We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great kids area”

Alyn Waters Country Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Gwersyllt
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great kids area”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Depending on the entrance you go to, the facilities vary massively. In the Llay entrance, the park is fairly dilapidated, but has more parking. The Gwersylt entrance hasca much better park for kids, but has poor parking (with people often having to park on the road). The walks at either end are good and are paved with smooth tarmac, so good for all ages and abilities. The one thing I did notice was an abundance of dog poo, so watch your step!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank begaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    63
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival at Alyn Waters I was instantly captivated! The beautiful surroundings, woodland, wildlife, nature, wooded parks......... The list is endless. My daughter (two year old) adored the wooded park area which had a selection of unique play equipment. The park also had a sand section with tunnels to pour sand which I have never seen before but was equally fun. We took the 'orange' path which adorned us with beautiful woodland, nature and wildlife. The path also walked beside the river which was absolutely gorgeous with mini waterfalls and 'rapids'. The walk was lovely and information was available for those who wanted to see how many calories they would burn on certain paths. I defiantly plan to return here and try the other paths, I'd love to see the aqueduct! I'd recommend anyone to have a day out here!

Helpful?
2 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell,Flintshire
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Watch where you tread!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Dozens of paths lead through relatively young woodland on what was previously the council rubbish tip. Great efforts and expense have been put into creating and maintaining this amenity, which mainly serves Wrexham area. It is dog heaven, but sadly it is also dog poo hell, thanks to those irresponsible dog owners who have no regard for walkers and children. It's a real shame that you have to walk around this country park staring at the ground in case you tread in something nasty. The name Alyn Waters sounds rather grand but is rather misleading, the only water being the River Alyn which passes through the park. On the plus side, we found a pleasant visitor centre, cafe and toilets, ample free parking, and some good tourist information leaflets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KevtheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a lot to do.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Alyn Waters is a nice place to walk the dog but otherwise there is not a lot there. Visitors liking flora and fauna details are catered for but young children will not find much to do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a perfect outdoor place to visit - the parks are brilliant for children and have a variety of different activities to keep them entertained. It is a lovely walk and a cafe on site. Highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaRob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alyn Waters Country Park also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 

Been to Alyn Waters Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing