled with the overall decor and quality issues with our room. The carpet was stained, paint on walls were mismatched to hide scratches, toilet ran all night, cracks in marble floor, cords for lights stretched over 6 feet to a shaky looking electrical outlets, the bed posts not screwed in, see attached photos.

Service seemed indifferent, at breakfast the waiter forgot to serve our daughter breakfast: "sorry I am so tired from Thanksgiving" and finally at checkout at 7:30AM to catch the ferry, the front desk manager; "OK I can't give you a receipt because tomorrow has happened yet". Say what ???

Overall for what we paid, we were somewhat disappointed, however if we stayed in that room in July and paid double or triple the winter room charges, it would be beyond disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Harbor View as part of a New England/New York trip to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. It was by far the best hotel of the 10 or so places we stayed at in the 3 weeks of our US holiday. Our room was beautifully appointed, as were the public rooms. We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and our meals were outstanding. Breakfast was also very good. All in all a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudiGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Perfect is the only word I can use to describe our experience at The Harbor View Resort. I've been there three times (twice with my husband and once with four girlfriends). What keeps me coming back is "excellence." You won't be disappointed, no matter what season. Service, food, amenities, location and rooms are outstanding!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredBW2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

A beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. We got a great off-season rate. Rooms were nicely appointed and the staff was friendly enough. We had one major disappointment ... we asked for reservations for a specific restaurant for dinner which the front desk said they would arrange. They promised to call if there was any issue ... no call came so we assume our request was handled. And then we found no reservation was made. We would have expected better from this caliber hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SangPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We had an amazing stay! The staff was so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Dinner in the hotel was incredible - the best food we had on our vacation and that includes Boston restaurants. Our room was beautiful, the bathroom large and the beds super comfortable. It is in a perfect location with a nice walk to the beach and lighthouse. It's also an easy walk to the local shops. Most were closed because it was November but we still enjoyed our stay. We can't wait to go back! Thank you for a perfect relaxing few days!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews